RSS Feed

Revved, by Samantha Towle

Revved______________________________________________

Race car mechanic Andressa “Andi” Amaro has one rule—no dating drivers. With a good reason behind the rule, she has no plans on breaking it.

Carrick Ryan is the bad boy of Formula One. With a face and body that melts panties on sight, and an Irish lilt that leaves women on their knees, begging for more. He races hard and parties harder. The youngest driver to ever sign with F1, he’s still at the top of his game five years later, breaking hearts on and off the tracks.

When Andi is offered her dream job working in the glamorous world of F1, she leaves her home in Brazil, positive she can handle working for Carrick. But she’s not prepared for the off-the-chart sparks that fly the moment they meet.

Now, Andi has a crush on the one man she can’t have, and her resolve is about to be put to the test, because Carrick has decided he wants Andi, and he plans on testing her to the very limit…

______________________________________________

It’s my second book by Samantha Towle. The first one was The Mighty Storm, which I really didn’t like for many reasons. So giving Revved a chance was a bit of a gamble for me. But I’m glad I did because this book showed me that Samantha, in my opinion, has gotten better in her writing.
I know I only gave Revved three starts and that it’s not that good a rating after saying I though this book was better than her last, but there still were a few things that bothered me with this book. All in all, I enjoyed more this book than the last I read by her.
I’ll start with the things that bothered me first so they are out of the way…

 Carrick’s one and only way of saying he wants Andi:
I don’t mind a guy saying “fuck”. Really, I say it a lot myself and I’m not easily disturbed when I see it said in books. But Carrick really needs to expand his vocab.
Every time he tells Andi he wants her, all through the book, he uses the word “fuck”. Most of the time through the book, it works perfectly. But then he’ll be in a very emotional situation with Andi and he’ll tell her he really needs to fuck her now. Like I said, usually, I wouldn’t be bothered with it. But at some point in this book, him using the word “fuck” every time started feeling a little cheap in regards of Andi and how much she means to him. I’m not saying I would have wanted him to tell her he needing to make love to her (let’s be honest, that wouldn’t have been very Carrick of him if he had put it like that), but I wish he would have at least tried to be a little bit more poetic about it.

“Deny it all you want, but you know it’s true. You want me to fuck you.”

 The drama:
I think the more I read, the less I enjoy drama in my books. And to be fair, the amount of it in Revved wasn’t crazy. But it was a bit redundant for my tastes.
The fact that Andi kept doing the same things over and over, every time she got scared started bothering me after the third time. I got why she did what she did and where she came from, but as a reader, it got old real quick.
I had a hard time finishing the book after I hit the 80% mark because I could feel the useless drama coming yet again from a mile away and I really didn’t want to read about Andi and Carrick being so unhappy, for the forth or fifth time, and for the same reason mind you.
That there was drama in the book wasn’t really the problem for me really, it was that the drama was always the same and that it made the characters do the exact same thing again and again.

“You’re afraid to say it out loud because you know, once you do, it makes it real—this thing between us—and then you won’t be able to stop it from happening. What, deep down inside, you know is inevitable.”

But like I said, I thought this book was a lot better than the first one I read by Samantha.
I very much enjoyed Carrick’s character and presence in the book. Andi was pretty cool too even though I didn’t enjoy her character as much as Carrick’s, but I think it had to do with that fact that she was always causing the “drama” in their story. Carrick had his moments too , don’t get me wrong, but he was the one often getting hurt in the book because of Andi’s issues, so I have a preference for him, even though he did some pretty crappy things to get back at Andi in the beginning.

I really enjoy how they became friends and got to know each other. I liked the complicity they had and how they just got each other without even really trying to. I very much enjoyed the innuendos Carrick kept making to make Andi blush and I very very much enjoyed the sexual tension between them. Sexual tension is always something I look forward to in a book and this one has plenty of it so I was a very happy camper.

“So what do you say?”
“To what?”
“Fucking.”
“I’d say you’re seriously overconfident about it.”
He throws his head back on a deep laugh. It makes me glow inside.
A smile is still touching his eyes, when he says, “You say that now. It’ll be a different story afterwards.”

So all in all, I liked this book. It probably not a story that I will remember for all my life, but I had fun reading it, it had plenty of steamy and swoony moments and the universe of the story is original not one I read of often so it was a plus. I would recommend this book if you are looking for an entertaining and easy read.

Leave a Reply

