RSS Feed

Moonlight on Nightingale Way (On Dublin Street #6), by Samantha Young

Moonlight on Nightingale Way______________________________________________

Logan from Echoes of Scotland Street is back with his own smoldering story, as the New York Times bestselling On Dublin Street series returns…

Logan spent two years paying for the mistakes he made. Now, he’s ready to start over. He has a great apartment, a good job, and plenty of women to distract him from his past. And one woman who is driving him to distraction…

Grace escaped her manipulative family by moving to a new city. Her new life, made to suit her own needs, is almost perfect. All she needs to do is find her Mr. Right-or at least figure out a way to ignore her irresistible yet annoying womanizer of a neighbor.

Grace is determined to have nothing to do with Logan until a life-changing surprise slowly begins turning the wild heartbreaker into exactly the kind of strong, stable man she’s been searching for. Only just when she begins to give into his charms, her own messy past threatens to derail everything they’ve worked to build…

Last book in the Series
______________________________________________

“No man alive loves a woman as much as I love you. I never thought I would feel this way about anyone. I didn’t think it existed. Not for me.”

I hate that this series is coming to an end. I understand that it’s time and Samantha Young already gifted us with over six great books and stories and characters, but this series and its characters have a very special place on my bookshelf and in my heart and it’s hard to realize that this is coming to an end.

This book sort of built up for me. What I mean is that it was a book that slowly (but surely) won the reader over. It wasn’t the kind of books that swallowed me in from the first page to spit me out at the last one. It was more like getting into a bathtub filled with lukewarm water and slowly and gradually feeling the water get warmer and warmer. In a way, it was a little bit like some people fall in love, slowly, without even realizing when it happened.

“I told you I don’t do casual sex.”
“Grace, there is nothing fucking casual about how I feel about you.”

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t a 100% sold on this book when I started it. Before I started it I was all pumped up because it was another book in the ODS series that I was going to read, because it was Logan’s story too and also because I wanted to savor it because as mentioned in the synopsis, it is the last book in the series.

So I was a little surprised (and not really in a good way) when I realized that the first part of the book, the part where Logan and Grace meet and bicker at each other from their respective thresholds, didn’t feel like I was reading a Samantha Young’s book but more like a parody of it. It’s strange really, because everything was there for it to feel like another one of her books, but it just didn’t.

“Are you always this deliberately irritating?” I huffed, mirroring his stance by crossing my arms over my chest.
To my surprise, this caused Logan’s lips to twitch, and his eyes started dancing with humor. “I only seem to irritate you.” He cocked his head to the side. “I wonder why that is.”
“Because,” I whined, my head lolling with exasperation and tiredness, “I’m sleep deprived, and it’s all your fault, you bloody wretched manwhore.”
“Well, this is a whole other side to you. It’s quite unpleasant. I may have to speak to the landlord about it. I can’t take this kind of abuse.”
My head jerked upright and I glowered at him. “I swear if you don’t start taking this seriously I will push you down those stairs.”
“Now you’re threatening my life.” He tsked. “That won’t do at all.”

The way Grace spoke at the beginning of the book was, I think, the reason I felt that way. Let’s just say she had a bit of a stick up her arse and you could hear it when she spoke. So here I was, already seeing this last book in a beloved series go to shit. Let’s just say I wasn’t in a good head space. But then, the book took a life of its own and it started feeling more like an ODS book.

“I can’t walk away from you even if I wanted to. And I don’t want to. You are reality and sweet oblivion wrapped up in one annoyingly argumentative, always-bloody-right, classy, gorgeous-as-f*ck package.”

Grace became more….normal (for a lack of a better word) at Logan’s contact and I started sensing their connection. I have to say, Logan was a bit of an asshole with her at the beginning so I liked getting to know the real him with Grace.
I liked their connection even though it felt like it was brought up a little more clumsily than usual. But once they found their balance, so did the book and that’s when I really started enjoying myself.

“The things I’m going to do to you, babe. I’m going to make you mine, every single piece of you.”

I loved the tension between Grace and Logan. I loved how Logan turned to Grace when he was lost or needed help with his situation and how Grace just got him and never judged him for who he was and what he did (except for that bit at the beginning of course).

“Logan MacLeod is the least likely candidate for boyfriendhood of any man in the entire world.”

Logan at the beginning of the book is a total manwhore. He pretty much has a new girl in his bed every night of the week, and let’s just say that the neighbors know about it.  But I liked how he so completely changed his ways when he had to and how he finally let Grace in. I loved how protective he was and seeing him being clueless about how and what to do in his situation was sometimes quite comical. It was also great to see him relate on Grace and look to her in those times. I loved their connection and the team they made. And how I loved Logan’s determination when he went after Grace.

“Taking in their expressions, I just knew it.
Logan had enlisted them.
The bugger.
“Oh dear God.” I let my head fall back as if in supplication to an unmerciful deity. “Why me?”
Joss snorted. “Yeah, doesn’t it suck when gorgeous, funny, loyal Scotsmen fall in love with us?”

This book was full of funny and very emotional moments, be it between Grace and Logan but also because of the other characters in the series. It’s probably the one series where you feel this sense of togetherness, belonging and family. At least it is the one series for me.

The family Samantha Young created with and for those characters is amazing and I can only wish to find this for myself. I’m not sure I ever mentioned it in one of my reviews before, but the family in this series is one of the many things I love about those books. And when you read them, I just couldn’t help but feel like I was part of this big crazy family that are the Nichols, Carmichael, Sutherland, Mac Cabe, Sawyer, D’Alessandro, Walker and MacLeod.
Along with everyone of the characters in this series, it’s this family that I keep with me in my mind and my heart when I think of On Dublin Street.

I loved what Samantha did at the end of her book. To give her readers a last peek into each of our beloved couples’ lives was a great idea but also a great gift. I loved that last chapter of Moonlight on Nightingale Way. It left me feeling all warm and happy and now I have a silly grin stuck on my face and I want to hug every person I see.

“There are moments in life that change us irreparably. Sometimes those moments are grand and dramatic, tragic or beautiful in their intensity. Sometimes those moments are quiet and small like footsteps fading behind a closed door. The subtlety of those moments can sometimes camouflage their impact and sometimes the impact is felt profoundly, but the quietness of the moment is lost on everyone else around you adding loneliness to the equation.”

I’ve been following this series and its author since I first accidentally found and read On Dublin Street back in 2012, while I was looking for a book taking place in Ireland and got fooled by its title. I’m glad that happened because it made me discover a great author and amazing characters and stories.
Like I said, I hate that this series is coming to an end. I feel like when I finished highschool. I was happy because it was summer and I was starting something new after that, but I also knew that it was the end of something big. It’s weird to be feeling so much for books and characters but I’m sure I’m not the only one feeling so strongly about fictional characters (or books in general) so I’m not too embarrassed to be feeling like this.

So, to conclude, thank you Samantha Young for On Dublin Street and all the beautiful people and stories you created. I hope (and wish…. and pray…. and beg) that you have more in store for us readers 😉

Leave a Reply

