RSS Feed

Restoring Jordan, by Elizabeth Finn

Restoring Jordan_____________________________________________

When Adeline Parker decides to celebrate landing a coveted internship at one of Chicago’s most prestigious architectural firms by indulging in a brutally dark and handsome man, she gets more than she bargained for.

Lost in a maze of hallways on the first day of her new position, she stumbles headlong into a boardroom of suits. Very expensive suits. They are the somebodies of this prestigious firm, and she is, by all accounts, the very definition of a nobody. And sitting at the table with the rest of the principals from the firm is a man—the very man who unwittingly deflowered her only days before.

From the look of it, Jordan Ellinwood is none too happy to see her again; by his own admission, he’s a one-night-stand man, and the fact she conned him into taking her virginity isn’t sitting well with him either. But as her path is inextricably attached to his, their closeness will no longer be a choice.

As an intern, she’s off-limits, and that says nothing of the fact he’s twelve years older than she is. But when coworkers bent on jealousy and resentment threaten her reputation and internship, the long-dormant emotions Jordan has so effectively stifled fight to break free. And as he struggles to get out of his own way long enough to let her see his compassion, her career is jeopardized and leaves him fighting with every last ounce of himself to save her.

Will it be enough? Can he overcome his emotional shortcomings in time to rescue her future and his own—now so very attached to hers?
_____________________________________________

“Love with a strong side of smut” ~ Elizabeth Finn

I usually really enjoy Elizabeth Finn’s book. I started with Brother’s Keeper, then with The Rules Regarding Gray and more recently with Inappropriate. In short, I really like her books. They always challenge me a little, get me all comfy and good while reading and then BAM, they knock me on my ass to the point where I’m not sure I’ll be able to finish the book.

“He’s gorgeous, dressed like a man with money. And obviously puts the cock in cocky. He’s the epitome of tall, dark, and handsome.”

So I was pretty much expecting the same thing with this book. I vaguely knew what it was about and I started reading it expecting the kind of heart wrenching books Elizabeth usually writes. But, as it turned out, Restoring Jordan was quite different from what I’m used to read from Mrs. Finn.

It saddens me to say this but I got bored reading this book. The fact that I didn’t even finish is already strange for me as it is but I just couldn’t take it anymore.

“I don’t know Adeline, but I crave her anyway. She’s far too young, she’s far too innocent for an asshole like me, but I want her to belong to me, I want to protect her and fight for her, and I’ll be damned if I can figure out why.”

I just didn’t connect with the characters of the book. They were both very likable but they just didn’t keep me engaged. And the fact that there was so little dialogues between them made the prose somewhat monotonous. I don’t know if this book was a debut novel for Elizabeth Finn but after reading her other work, it felt like it. Like this book was a little…clumsy compared to her other books. I usually really connect with her characters. What they go through is very far from my reality but as people, I can like them, connect with them, even relate to them sometimes or at the very least, I can understand them. But in this book, Adeline and Jordan just felt … I don’t even know to be honest. They just never made me feel. Except for a few ones, even the sexy bits didn’t really do it for me and that’s NOT normal for me when I read her books. They usually really get me going but here, well not really.

And what was even more unusual: there was useless drama. At least to me it was useless drama. The 55% mark was so terrible. It was such a pity party! And they just kept saying how sad and depressed they were and how miserable and worthless they were. I swear at some point I started wondering if I was really reading something by Elizabeth Finn. I know I probably missed out by not finishing the book (Elizabeth’s endings are great and always leave a smile on my face) but I wasn’t engaged in the book (around the 74% mark) and I gave up.

“He intrigued me and aroused me the moment I first saw him in the bar nearly a month ago, and he’s more intriguing and arousing in this moment than I ever imagined he would be. I know him, and yet, I don’t. I feel close to him, but I can’t say I understand why. He doesn’t do “next times,” yet he keeps coming back for more.”

Even the writing felt different. Something that truly annoys me in books is when the characters repeat each other. For instance, you have a scene told from one character’s perspective, and then you start the next chapter, and what do you know, the other character just start to describe you the same scene but from his perspective. The same freaking scene! It just makes me feels like I waste my time, like I read the same page over and over and like the book doesn’t progress. And that NEVER happened before when I read something by Mrs. Finn, until Restoring Jordan.

“Perhaps I can love too. Perhaps I can love her. Perhaps I already do. Perhaps I can love her more than myself, and maybe, just maybe, I’ll be damn good at it, and I’ll have her to thank for that.”

I couldn’t really say what made this book feel so different from other books by her but that’s how I felt. All I know is that this was my third try at reading Restoring Jordan and that I couldn’t even go through with it, even though I really gave it a try. I don’t know what happened and I really hope this book was in fact her debut novel, because that would explain a lot.

“I’ve never had love, so I learned to be content without it. She held the mirror and forced me to take a good look at myself. She forced me to see what was missing, and it was her.”

However, Restoring Jordan didn’t deterred me from reading Elizabeth’s other work (because it is so freaking awesome and well written), and I can’t wait to read her next book. I guess Restoring Jordan was just a little bump in the road for me when it comes to Mrs. Finn’s books.

Leave a Reply

