RSS Feed

Roomies, by Lindy Zart

Roomies______________________________________________

Graham Malone is my roommate, my personal eye candy, the reason I get up in the morning smiling (that could be from the illicit dreams I have about him too, I suppose. Let’s move on.). He’s also beautiful to look at, but his heart is where his true beauty lies. Take away the exterior and the interior still shines.

I love him. I mean, I’m pretty sure I do, having never been in love before. Anyway, it seems legit.

And now his brother Blake is here, and, well, he’s the complete opposite of Graham. Sarcastic, brooding, and totally available. But he’s leaving soon, and Graham’s the one I want. I shouldn’t have to remind myself of this, right? I wouldn’t have to if Blake would quit looking at me like I’m something yummy and he’s starving.

Here’s a toast to roomies; the ones you should never fall in love with. Or something.

______________________________________________

Well that wasn’t for me.

I was actually looking forward to reading this novel. I think it’s a known fact that one of my favorite plot/theme in a book is friends/roomies slowly falling for each other and/or realizing they have had feelings for their friends for some time now. So yeah, I was really looking forward to this book since it checked many of the good boxes in my list. So imagine my surprise and disappointment when this book turned out to be…well a lot less good than I expected.

“Maybe I’m a little callous, a little insensitive, a little self-centered, but hey, that’s how I roll.”

Kennedy annoyed me more than anything and if her antics were supposed to make her sweet, quirky and likable, it didn’t work with me. I almost liked her sometimes but that was when I only read the dialogues and not all of her rambling. And she was so freaking immature and sometimes what she though was down right stupid! I’m rarely this annoyed by a character this early in a book but Kennedy succeeded in doing so. I think I started rolling my eyes skyward and huffing at her comments and her in general from chapter two.

The guys, I was alright with but they were not extraordinary either. For instance, I didn’t get what Blake’s deal was with Kennedy and why he tried (and mostly succeeded) to antagonize Graham by “seducing” her. And at least if he’d done it well and seriously, I might have been on board with this turn of event. But he does an half-assed job of that too. Some of Graham’s reactions didn’t make sense too. Or at least, they didn’t help solve anything regarding his situation with Kennedy. Like him coming to her room all wet from the shower and wearing only a towel when it’s clear she wants more, but never ever wants them to talk about the elephant in the room, even when Kennedy mentions it very bluntly, whenever she has a chance to.

“He leans against the door frame, one hand tightly clasping the two ends of his towel together. Pity, that.”

The characters never listened to each other and created problems where a normal explanation would have sufficed to clear the situation.

Most of what they do just doesn’t make sense and creates problems, and then, they whine about it. And Kennedy (and Graham but especially her) are super immature to the point where it gets annoying and stupid.

The thought of not finishing this book crossed my mind from the 19% mark (if not before) but I paid for this book so I read it so my money wouldn’t be totally wasted. Too bad my time was. It’s not even funny how much of this book I skimmed over due to Kennedy’s never ending ramblings.
This book was really not for me even though I like the roommates-falling-in-love kind of plot. Seems like most reader like it though so maybe it’s just me.

Leave a Reply

