RSS Feed

Behind His Lens, by R. S. Grey

Behind His Lens_____________________________________________

Twenty-three year old model Charley Whitlock built a quiet life for herself after disaster struck four years ago. She hides beneath her beautiful mask, never revealing her true self to the world… until she comes face-to-face with her new photographer — sexy, possessive Jude Anderson. It’s clear from the first time she meets him that she’s playing by his rules. He says jump, she asks how high. He tells her to unzip her cream Dior gown; she knows she has to comply. But what if she wants him to take charge outside of the studio as well?

Jude Anderson has a strict “no model” dating policy. But everything about Charley sets his body on fire.

When a tropical photo shoot in Hawaii forces the stubborn pair into sexually charged situations, their chemistry can no longer be ignored. They’ll have to decide if they’re willing to break their rules and leave the past behind or if they’ll stay consumed by their demons forever.

Will Jude persuade Charley to give in to her deepest desires?

**Recommended for ages 17+ due to language and sexual situations.**

_____________________________________________

This book was a first try for me. I’ve been hearing about R. S. Grey for some time and I was getting curious about her books. Unfortunately, I don’t think I picked a good one for my first try with this author.
It wasn’t a bad book though, I have to say. But in my opinion, it was a little clumsy and the connection between the characters was a little rushed and too insta-love/lust for my taste.

“She burns away the loneliness and scar tissue encased around my heart every time her gentle blue eyes fall on me.”

The way Jude’s tongue rolled out of his mouth the moment he sees Charley and the bound he feels with her right from the start kind of annoyed me because to me it is highly unbelievable and I just can’t relate to that. In this case, I didn’t have time to fall in love with the characters or their attraction to each other. I love that in books and I didn’t get to read about that in Behind His LensOther than that the book was okay, but to me this part was a bit crucial and to me, it could’ve been better.

Actually, my overall feeling about this book was an it-was-okay one. The characters were likable (somehow) but not the best I have read about.

“After everything that’s happened, you make me feel alive, like the last four years don’t have to be what the rest of my life looks like.”

One thing that bothered me a little for instance (beside the insta-love/lust that is), was that both of the characters’ issues felt a bit….convenient? What I mean to say is that the “issues” the characters deal with, what torture their souls, felt less like actual issues a persona would have to deal with, and more like a convenient way to add a little drama in the story. 

Charley’s problems to me felt like they were there just so she wouldn’t be as flat a characters as she is. I think it was to give her a little depth but in the end, it felt more like a loose end (especially with the way Jude “solved” the problem) than an actually part of Charley’s character. I think her problems (and his for that matter) would have felt more real and consistent if they had spend more time actually dealing with their demons and if it hadn’t been wrapped up so quickly at the end.

“Maybe that’s life’s greatest hoax – on the outside I’m a model, completely flawless, and on the inside, I’m a whack job.ʺ

Jude to me had two speed. One moment he is a complete manwhore with a new girl in his bed every night, the next he is a one-woman man, ready to do about anything to have this one girl he barely knows but has a deep connection to, even though they only spoke twice.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that I found the story lacking in terms of characters’ development but as well as in the overall plot

The sexual tension between them was the one thing that I don’t have anything to say about. I was really there while reading and it really worked for me. The sex in itself wasn’t as mind-blowing for me as it was for Charley and Jude but the sexual tension pretty good.

So, for a first try with this author, I have to say that I’m not exactly impressed. Behind His Lens was entertaining and easy to read but it didn’t have me on the edge of my seat rooting for the characters. I might give a try to another book but R. S. Grey (The Duet to e more specific) but if it leaves me feeling like this one did, that might be it for me and Mrs Grey’s books.

Leave a Reply

