RSS Feed

Insufferable Proximity (Insufferable Proximity #1), by Z. Stefani

Unsufferable Proximity______________________________________________

Someone is hell-bent on sabotaging Julian King.

Julian is a hot-shot lawyer and a natural born womanizer with an unnatural addiction to the opposite sex. He also happens to be the boss’s son, which makes him a natural target. With a Rolodex filled with scorned women, a brother who loathes him and the competitors he defeated on his way to the top; there were plenty of people that would love to see him burn. But his money was on the person he despised most, his enemy Heaven Deville.

Heaven is an aggressive, ambitious, destructively-driven lawyer who HATES Julian King. The two stubborn lawyers were currently locked in a brutal battle for the coveted partnership position at the firm; and Heaven would do ANYTHING to prevent her arch rival from winning.

When Heaven goes too far Julian gives her two options- either he turns her in OR she has to willingly sign herself over to him for the next 30 days.

______________________________________________

Honestly, I think this book was a joke. If I had to come up with a list of words to describe it, it would look like this: clumsy, unrealistic but somewhat entertaining.

“Your hatred is my foreplay.” – Julian King

If you get past the many many typos (you’ll notice there is even one on the cover of the book, just sayin’), the stereotypes, the over the top plot, the really laughable resolution of dilemmas, conflicts and enigmas, the delusional characters (Gosh those crazy secretaries!), the main characters who change their minds like they change underwear and end up being and acting very very differently from the characters you meet at the beginning of the book and the abrupt ending, you will be able to enjoy the book. At some point I just started rolling with it because I would not have made it to the end otherwise.

And the thing is, I enjoyed the book to a certain point. Even if the plot and characters are very obvious and clumsy, I enjoyed (I’m using this word very loosely here) myself more or less until the contract between Julian and Heaven was over. Sure it wasn’t perfect, but it was somewhat entertaining.

I think the blurb depicted a story and characters that had the potential to be very controversial sexually speaking, but sadly, the end result was really….well, soft and normal. I mean, with a cover like this one…

(that was the cover at the time I bought the book)Unseffurable Proximity 2nd

and quotes like this one….

“I want you – every inch of you. I want you naked and on your knees before me, I want to stick my tongue in every orifice on your body, and I want to fuck you until you’re begging me to stop”

…I was sort of expecting something hot or at least something a little bit outrageous. So imagine my surprise when the book turned out to be very mild compared to what I was expecting. The quote I put above? Well it’s really not an indicator of what happens in this book. If I had to comment on it, I’d say it’s all talk and no action.

Julian tells Heaven he’s going to make her do the most disgusting and degrading things imaginable, but really, she keeps getting serviced by him. I swear, except for some light spanking and bondage here and there, Julian spends his time with his hand up her skirt or his head between her legs. There wasn’t even one tiny BJ in this book! So like I said, the sex turned out to be very mild (and not really original), but still somewhat entertaining.

One thing that I think some readers will have a problem with is that the characters are very one dimensional. Julian is pretty much a sex addict and a jerk and Heaven is pretty much just ambitious and stuck up.  And they both hate each other with a passion. They even end up hating loving each other. A little messed up you say? I’d have to agree on that. Want proof? Let’s take a quick look into their heads:

“He’s a cocky, egotistical, competitive, selfish, self-righteous egomaniac, and there’s nothing sexy about that.” ~ Heaven

“She was driving him insane, he couldn’t stand her, but he’d never wanted a woman in his life as badly as he wanted her right now.”~ Julian

It’s when I got to the last part of the book (approximately the 70% mark) that it became especially hard to not roll my eyes every five second. And then the ending did it. That’s what made me give this book only a 2 stars rate. It took the author about 700 pages to tell us her story but she didn’t even take the time to give it a real ending? Seriously? So yeah, that annoyed me a little.

So to sum it up the clumsy and unrealistic aspects of the story didn’t make this book unreadable for me. I found this book somewhat entertaining and it was easy to read. I think the story had potential and could have been really good. That’s why I read it but as it is, well it’s simply went really wrong somewhere along the way.
So in the end, I’m not sure I would recommend this book to anyone and after some review reading for the second book in this series, I don’t think you should give the sequel a chance either, unless you’re ready to waste a little bit of money.

Leave a Reply

