RSS Feed

Confess, by Colleen Hoover

Confess_______________________________________________

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

_______________________________________________

That could be fate, you know.

OMG!
She did it again. Colleen Hoover gutted me with her book. I literally just finished reading Confess and I just know I’m in for a big ass book hangover, pretty much like I always do after reading one of her books.

Seriously, I know it took me some time before I picked up one of CoHo’s books and Maybe Someday to make me realize what an idiots I’d been not to have picked it up before, but if you’ve never read one of Colleen Hoovers book or aren’t sure Confess is the book for you, then I’m here to tell you to just give it a chance. It is beyond worth it!

“Some secrets should never turn into confessions. I know that better than anyone.”

CoHo has a talent for writing amazingly touching and loving characters and to weave a plot. With Confess I found myself in the same situation I was while reading Maybe Someday, which is that I was rooting for the characters to do the right thing, even though the right thing was so wrong (I think you’ll only getting this one if you’ve read either Maybe Someday or Confess).

“There are people you meet and get to know, and then there are people you meet and already know.”

Her stories have so much heart and make you feel so much it’s not even funny. Before I started this book, I had to pep talk myself (I say that in the best possible way) because I knew I was in for a roller-coaster of emotions and feelings. Auburn and Owen were amazing characters. So strong and selfless and you know, they just felt real. I know they’re fictional and that this story is made up, but I swear they felt so true to me. And I love that every time I read one of her books I feel that way about her characters.

I’m afraid if I listen to my heart once, I’ll never figure out how to ignore it again.

I laughed, I screamed at my book because I was so mad at Trey and Lydia and how unfair and cruel they were to Auburn and Owen. I was also repulsed by Trey most of the book because he is such an asshole. What he did and said to both Auburn and Owen made me want to crawl into the book and strangle him.

No one deserves you like I do.
No one sees you like I do.
No one understands you the way I do.
No one makes your heart beat like I do. He presses his palm against my heart.And no one else deserves to be inside you if they can’t get there through here first.

I swooned at Owen’s sweet, tender, kind and charming ways, I smiled because of the connection between Auburn and him and how they just clicked and I fell in love with them (but mostly with him).
Owen was just a good guy you know. He was just good and good to Auburn and I liked that about him, that he was genuinely a good guy. I just wanted Auburn to be with him because they were so good together and for each other and I was sooooo mad when the circumstances made it so they just couldn’t. But I loved what he was willing and ready to do for Auburn’s well-being. You just know he is good for her and her for him and I was frustrated that life (and some assholes) wouldn’t let them just be together.

“Sometimes we don’t get second chances, Owen. Sometimes things just end.”
He winces. “We didn’t even get a first chance.”

This book is a bundle of feelings and emotions and it can not leave you cold. Be it because of the story it tells or the confessions that are written in it that are at times funny, sad, happy and repulsive. To think they are all true confessions from people out there in the world makes this book even more special and real. At least it did for me. I felt the same way I feel when I read thePost Secrets books.
Even without knowing the people who wrote those confessions (because the confessions you read in this book are confessions coming from CoHo’s readers, so they’re all true), you just can’t help but feel for them, be touched by what you read. At some point, you just connect. And it’s exactly what happens with this story and its characters. You just connect with them and you feel for them.

It’s amazing how much distance one truth can create between two people.

I won’t tell you much about the story, its characters and what happens in it. I know it goes against the purpose of a review for some people, but I went into this story blind (which is something I do sometimes but mostly something I do with CoHo’s books) and I think I enjoyed it more because of it so I won’t spoil the story for other people.
I just want to say that you should have faith in this book and in its author because both are amazing.

Selflessness. It should be the basis of every relationship. If a person truly cares about you, they’ll get more pleasure from the way they make you feel, rather than the way you make them feel.

One last thing before I go, you should definitely check out the art and the artist that contributed to this book. Danny O’Connor (aka DOC) has an incredible talent and is definitely worth checking out. Anyway, Google is your friend so I’m sure you can find his work without my help, but here are two of his paintings (appearing in the book) that are my favorites:

girl confess

I'll love you forever even when I can't

I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.

Leave a Reply

