RSS Feed

Three Broken Promises (One Week Girlfriend #3), by Monica Murphy

Three Broken Promises______________________________________________

Breakout New Adult sensation Monica Murphy returns with a hot new contemporary romance—a heartfelt story of second chances, forgiveness, and redemption.

Commitment. That’s what I really want from Colin. Ever since my brother, Danny, died in Iraq, Colin’s done so much to help me, including giving me a job at his popular restaurant so I can leave my crappy waitressing job at the strip joint. But lying in bed with him every night to comfort him from his horrible nightmares isn’t enough anymore. I know he feels guilty about Danny’s death, about not going to Iraq, but I can’t keep living this double life.

I love him desperately, but he’s got so many demons, and if he can’t open up to me now, then he’ll never be the real partner I need him to be. I gave him a month, and now I’m out of here. If he truly loves me like he says, he knows where to find me. ______________________________________________

I’m kind of bummed about this book. i always look forward to a story about friend falling for each other, and even more when those friends are a guy falling for his best friend’s little sister. So I was reeeeally excited about Three Broken Promises.

“There’s more between us than friendship, more than our shared history. She means everything to me.”

But in the end I’m a little disappointed with this book. It started out well but turned out to be … I don’t know really, but sone things didn’t feel right. I enjoyed some things like going back to the universe of OWG and SCB and the sexy bits (which were really sexy), bit Colin and Jen were almost too dysfunctional and the fact that they are unable to tell or show clearly that they feel more to each other than friendship and lust got really frustrating after a while. They could have made things easier for each other even by correcting a misunderstanding while they were arguing bit instead they just said nothing, sulked, and then pretended like nothing was wrong. Most of their problems were because of their lack of communication and general miscommunication between them.

“You don’t want me”, he finally says, dropping his head to stare down at the floor, a self-deprecating chuckle escaping him.”Trust me.”

I also felt like the plot, and/or the characters’ personalities and issues were a bit shakier in this novel than other books M. Murphy has written. I have a hard time finding exactly what makes me say this but it’s how I felt toward the last half of the book. For instance, Colin’s trauma over the death of Jen’s brother was….how can I say this….it felt a little overdone. I get that he can feel guilty over his death somehow, but to the point where he is almost crippled by it at times felt weird. But most of all, it felt a little far fetched to me to associate his guilt and the fact that he can’t seem to discuss it with Jen. And also the fact that he can’t seem to say the right thing when it comes to Jen and his feelings for her got a little old after a while. 

“And like a dumbass, I said nothing.”

Also, Jen got really weird at some point. It felt as though she didn’t even make sense to herself for a while there. She kept saying she wanted Colin to care enough about her to not let her go, and then, when he shows that he does care for her by actually taking care of her and really paying attention to her and  actually showing her that he doesn’t want her to leave, she has the gal to be irritated about it.

“I want you Colin. All of you – your faults and your strengths, the good and the bad, it doesn’t matter. I want it all.”

Oh is that right? Because you had me confused here for a second! What do you want woman? I know the guy can’t say anything right when it comes to you and his feelings for you, but when he tries to show you how he feels by taking care of you and actually caring about you on a general basis, you get mad at him! What’s he supposed to do then to make you happy? Let you go? Ah no wait, that would make you sad and feel unwanted. Make you stay? Nope, won’t work either because then you feel like a burden for him and like he doesn’t think you can do anything on your own! Well Jen, I have five words for you: Make up your freaking mind!

“It makes no sense, the confusion swirling in my brain. Why do I resent Colin for wanting to take care of me?”

Figure out what you want and tell him what you want and how you feel once and for all woman! This is unnecessary drama you’re making here!

And then, once they finally say they love each other and can’t live without the other (and actually listen this time) the ending felt all wrong to me.

“Their behavior makes absolutely no sense to me.” 

By the end, it’s like they are trying to make up for the fact they never said I love you to each other for a whole book in one chapter. The last one is way, WAY lovey-dovey compared to the book.

And it really felt rushed. It’s weird to say that after all the time they took to own up to their feelings and figure their shit out but it felt like one moment they couldn’t understand each other if their lives depended on it and the next, they actually communicate and everything is all better and they understand each other so well and Colin cries and Jen doesn’t act like a bipolar about Colin taking care of her and blah blah blah.

So yeah, this ending felt rushed compared to the pace of the whole book. It felt forced or like M. Murphy wrote this last chapter because it was what was expected of the story but it didn’t feel like the same characters at all. Anyway, what I’m trying to say is something felt off about this ending, on a general basis.

So like I said, I feel a little bummed about this book. I was really looking forward to it and I had high hopes for it since I’ve really enjoyed all the books M. Murphy has written so far, but this one turned out to be filled with little things that, on the long run, made it so that I became frustrated both with the characters’ behavior and the story. I didn’t hate it, but I expected more out of this novel. I hope Owen’s story will be more like the kind of books I’m used to when it comes to M. Murphy.

Leave a Reply

