RSS Feed

Floored (Frenched #3), by Melanie Harlow

Floored______________________________________________

Erin Upton is too embarrassed to tell the cops what she was really doing while her townhouse was burglarized, especially since the first officer on the scene is former nuisance next door Charlie Dwyer. Where’s the justice in the world when a neighborhood know-it-all grows up to be six-foot-three inches of solid muscle with gorgeous green eyes and a slow, sexy please-arrest-me-now-officer smile? It’s bad enough she’s wearing her robe and slippers—did he have to notice her fuzzy hand cuffs on the bathroom sink?

He’s arrogant as he ever was, which is fine by her—she’s too busy with her dance studio’s grand opening to make time for a man. But they keep crossing paths, and
when Charlie offers to help her put in new flooring at the studio one night, things go from hammering nails to hammering each other in a hurry. And about those hand cuffs…

They agree it’s a one-time thing. But when that becomes a two-time thing, then a three-time thing, Erin starts to wonder if maybe she and Charlie could be a life-time thing. Her best friends Mia and Coco found love in unexpected places. Is it finally her turn?
______________________________________________

As always, Melanie Harlow did a great job writing this book and closing the Frenched series with Erin’s book. So if you’re looking for a light steamy feel-good book that’ll make you laugh out loud, you’ve found your match with Floored. I loved this book! It was amazing and I had a goofy grin plastered on my face from the moment I read chapter one until I swiped the last page on my Kindle.

Now about this first chapter. Seriously, if you’re not sold after reading the blurb, the first chapter of Floored will surely seal the deal. Picture this: a shower running, a girl having some alone time with her B.O.B, a pair of handcuffs and picturing Brad Pitt as a golden haired warrior, and an uninvited intruder snooping around while said girl is still in said shower. And when things can’t possibly get worse, well they do when the cop that shows up is none other than her childhood tormentor. Except he’s not a child anymore and she can’t help notice it.

“Sexually, I wanted him six days to Sunday. Sixty-nine days to Sunday, in fact, and I wasn’t even a sixty-nine kind of girl. Confession: I was, of course I was. I’d just never acted like it in real life. But I’d do it with Charlie. In a heartbeat. And were there other numbers? I’d do those too.”

After friends falling for each other, there is nothing I like more than two people going from hating to loving each other, while still making each other crazy. Add to that Erin as the quirky heroine and Charlie as the dirty talking cop and I’m pretty much in book heaven! I swear, Erin’s inner monologues were the best and if I rated the book on them alone, it would still get a five star rating. I swear, she kept making me laugh with everything that came out of her mouth and the thoughts going through her head.

“Confession: I actually said a little prayer here, something along the lines of Dear God, I hope you’re not watching this but I’d really, really be grateful if I could get through this without gagging or choking, and also it would be great if this was the best blowjob he ever gets in his entire life. OK thanks, go away now.”

I like that there was crazy chemistry between Erin and Charlie but that it wasn’t an insta-lust thing. More like an irrepressible attraction that you’d rather not feel and yet can’t avoid or help caving for. Erin fights her attracting to Charlie as best she can and considering that he’s not really a relationship kind of guy and she’s never been one to go out with a bad boy, they aren’t exactly a match made in heaven according to her book. But alas (or more like thankfully) Erin can’t help her attraction to Charlie, try as she might.

“Charlie had come over here, tempted me with his whiskey and his cologne and his cuddling, and then kept his word not to touch me. How dare he!”

And when you picture Charlie, you kind of get why she can’t help herself. Because he’s so bad that he makes it feel good to be bad with him. I swear this guy is sex on a stick. Let’s check the boxes shall we? Dirty talker: check! Bossy in bed: check! Good at giving orgasms: double check! Let’s just say that the moment he stepped into Erin’s kitchen and got all serious and bossy, I was pretty much done for.

“Tell me to stop.”
“Stop.” Don’t stop.
“Tell me you don’t want this from me.”
“I don’t want this from you.”
“Good girl. You don’t want this. You don’t want my tongue on you’re clit… You don’t want my cock inside you… You don’t want me to make you come. Don’t let me.”

At the risk of repeating myself, I loved this book. It’s both light and steamy and the cherry on top? There is no useless drama. Sure Charlie isn’t perfect and does screw up in a big way (I have to admit the twist totally took me by surprise) but it didn’t feel manufactured or you know, there for the sake of being there.

“It’s the strangest feeling – to love someone this way.” He slid both hands down the sides of my ribs to the small of my back. “I want to protect you. Cherish you. Worship you.” He gripped my ass hard, pulled me tight to him and spoke right in my ear. “But then I want to fuck you so hard it hurts. Take your body. Claim it. Make it mine.”

The reason behind Charlie’s behavior made sense to me and I loved that Melanie Harlow got this part so right. Charlie is far from perfect, but that’s what makes him so good.

“This is wrong.
Please. Can you not?
You need to stop.
No fucking way. This is happening.
Tell him to leave.
I can’t talk right now.
Tell him you don’t want this. You’re not like this.
But I do. I am.”

I think the epilogue was what got me the most. I didn’t realize it until I was reading it, but the end to this serie kind of took me by surprise, and even though I loved every second of the epilogue, I was sad to close the book and turn the last page on this serie. I truly recommend you give this book a chance because, while being similar to the first two (or three) in style, it was perfectly light read that made me take a break from reality for a few hours and left me with a really good feeling to carry around. If you need a good laugh, you should totally give this sexy and witty book a chance.

Leave a Reply

