RSS Feed

Forked (Frenched #2), by Melanie Harlow

Forked_____________________________________________

Twenty-eight year old Coco Thomas knows the recipe for disaster:

1) Agree to plan last-minute engagement blowout for spoiled Mafia princess before you realize her choice of caterer is Nick Lupo, a despicably gorgeous young chef with a hot new restaurant in town, a reality TV show victory, and a romantic past with you—one that did not end well.

2) Strike a deal with Nick in which you agree to spend a weekend with him in exchange for his services, under the strict conditions there will be no talking about the past, no second chances, and definitely no sex.

3) Violate all three conditions within 24 hours and spend two glorious days remembering what made you fall for the sexy, egotistical bastard in the first place, and why it hurt so much when he broke your heart.

Add one road trip, plenty of good scotch, and endless spoonfuls of chocolate cake batter drizzled over your body and licked off inch by oh-my-God-yes-right-there inch, then just admit it.

You’re totally FORKED.

_____________________________________________

I think most people who have read the last two books in the Frenched series will think I have shitty tastes because of what I’m about to say, but I don’t really care. So here it comes: I liked this book.

I’ll admit, my favorite of the three books so far is still Frenched. I think it was the best one. But I liked Yanked even though there was a little bit more drama in it than Frenched, and yes, I liked Forked too.

“Coco, not a day goes by that I don’t regret what happened between us. I thought I was doing the right thing, but I made a mistake. And it cost me the love of my life.”

Of course, not everything was perfect in it. There was a moment in the story that I thought wasn’t essential. I think those who have read it know which one I’m referring to. But for the most part, I liked the story and its characters. 

Coco was a character that I enjoyed reading about and I could relate to her. I enjoyed her voice and personality. I liked that she always followed her heart and trusted her gut feelings. Since Frenched, I thought that she would be an interesting character to get to know. I did wish she for her to be able to let go of Nick’s past mistakes and give him a chance sooner. What I mean by that, is that I wished she had given him a clean slate for their second chance. But again, I get why she had a hard time doing it. But still, I liked her and how connected to nick she was.

“I love you. And I want you. But I don’t want to live this way— being called a liar and an asshole for the rest of my life because of something stupid I did when I was twenty- two. I don’t want every argument we ever have to circle back to it. I’m not that guy anymore, Coco. I’m not perfect, but given the chance, I know I could make you happy. Tell me what to do to get that chance.”

Another thing that I enjoyed was the theme of this story. A second chance romance is always something I look forward to. Before I started this book, I hadn’t read the blurb so I was happily surprised to find out that this story was about Coco giving a second chance to the man she never got over. 

“Nothing is really lost forever. When a thing is meant to be found, the right person will find it.”

Now, I kind of have to talk to you about Nick Lupo. Ahh….Nick. Damn, this guy was hot. Like scorching! This guy was a close second to our dear Lucas if you ask me (please, don’t through rotten tomatoes at me for saying this). But let’s be honest, the guy is really hot, tattooed, has a lot of stamina (oh boy, he really does!) doubled by a dirty mouth (that’s always a plus 😉 ), he’s not afraid to show his feelings for Coco and…..he cooks! And the chemistry between him and Coco was pretty amazing. And Nick knew exactly what to say and when to say it when things got hot! 

And I loved getting to know about Nick’s family and the sneak peeks we get of the Speak Easy series were pretty great. So much so, that I bought it before I even finished Forked.

“We have history. That has weight. It has meaning. And you of all people know that just because something is in the past doesn’t mean it’s dead and buried.”

So all in all, I had fun reading this book. The story kept me engaged, so much so that I read it in under two days times. I laughed and I swooned too, and I can honestly say that I enjoyed myself while reading this novel. I’m really looking forward to Erin’s story since she’s been the most discreet one of the three friends, and I’m also really looking forward to Tiny and Joey’s story (Nick’s great grand-parents) which takes place in the 1920’s and it sounds pretty awesome! 

Leave a Reply

