RSS Feed

Cocky Bastard, by Penelope Ward & Vi Keeland

Cocky Bastard_________________________________________________

From New York Times Bestselling authors Vi Keeland and Penelope Ward, comes a sexy new standalone novel.

He was someone who belonged in my wildest fantasies instead of a rest stop in the middle of Nebraska.

A sexy, cocky, Australian named Chance was the last person I expected to run into on my cross-country drive.

When my car broke down, we made a deal. Next thing I knew, we were traveling together, spending sexually-tense nights in hotels and taking unplanned detours.

My ordinary road trip turned into the adventure of a lifetime. It was all fun and games until things got intense.

I wanted him, but Chance wouldn’t make a move. I thought he wanted me too, but something was holding him back.

I wasn’t supposed to fall for the cocky bastard, especially when I knew we’d be going our separate ways.

All good things must come to an end, right?

Except our ending was one I didn’t see coming.
_________________________________________________

“What’s C.B. stand for anyway?”
“Those are my initials.”
“Let me guess…Cocky Bastard.”

I know this book has been kind of a big deal since it came out and that everybody’s still raving about it, but I have to say, I don’t see why.

Sure I enjoyed reading it. It was fun and sweet with a dash of angst in it and it was a quick read. But Cocky Bastard didn’t exactly knocked my socks off either.

“A single minute can change an entire life.

I liked how Chance and Aubrey met even though I though Chance was a bit of an asshole and didn’t make the best of first impression on me. But I liked how they met and the adventure they went on. That was fun and quirky and original. I liked the tension between those two and how it kept building and how they clicked once they actually started talking to each other.

Sometimes, it takes losing everything to make you realize what you really need.

And I have to say, I was curious about what was keeping Chance from making an actual move on Aubrey when it was clear they both wanted each other bad.

But I’ll admit, Aubrey wasn’t my favorite character. Sure she had her moments and was funny and cute at times, but I never really related to her in the first part of the book. I just never connected with her so I guess that kept me from really getting into the story. But I think the fact that the book has two parts and that both Aubrey and Chance get to tell it separately saved the book for me.

When Chance took the lead of the story, that’s when I got more into it. I liked seeing things through his eyes and finally have his side of the story. And I enjoyed finally knowing what impression Aubrey left on him before they went their separate ways.

“I love you, Aubrey. Can’t you see that? I am head over heels in fucking love with you. I love you more than anything in this entire world. When I look into your eyes, I don’t just see you, I see my children. Hell, I see an entire farm of children and deaf, dumb and blind goats. I see my entire future. Without you, I see nothing. Nothing.”

Basically, the second part of the book was about Chance groveling and winning Aubrey over. And I liked it. I liked how resourceful and tenacious he was and the things he did to show Aubrey he was sincere and how he felt and had felt all along. Chance does very good and effective groveling. He had already made a good impression on me with his wicked mind, dirty mouth and and teasing ways, but that second part totally won me over!

“He had the most phenomenal ass. I wanted to bite it.”

But again, at some point Aubrey started annoying me. Big time. I don’t mind making a guy work for your forgiveness, especially in regard to what Chance did and how he left things with Aubrey. He definitely had some groveling to do. But it was also clear (once he explained it to Aubrey) that he didn’t mean to leave things like that between them when he left and that he didn’t have much of a choice. So when Aubrey started “being difficult”, she kind of disappointed me.

“Sometimes, those who put up the biggest shields are those who are protecting the biggest hearts.”

I get she had trouble trusting him again and that the decision wasn’t easy on her because of the state of hers and Chance’s situation, but at some point it became very clear that she knew what was the right thing to do (by her and by Chance too) and it seemed to me like she just kept him hanging and somehow, was playing with Chance’s feelings. And I really didn’t like that.

“If you let something go and it doesn’t come back to you, it was never really yours to begin with.”

That being said, all is well that ends well and she redeemed herself in my eyes. Now, I know I’ve mostly talked about all the things that didn’t work for me and that it might not really sell this book to you, but there was also a lot of good in it too.

“Care to take a little detour before darkness falls?” 
“Sure. I’d be up for that? What did you have in mind?”
“Somewhere rock hard and deep” he winked.
Well, that piqued my curiosity.”

Like I said, the way Chance and Aubrey fall for each other was great. The road trip they go on was one of the best things in the book and it was full of funny, sweet and heartfelt moments that I really enjoyed. I loved and hated the part that happens in Vegas, but it’s also one of the best moments in the book. The road trip was full of sexual tension between Chance and Aubrey and you know how much I appreciate good old sexual tension. But the second part of the book was when I actually fell for Chance and it was pretty dang good too.

You want to sin with me princess?”… Did I ever

So like I said, even though this book didn’t knock my socks off like it seems to be the case for most people that read it, I still had a great time reading it and really enjoyed it. It’s the perfect book for a weekend read and it should leave you with a feel-good vibe.

Leave a Reply

