RSS Feed

An Unplanned Lesson (Unplanned #1), by Beth Rinyu

An Unplanned Lesson______________________________________________
Nicole Morgan, the new second grade teacher at Pineview Elementary school, has it all together in the classroom; it’s her personal life that she can’t find peace with. Unable to let go of the guilt that she is harboring from her past, she punishes herself by running from all potential relationships.

Her patience is put to the test when Dailan O’Maley the obnoxious but very sexy uncle of one of her students enters her life. She slowly cracks away at Dailan’s crude, crass exterior when they are forced to work together for the sake of his nephew. The two of them learn a lesson in love that neither had planned as they discover that the guilt they are hiding deep inside isn’t the only thing they have in common. Unbeknownst to her, he holds more than just the key to her heart.
______________________________________________

“It’s so amazing when someone comes into your life and you expect nothing out of it and suddenly, there, right in front of you is everything you needed.”

It wasn’t exactly like that for me. I was a little disappointed by this book and quite bored while reading it. And in a weird way it upsets me because I really wanted to like this book.

I mean, when the main male character is an Irish guy with an arrogant and playful streak and a big heart, you kind of have to like the guy. And the whole plot and situation talked to me. So like I said, I was actually looking forward to reading this book when I started it.

I liked the characters a lot. Nicole and Dainan were nice characters to follow and get to know and I was curious to see how their relationship was going to play out.

Their first meeting didn’t actually do much for me but I liked that Dainan didn’t play games and was always straight forward with Nicole concerning his feelings and what he expected of her as we got more deeply into the story. Of course, he was far from perfect, considering a number of reactions he had in the story regarding Nicole, but in truth, it’s Nicole I had a hard time with while reading this book, but I’ll tell you why in a little while.

“Dailon O’Maley had opened his heart to me. Now I had to decide if I wanted to enter.”

The storyline was promising and all, but to me it really felt like that Beth Rinyu wrote what she felt was expected by the readers, and that made it so that I just couldn’t believe in Nicole’s feelings and emotions while reading. Like for instance, when Nicole talks about her feelings. It felt like she was thinking: “Well, that’s what I have to feel now that this happened. Okay, now I feel that way!” It actually came to the point where the story felt a little fake.

Another thing that didn’t work for me was the fact that the story never made my heart race and I was almost never taken by surprise (I say almost, because the ending actually did surprise me a little) and everything felt very predictable (again, except for the end).

I guess what I’m trying to say here is that it wasn’t a bad story in itself and the characters never annoyed me but something was definitely missing for me and the whole thing felt somewhat a little ….clumsy. But this story remains a cute, sweet and quick one that is easy to read (even though I got a little bored with the way the story was told).

Now, I know a book is never read the same way by two readers, so I won’t say don’t read this book, because you might like this one a lot. Unfortunately, it just didn’t work for me and it didn’t make me wanted to read more of Nicole and Dainan’s story in their sequel.

Leave a Reply

