RSS Feed

Insider (Exodus End #1), by Olivia Cunning

Insider____________________________________________

Toni wants to be an insider.
Logan just wants inside her.

She’s finally ready to rock…
Toni Nichols set aside her dreams to raise her little sister, but now she’s reaching for the stars as the creator of a revolutionary interactive biography about Exodus End. She’s on tour with the rock band to immerse herself in their world, but how will she ever gain the trust of four veteran superstars who’ve been burned by the media before? Nobody said this was going to be easy. Then again, good things can come in hard packages.

He’s always ready to roll…
Adrenaline junkie Logan Schmidt lives for the rush of playing his bass guitar before thousands of screaming fans. When he’s not performing onstage or in the bedroom, he’s looking for his next thrill in extreme sports. So why does a sweet, innocent journalist get his heart pumping and capture his full attention? Is Toni the real deal or just digging up dirt on his band? Logan’s eager to rock Toni’s world and roll her in the sack, but when she starts to get too close to his heart, she takes her insider look to a place he may never be willing to go.

____________________________________________

Finally! I read it!

“A sweet lamb left to fend for herself in a den of wolves. Whatever will we do with you?”

I was so happy to finally get my hands on Insider after waiting for it for so long. This story has been a long time coming and I was glad to be able to go back to Olivia’s rock stars’s universe.
And even though it wasn’t a Sinners book, I had a blast reading it. Logan and Toni’s story was fun and hot and sexy and I just loved going back to all those rock stars, and to finally getting to know a little more the members of Exodus End. I was really looking forward to know more about Dare and seeing Reagan again was great too.

Ouch! There’s a gearshift in my ass.
Oh, sure, you barely know this car, and yet you’re already giving it privileges you won’t give me.
Not inside my ass. It poked me in the hip.
You got me all excited for nothing. Back seat?

This book funny and sexy. I either laughed or squirmed, with the occasional swoon here and there. Logan and Toni couldn’t keep their hands for themselves and acted like two lovesick, horny teenagers, but it was just too funny.

So whose idea was the cleavage cam?” he asked.
Mine. It’s impossible to get anyone’s attention when Max is around.
Tell me about it, Logan grumbled.
So I figured if they wouldn’t talk to me, maybe they’d talk to my boobs. Okay, who’s next? she called out.
Logan leaned toward her chest.I’m Logan Schmidt, and I’ve been a fan of Toni’s boobs for almost a day now.

I have to say, the way (and speed) Logan and Toni fell into bed together was a bit much (considering not even a night passes before they sleep together) and that in the first chapter she is still a virgin and is painfully naïve about all things regarding sex.

The only woman I want is you.”
“Even though I’m inexperienced?”
“Hell, I think it’s because you’re inexperienced. It’s refreshing.

So yeah, it wasn’t really realistic the whole virgin-sleeps-with-a-rockstar-within-an-hour-of-meeting-him-and-he-falls-madly-in-love-with-her plot starter wasn’t really realistic but even though I would have liked to see Logan seduce Toni into bed, rather than have her just roll into one with him an hour after meeting him, the way the story progressed and the easy and instant connection between those two made it work for me. Sure it seemed a bit out of character for someone like Toni to do that but for some reason, it didn’t bother much and the rest of the story did it for me.

“He nipped her skin, and her entire body jerked.
“Oh!” she gasped.
Got yourself a vampire fetish?” he asked with a chuckle.
“What? No, of course not. Vampires aren’t real.”
“But I’m all about bringing your fantasies to life, babe. If you want to be banged by a sparkling dick, I’ll go get the glitter.”

Logan was a blast. At Toni’s contact he was a horny, obsessed, one-minded man but I liked him to bits. It was fun seeing him falling for Toni and try to deny it. And I loved how into Toni he was and what he was ready to do for her. I just wish he didn’t belittle himself so much and that when it comes to what he brings to the band, at least someone around him would tell him that he matters in the band or something.

You’re crazy, she said with a laugh. And thank God for that.
When it comes to you, I don’t know how to be sane.

Toni was a character I liked even though she was beyond clueless at first and that her confidence issues infuriated me. I liked seeing her become more confident and start to stand for herself. She was sweet and kind and funny and quirky. She wasn’t your typical journalist and that made a difference here. She cared more about people than her job and her integrity made her even more likable for me. I liked how she and Logan just clicked and worked together.

He’s shoved me out of my comfort zone so many times, I’m not even sure I have a comfort zone anymore. I’ll just hang on for the ride and see where he takes me.

It was easy to read this book and even though there isn’t much drama in it, I enjoyed it. And the drama there was didn’t create a clusterfuck of gigantic proportions in this book, even though it did screw things up for some characters. I knew it was coming but there was a twist I hadn’t seen coming which made the plot intriguing. I just wish the Bitch of the book didn’t get away so easy. I would have loved to see her get what she deserved after of the shit she created for the band and Toni.

That’s the one thing that I regret about this book but it goes hand in hand with the my feeling that the book ended rather abruptly. The book in itself was a bit longwinded, so having it finish so abruptly made me wish Olivia would have actually taken her time with the ending and maybe condensed some other part of the book. But I still enjoyed myself reading this book.

It just bothers me that Reagan has to go through all the shit coming her way. She really doesn’t deserve it. But I’m looking forward to her book and seeing how the guys of the band will react and hopefully shelter her in Outsider. I really wish she’ll finally feel like she is a part of the band for real.

“One of the things you should consider stressing in your book is how little fucking privacy a man has while on tour with his band.”
“I can include that,” she said, “but I think fans are more interested in the size of your dick.” She backed into the bathroom . “I know I am.” She bit her lip before closing the door in his face.

Also, I liked Olivia’s note at the end of the book. What she wrote about what it feels like to finish a series and to have grieve the “loss” of the characters was so true. She also explained why it took so long for Exodus End to see the light of day and the reason for the other series that she wrote. But anyway, her note actually moved me a little and I could relate to what she was telling us. I also liked that she mentioned it and actually explained to her readers what had been going on with her and the reason for Exodus End‘s late releasing.

“You don’t have to lie to save my feelings, Logan. I’m a big girl.”
“I’m not lying. I wish I could fast-forward time a couple of hours so the show would be over and I could teach you more about making love. And you can teach me how to love someone.

If you’re fans of Olivia’s rockers romance then grad Insider and start reading! I know I’ll really be looking forward to read Reagan, Dare, Steeve and Max’s books!

Leave a Reply

