RSS Feed

Stealing Parker (Hundred Oaks), by Miranda Kenneally

a supprimer

______________________________________________

Red-hot author Miranda Kenneally hits one out of the park in this return to Catching Jordan’s Hundred Oaks High.

Parker Shelton pretty much has the perfect life. She’s on her way to becoming valedictorian at Hundred Oaks High, she’s made the all-star softball team, and she has plenty of friends. Then her mother’s scandal rocks their small town and suddenly no one will talk to her.

Now Parker wants a new life.

So she quits softball. Drops twenty pounds. And she figures why kiss one guy when she can kiss three? Or four. Why limit herself to high school boys when the majorly cute new baseball coach seems especially flirty?

But how far is too far before she loses herself completely?
______________________________________________

As always, I’m a big fan of stories where the girl is surrounded by boys, not because they all fall at her feet, but just because she gets along better with boys than with girls(I relate a lot).

“I wish I hadn’t quit the team last year. I wish I hadn’t let my former friends influence everything I did. I wish I had understood that people will always interpret my actions in different ways.”

Still, this story was really good. The character faces a very difficult time and is looking for answers and struggling and looking for a way to make things better for herself.
I really liked the parts where Parker writes her prayers and burns them afterward so it is only between her and God.

I really liked the male characters (Drew, Will and Tate) but Brian kind of sounded off to me from the start, and the more we get into the story, the grosser he becomes.

“You only live once, and if something feels right to you and you want it, you should go after it.”

I get why it is exiting for Parker at first but even she realizes that something is not working in the situation she’s in. And when I looked at the situation beyond Parker’s point of view, I have to admit that Brian’s behavior was kind of a little sick. I don’t think that age is a problem in general (not a 6 years difference at least) but here it felt like it and I guess it was. Especially when he became pushy and insistent with Parker, and assumed that what they had was just alright and that she had to suck it up.

“Maybe all friendships don’t fizzle. Maybe, like the kaleidoscope, the colors just change.”

Anyway, this book touches a lot of different subjects that are quite controversial, but brilliantly delt with by Miranda Kenneally.
Don’t hesitate to read it, it is not a waste of time and you feel a little lighter when you close this book.

Leave a Reply

