RSS Feed

The Mistake (Off-Campus #2), by Elle Kennedy

The Mistake______________________________________________
He’s a player in more ways than one…

College junior John Logan can get any girl he wants. For this hockey star, life is a parade of parties and hook-ups, but behind his killer grins and easygoing charm, he hides growing despair about the dead-end road he’ll be forced to walk after graduation. A sexy encounter with freshman Grace Ivers is just the distraction he needs, but when a thoughtless mistake pushes her away, Logan plans to spend his final year proving to her that he’s worth a second chance.

Now he’s going to need to up his game…

After a less than stellar freshman year, Grace is back at Briar University, older, wiser, and so over the arrogant hockey player she nearly handed her V-card to. She’s not a charity case, and she’s not the quiet butterfly she was when they first hooked up. If Logan expects her to roll over and beg like all his other puck bunnies, he can think again. He wants her back? He’ll have to work for it. This time around, she’ll be the one in the driver’s seat…and she plans on driving him wild.
______________________________________________

After reading (and loving the shit out of) The Deal, there was no way I wasn’t going to through myself into this book the moment it came out! I didn’t even know what it was about, just that it would be about Logan’s since he had a huge crush on Garret’s girlfriend in book #1. So I went into it sort of blind and it had all the ingredients to make a great book: a sexy bad boy, a sassy, witted heroine, awesome and funny characters, not too much drama and some good groveling and there you have it.

“He absolutely makes me nervous. He’s John fucking Logan, one of the most popular guys at this college. And I’m Grace fucking Ivers, one of thousand of girls who are crushing on him.”

To be honest, I was a little worried about Logan’s story since the book started out right in the middle of his “crush” on Hannah. I was worried for the state of his friendship with Garret and also for the state of his budding relationship with Grace and its motivations, that he might be “settling” for her instead of Hannah, but it was never the case and I loved how Elle managed and dealt with this subject and I loved the scene between Hannah and Logan.

“I’ve given handjobs before, plus a few blowjobs that I know were a huge success because…well, semen and all that. but I don’t have enough experience to consider myself an expert penis-wrangler or anything.”

This book was just the right balance of serious and fun. Grace’s character was cute and quirky and awkward and I love it. She made me laugh so hard with her rambling about Ted Bundy and her blushing and her inner monologues never failed to make me smile but I loved seeing the change in her and how she became more sure of herself and confident. I loved seeing her rebel. It felt really good to see her become more assertive and I loved it when she decided she’d had enough of people using her.

“Trust me, baby, you’re the only woman I want. The only one who gets me going.”

Logan was funny too but I guess to me he was the one I associated the most with the seriousness of the book. He’s the one with the secrets, the regrets and the hurt and he’s also the one who fucks up because of it too. I loved this vulnerability about him. Yes he was handsome and sure of himself and a little cocky, etc, but his vulnerability and his fears made him more real to me. He almost screwed up again because of it but he really makes up for it and I loved those parts of the book.

“I’m a total fucking mess.”

It’s funny how the book started out with Grace in the role of a insecure and not self-assured person that needs a little push and Logan the cocky, self-assured athlete never questioning where his life is going and that it then shifted and Logan became the one needing help to figure things out and Grace was more confident and had grown into her own.

“And just in case my reaction to your idiocy didn’t make it clear where I stand with us, then let me spell it out for you.” I whirl around to scowl at him. “I love you, you stupid jackass.”

There was really to parts to this book. The pre- fuck up and the post- fuck up. I liked both parts equally because in drew two very different aspect of Grace and Logan’s relationship while keeping it’s core. It wasn’t as if I was reading two different stories but I could see an actual evolution in the characters and for the better. I liked Grace and Logan pre- fuck up and I loved them post- fuck up.

“Go away, G. I’m wooing.”

But I loved their relationship. I loved it when Grace decided to make Logan work for it and that he never hesitated and complained about it. I loved that he actually relished having to work for her trust and forgiveness. And I loved how he made it so that Grace couldn’t not fall for him. He was just so charming and funny and even when you’re mad at him, he does something that will make you laugh and make you forget you were mad in the first place.

“What are you doing?” I whisper.
“Well, you were looking at me like you wanted me to kiss you.” His blue eyes become heavy-lidded. “So I was thinking I might do that.”

And this book wouldn’t be the same without its secondary characters. I loved the banter and the humor between the guys. Their complicity is one of the things that makes this book what it is.

“Just out of curiosity, what constitutes a ‘nice cock shot’? I mean, is it the lighting? The pose?”
“Well, the trick is, you’ve gotta keep the balls out of it.”
“Seriously,” Dean insists. “Balls aren’t photogenic. Women don’t want to see them.”

There were one “friend” though that I didn’t like: Ramona. From the start she annoyed me. She felt off to me from the beginning and for the life of me I couldn’t understand why Grace would be friends with her and stand her for so long. I was sorry for Ramona more than once in the book (especially for what almost happened to her) but I was glad Grace and Ramona’s relationship changed from what it was at the beginning and the Grace stopped being such a pushover.

I really want to say that I loved The Mistake just as much, if not more than The Deal, but the truth is, The Deal had a spark that I didn’t find in this book, even though I loved it. But I had a great time reading it and I would recommend it any day. And now I’m really looking forward to book #3, hoping it’ll be Dean (our beloved manwhore)! I can’t wait to see who’s going to pussy-whip him 😉

“Look at these abs, Wellsy. Actually, touch them. Seriously. It will change your life.”

Leave a Reply

