RSS Feed

Second Chance Boyfriend (One Week Girlfriend #2), by Monica Murphy

Second Chance Boyfriend______________________________________________

From breakout New Adult author Monica Murphy comes the exhilarating conclusion to Drew and Fable’s story—the star-crossed young romance that began in One Week Girlfriend.
 
Lost. Everything in my life can be summed up by that one sickening word. My football coach blames me for our season-ending losses. So does the rest of the team. I wasted two whole months drowning in my own despair, like a complete loser. And I lost my girlfriend—Fable Maguire, the only girl who ever mattered—because I was afraid that being with me would only hurt her.
 
But now I realize that I’m the one who’s truly lost without her. And even though she acts like she’s moved on and everything’s fine, I know she still thinks about me just as much as I think about her. I know her too well. She’s so damn vulnerable, all I want to do is be there to help her . . . to hold her . . . to love her.
 
I just need her to give me one more chance. We may be lost without each other, but together, we’re destined to find a love that lasts forever.

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from Monica Murphy’s Three Broken Promises

______________________________________________

I’m a little ashamed to say that I have had this book gathering dust on my Kindle since 2013 and I picked it up just now. Considering what happens in this book takes place only two months after the events of the first book, I had to refresh my memory a bit before starting Second Chance Boyfriend. I really don’t regret doing it, but I still berate myself for waiting soooo long before starting this book and finish Drew and Fable’s story.
I’m really glad I dove back into this series and got closure with those characters.

“True love isn’t easy, but it must be fought for. Once you find it, it can never be replaced.”

The first 20% or so felt a little longish though. To me it dragged a little. I wanted Drew and Fable to deal with their problems from the start so the whole waiting for them to meet again and then talk and listen to each other, made me have to work on my patience a whole lot.
Thank Gosh though, after the 25% mark or so, they started paying attention to what each other had to say and realized that they actually were on the same page and wanted the same things out their relationship.
But I liked that their relationship wasn’t all flowers and hearts after that either.
No way those two could have simply decided to be with each other and be the greatest and happiest couple to ever be. I liked that they actually had to work for it, that sometimes they had it wrong, that they argued and were able to realize who was at fault and for what, but most of all, I loved that they always put their love for each other at the center of their relationship. Even when they argued, it was always out of love and that really made this book and Drew and Fable’s story good for me.

“I’ll never forget the things you said to me. Not because they mattered, but because they made me feel like I did.”

We get to see more of Fable’s life in this book. In One Week Girlfriend, we meet Drew’s very weird, very twisted family, but apart from the fact that we know Fable’s home life isn’t great, we don’t know much about it either. In SCB, we do see more of it and she really doesn’t have it easy at all. I thought Fable was very mature (even though she was forced to be) and strong in this book. I really got to see more deeply into her personality with this book. She was fiercely protective of the people she loves and so affectionate but she could also be really on the defensive at times. I could understand why she was like that sometimes, but then, in other situations, more precisely with Drew, I really wanted her to let down her walls and let him in and help her, especially when it was obvious he wanted to help and be there for her. There was one scene between Drew and Fable, when they face this particular defense mechanism of Fable’s that I thought was really beautiful and sweet and just really moving. I loved how they resolved their argument and the way Fable finally let Drew in was really sweet and the whole scene was just really tender.

“Loving someone is taking a constant risk with your emotions. When you find the right person,the one you know you want to be with, that person becomes worth the risk.”

Drew’s side of the story was really moving too. At the end of OWG, we know his troubles and trauma are far from over. That he was able to function somewhat normally really amazed me if you consider what Adele did to him and then the bomb that she dropped on him. I was so sad for him that he was so afraid his own father would reject him for what happened to him. In some way, I can understand why he would think that. When you know how he sees his father, it makes sense, but it still broke my heart that after all this time and some people telling him again and again that he wasn’t to blame for what happened to him, he still had a hard time accepting it. Also, in this book, Drew has to work at being independent. His connection to Fable was sometimes bordering on unhealthy. He was so happy of this connection with her that he couldn’t find in anyone else that he acted like he couldn’t function if she went away. Drew had to work on becoming his own person and I’m sure you know it’s not always easy to do.
But I loved that Fable never made him doubt of her love for him and told him times and times again that she loved him completely even after knowing what had happened to him.

“Sometimes you have to stand alone, just to make sure you still can.”

Now let’s talk about the elephant in the room: Adele.
Gosh how I wanted to hit that b**** ! Her character is beyond creepy if you ask me and how deeply delusional she truly is was seriously scary. I still can’t believe what she made Drew go through for so long and so, unknown from almost everyone and unpunished. I can’t say I’m glad about what happens to her in the story, (even though I did wish for her to get what she deserved) because I wouldn’t wish that to anyone and honestly, I think she deserved to be legally punished for what she did to Drew, but I’m not really sad that now, she can’t hurt anyone anymore.

“Once upon a time, we were cynics facing the world alone. Our story changed into two warrior cynics facing the world together.
Now, we own the happily ever after and we refuse to let that bitch go.”

Now I’m really looking forward to the other books in this series. Colin and Jen’s story is really one I’m looking forward to and I’m also curious about Owen’s story. How he turns out to be is really something I’m curious about. I just hope those stories don’t drag as much in the beginning as this one did.

Leave a Reply

