RSS Feed

In Flight (Up in the Air #1), by R. K. Lilley

In Flight
______________________________________________

When reserved flight attendant Bianca gets one look at billionaire hotel owner James Cavendish, she loses all of her hard-won composure. For a girl who can easily juggle a tray of champagne flutes at 35,000 feet in three inch heels, she finds herself shockingly weak-kneed from their first encounter. The normally unruffled Bianca can’t seem to look away from his electrifying turquoise gaze. They hold a challenge, and a promise, that she finds impossible to resist, and she is a girl who is used to saying no and meaning it.

Bianca is accustomed to dealing with supermodels and movie stars in her job as a first class flight attendant, but James Cavendish puts them all to shame in the looks department. If only it were just his looks that she found so irresistible about the intimidating man, Bianca could have ignored his attentions. But what tempts her like never before is the dominant pull he seems to have over her from the moment they meet, and the promise of pleasure, and pain, that she reads in his eyes.

______________________________________________

Soooo…In Flight. Well, first off, I liked and enjoyed this read.

“I knew I had a problem. I was starting to like that kinky rich bastard.”

The book is well written, the plot is more than interesting, the sex is oh so hot and you get attached to the characters. I loved that each chapter in this book started with a new name for James and that it described a bit of his personality each time.

“Mr. Stalker
Mr. Kinky
Mr. Spellcaster
Mr. Charming
Mr. Personality
Mr. Stalker
Mr. Celebrity
Mr. Beautiful
Mr. Mercurial”

It took me some time to finish this book but normally, I would have finished it in less than a day. It’s that kind of book. Once you start it, you cannot put it down until you’ve turned the last page.

“I’m going to ruin you. I’ll be your first, and I’ll fuck you so thoroughly that I’ll be your last too. You won’t want any other man after I’ve gotten my hands on you.”

Now, and this is what kept it from earning five stars, is that even if the characters are lovely and sweet and you get to like them more and more as you read the book (especially Stephan and James) Bianca became a problem to me at the end.

“If you are having trouble understanding, let me spell it out for you … This is serious, Bianca. I’ve never been more fucking serious in my life.”

I liked her character a lot, and that from the start. But the thing is, she was so quick to jump to conclusions and think the worst of James when really, nothing justified it, and that is something that annoys me to no end!

“I had fallen in love with a perfect lie.”

I can’t really tell you what happens and what Bianca does or think at that time in the book but it happens close to the end, something like six or seven chapters before it. When you read it, it’s clear she just exaggerates everything that has happened. Well at least that’s how it felt to me. And then she’s all sad and depressed, blaming James for things that he didn’t do. Anyway, sorry for the rant.Well, it’s probably of no help to those who haven’t read the book yet, but when you do, I think you’ll see my point.

“My past has shaped me, that’s true of anyone.”

Anyway, that was really the only thing that bugged me while reading, so all in all, I really recommend this book, and I will be reading the sequel very soon!

Leave a Reply

