RSS Feed

Echoes of Scotland Street (On Dublin Street #5), by Samantha Young

Echoes of Scotland Street______________________________________________

Shannon MacLeod has always gone for the wrong type of man. After she drifted from one toxic relationship to the next, her last boyfriend gave her a wakeup call in the worst possible way. With her world shattered, she’s sworn off men—especially those of the bad-boy variety.

Cole Walker is exactly the sort that Shannon wants to avoid—gorgeous, tattooed, charming, and cocky. But his rough exterior hides a good man who’s ready to find “the one.” He’s determined to pull Shannon from her self-imposed solitude and win her heart.

As Shannon opens up in the face of Cole’s steady devotion, the passion between them ignites to blazing levels. But when Shannon’s past comes back to haunt her, her fears may destroy the trust Cole has built between them—and tear them apart for good…

______________________________________________

“Cole Walker. Cole freaking Walker. All grown-up. And he was my new manager. I was so screwed.”

Arg! I’m all over the place right now. Cole and Shannon’s story just blew my mind!

I loved reading about Cole finding his woman and Shannon was just perfect for him. I loved how they met and their instant connection.

“There’s nothing between us.”
The gloom disappeared from Cole’s eyes and the gold seemed to flare as heat entered them. “Nothing but a shitload of chemistry I’ve wanted to explore since we first met.”

As usual, Samantha put me through an emotional wringer again. After On Dublin Street, Echoes of Scotland Street is the second book in this series that I read so fast! I could not put this book down.

“I’m scared of you, Cole Walker. I’m scared you’ll hurt me or I’ll hurt you…yet I have no intention of turning back. I’m throwing myself off this cliff, consequences be damned.”

Cole and Shannon’s love story sucked me in from the first line until I turned the last page. I was so sucked into the book that I actually faked a headache so I would be left alone to read in peace and not have to be stuck in a social situation that was keeping me from reading. Yep, that’s how good and into it I was. Just sayin’…

“…Cole Walker represented everything wrong with my life and the choices I’d made thus far.”

Shannon was a great heroine. She was strong and sweet and fierce but vulnerable to. I loved watching her find herself again and realize what was good for her. And I loved seeing Cole support her and love her through all this.

“You’re worth every bad thing that’s ever happened to me, because going through them led me to you.”

Cole turned out to be a great male character and a great man (how could he not when he was surrounded by such role models as Braden, Adam, Cameron, Nate and Marco).

“He’s spent his formative years surrounded by men incapable of restraint when it comes to flirting outrageously with their wives. Each one of them … is a cocky, arrogant, overconfident bugger.” (…) “But you won’t find men who are more loyal or loving to their wives.”

I love Samantha Young’s male characters. They’re all charismatic, cocky, romantic, alpha, sexy and so loyal. She writes her heroes so well, I just love these men. And I know it’s bad to play favorites but I especially love Braden, Nate and Cole.

“What are you doing to me, Shannon?”
My breath caught. Finally, I whispered, “Exactly what you’re doing to me.”

I loved that Cole was both badass and boyish, sweet and arrogant and oh my Gosh, the man can be all kinds of hot and bossy in the bedroom…and outside said bedroom too! I swear he had me all hot and bothered more than once while I read. And even though I found this book to have less steamy scenes in it than the other books in this series, it didn’t bother me because it was no less intense and it fit with the book.

“I’m going to f*ck every bad memory of those unworthy gits out of you, even if it takes me a lifetime. Starting tonight.”

What I liked most about him was that he is a good guy. Sure he looks like a bad boy, but truly, he was a good guy at heart, so loyal and protective of the ones he loves. I really loved him in this book. I loved watching what kind of man Cole had become through the series and the relationship he built with Shannon.

“I get you don’t trust me and I get why, but I want you to give me the chance to change that. I think there’s something here that’s worth the effort.”

This book was another amazing read, full of heart and beautifully written. I loved it and I’m so glad to have finally read Cole’s story, but the sad thing is, even though I did enjoy Echoes of Scotland Street and am looking forward to Shannon’s brother, Logan’s story, I just can’t help remembering that this amazing series is coming to an end very soon.

Leave a Reply

