RSS Feed

Deep (Stage Dive #4), by Kylie Scott

Deep_____________________________________________

Don’t miss a beat with the fourth and final novel in theUSA Today bestselling Stage Dive series from Kylie Scott.

Positive. With two little lines on a pregnancy test, everything in Lizzy Rollins’ ordinary life is about to change forever. And all because of one big mistake in Vegas with Ben Nicholson, the irresistibly sexy bass player for Stage Dive. So what if Ben’s the only man she’s ever met who can make her feel completely safe, cherished, and out of control with desire at the same time? Lizzy knows the gorgeous rock star isn’t looking for anything more permanent than a good time, no matter how much she wishes differently.

Ben knows Lizzy is off limits. Completely and utterly. She’s his best friend’s little sister now, and no matter how hot the chemistry is between them, no matter how sweet and sexy she is, he’s not going to go there. But when Ben is forced to keep the one girl he’s always had a weakness for out of trouble in Sin City, he quickly learns that what happens in Vegas, doesn’t always stay there. Now he and Lizzie are connected in the deepest way possible…but will it lead to a connection of the heart?_____________________________________________

“I don’t think friends that are just friends are meant to do this.”

I was so looking forward to this book. Ben’s story was one I really wanted to read after Jimmy’s. I’m a sucker for people starting out as friend and slowly (or not slowly at all) falling for each other. I swear I could read about it day in day out. Anyway, the tiny tiny preview we had at the end of Lead had me biting my nails and tapping my feet with impatience.

“Turns out a boy rat and a girl rat, both virgins meeting for the first time, can fornicate immediately in a proficient fashion. No messing around working out the mechanics, they’re just into it. But not so much with the higher primates like monkeys. They bumble and fumble their way through initial attempts, working out the relationship and requirements. So it was a relief to know it wasn’t just me. Or even just humans. Apes screw up first dates too.”

Ben and Lizzy’s story starts pretty much at the same time Anne and Mal’s story does. I loved seeing them “seduce” each other via texts. I don’t know about you, but ever since FSoG’s (I know I know, many of you didn’t like it but bear with me) emails exchanges, I really enjoy reading what characters send each other. I loved it in Wallbanger and Beautiful Player when the characters wrote each other funny, witty, sexy texts and well that hasn’t changed since. So when Ben and Lizzy started texting each other, it put a smile on my face.

“I wouldn’t settle for less than a good thing.”

I really liked Lizzy’s character. I like how Kylie Scott makes her female characters. They’re always sweet and witty and they feel fresh but they’re not doormats. When the guys give them shit (and gosh knows sometimes the get a little bit of a rockstar attitude) they always put them back in their place. Sometimes it takes a few tries but they have backbone and I like that in my heroines. Lizzy was no exception and I like that she wasn’t afraid to ask Ben for what she wanted and that she wouldn’t settle for less from him. Considering what happens to her in the book and her age, I was pretty impressed with how she dealt with the situation.

“Don’t you sweetheart me. It was your penis that did this.”

Ben now. Ah Benny Benny. It may sound weird, but he was both exactly and absolutely not like what I expected. He was the broody moody quiet type that I was picturing all along. I really enjoyed his rough on the edges, simple and quiet attitude and the moments he was playful. But I never expected him to be so slow to get his shit together and to man up and to be so hesitant to invest himself.

“I don’t want to take your freedom. I just want a place in your world. An important one.”

I get that he liked his life the way it was and that he had a hard time with change. Most of us do and I got why it could have been hard for him to get on board from the start given the situation. But he kept making the wrong decisions and saying the wrong things and basically acting like a jerk when he I thought he was a pretty okay and reliable guy. In a way, he was the immature one out of the two of them, despite his age. So yeah, sometimes, Ben made me smack my hand on my forehead with the stupid things he said or did. But thankfully, he makes it all better in more ways than one.

“Let me assure you, there’s nothing bad about the man naked. Everything was as it should be and then some. In fact, he’d looked a lot like a dream come true.”

Now, Ben might be a little inexperienced in the relationship area, but boy does he make up for it in other. Seriously, I don’t know if Kylie Scott tried sex with a bearded man in her researches for the book, but boy did she sell it well. I swear, every time I meet a guy with a beard, I’m tempted to ask him to let me try some bearded loving! I have a colleague at the office who must think I have a thing for him now because every time I see him I stare at his beard with a wicked little grin on my face. As usual, I wasn’t disappointed at all with the steamy parts in this book! There wasn’t a crazy amount of sexy scenes in the story but it didn’t bother me. And considering the length and pace of the book, it felt just right.

“How do you feel about my reproductive organs now?”
“I feel that I’d very much like to fire-truck you.” Once more he sat back, arms spread out along the back of the couch. Such a slow, filthy smile on his handsome face. “Just so happens, I’d very much like to be fire-trucked by you.”
“Child appropriate dirty talk. There’s something very wrong with that.”

Actually, that’s one thing that surprised me about this book. I found it really really short. I swear, one minute I was starting it, and the next, I was three chapters from the end. That’s how it felt anyway. Since it was the last book in this serie, I really didn’t want it to end so fast but it’s one of those books you have a hard time putting down for the night. But when I realized I was so close to the end, I actually stopped reading it altogether for a week because I didn’t want it to end so soon. That really the only bad thing I have to say about Deep. I wish it had been longer because I really didn’t want Stage Dive to come to a close.

“You can have my time, and you can have my attention. Sweetheart, you can have whatever the fuck you want, I promise. Whatever you need. No more holding back, no more fear. And if you still feel you have to get on that plane tonight, then we’re doing it together.”

So now, I’m basically begging and praying to all that is holy that there is some more to come for this serie. A spin-off about Vaughn where there’d be cameos of the characters of Stage Dive would be good.

Leave a Reply

