RSS Feed

Sociopath: A Dark Romance, by Lime Craven

Sociopath_______________________________________________

“Passionate, frightening, intense and dangerous…get ready for a read that will leave you panting.” –Summer’s Book Blog

The name’s Aeron Lore. And you are…? Such a pleasure to meet you, sweetheart. Is that a southern accent? Gorgeous.

You f*****g bitch.

Why so surprised? I control a billion dollar fortune. I control the news. Give me five minutes and I’ll control you, too. If you could read my mind, you’d probably call me perverted. Unnatural. Manipulative. But I’ve learned to blend in, to be funny and charming. A predator in a designer suit.

I have no conscience. No shame in taking the things I want. And what I wanted was for Leontine Reeves to sell me her boutique tech firm so I could exploit the f**k out of it. Maybe exploit the f**k out of her, too, because desire haunts me in shades of scarlet, and I desire Leo most of all.

I never meant for this to be a love story. I fought it kicking and screaming, the same way Leo fought me. Now we’re bleeding into each other, making a mess. A chaos. There’s no control here. And what do monsters like me do when control leaves the building?

We attack.

WARNING: 18+. Contains abuse triggers and scenes that some may find disturbing.

_______________________________________________

Well HOLY MIND FUCK my friends!
Of course with a title like Sociopath it’s not like you’re going in blind but still, pretty impressive.

This book was really good. It’s strength resides in the writing and the main character, Aeron freaking Lore. Lime Craven writes beautifully in this book and the narration draws you in. Aeron is a captivating character, that intrigues as much as he scares you. His mind is a thing of beauty, albeit a little frightening and unsettling to be into. I loved seeing him think and function around people. His view of the world is so unique. Being in his head and seeing the world and people through his eyes was truly fascinating even if sometimes, a little unsettling.

“I got nothing. There’s just an empty space where my fucks ought to be.”

This book goes directly into the twisted-mind-fuck section of my shelf. And this is due to Aeron’s twisted mind. It was fascinating to be in his head and his thoughts. He has no conscience, or maybe, empathy is a better word and he is very aware of the fact that he gives no fuck, whatsoever. But we’re not dealing with an evil creature here, even though he is the farthest thing from nice you could find. He is just very…self-serving I guess.
His character is really brilliant. Aeron was smart, like really really smart, handsome, like really really handsome (we’re talking dimples and bonus for me, a dirty mouth) and well, very manipulative too but likable (at least to me as a reader), and he has secrets from his past. Dark ones, that he went and still goes to great lengths to keep hidden.

“I don’t want to be a hero. Not unless it serves a purpose. I like the shadows better, where the dark things hide.”

And many times while reading, he did or said something that made me think he cared (ah, optimist that I am), but then, when you saw the reason behind his words or actions, it made me doubt everything I thought I knew about him and also what it made me feel. The only thing important to him was his personal gain. He didn’t hurt people just to hurt them and he never hurt anyone maliciously, but if he had to hurt someone in order to get something out of a situation, he did it. He just didn’t really care about people. Well much. When he does care, it looks a little bit like that:

“Oh, hello there. I’m Aeron Lore. You might recognize me from scenes such as sexually assaulting Leo, or trespassing in Leo’s apartment and assaulting her again.”

This book isn’t really a roller-coater of emotions. The pace of the story is quite slow actually. But I couldn’t put it down because I was really curious and intrigued by the story and Aeron himself as well as his view of the world. I’ll say it again, but being in his mind was fascinating, and often funny in a very sarcastic way. One thing I really enjoyed while reading was Aeron’s personal definition of certain words, for instance.

“Pain is useless without pleasure. One highlights the other, and the tension that simmers between them is the sweetest of lines to cross.”

This book is really not for everybody when it comes to the steamy bits. The sex is …. you could say very peculiar. It’ll undoubtedly make some readers very uncomfortable. We’re talking edge play here my dears, just so you know what you are getting into when you pick this book. Everything is consensual, but it’s still not everybody’s kink we’re dealing with here. Aeron’s kink of choice is cutting his partner during sex. Not in a butcher way, rest assured, but we’re still talking actual cutting, about an inch or so. Both him and the heroine want it and so it makes the whole thing kind of okay when you read it. I’m not saying I was into it. If a guy comes at me with a knife while in bed and asks me of I want to play, chances are I’ll be out of the house running naked in the street screaming bloody murder. But the thing is that our heroine kind of likes it too. They both enjoyed it and so I read on, even though what they did was definitely NOT my thing at all. The first time they did it, it kind of turned me off. Anyway, you’ve been warned, there is no lovey-dovey action going on in this book, quite the opposite.

“Why aren’t you afraid of me?”

I liked that this book was a love story. A really dark and twisted one but a love story all the same. And even though it’s the book that made me, I liked asking myself the questions: “Can sociopath fall in love?” How does it ….work? What does it take for someone to be in such a relationship? Is it even possible?
It seems they actually can, but it’s in a very different way and when you read the book, you’ll see it takes a very special someone to be with one and to make it work.

This book is very different and I honestly don’t think it’s for everybody. I enjoyed reading it, really enjoyed it. I loved the writing and the characters (except Aeron’s mother ~ seriously, what a freaking bitch!) and I was never bored. I turned the pages frantically all along. But I can say right now that not everybody will love this story. It’s really a book that you have to try for yourself. But if you are a “darker” romance lover and like reads that are on the mind fuck side of things, and are in the mood or looking for something… different, then you should definitely give this book a try! I know I don’t regret it!

“Love is just a scar you can’t see.”

Leave a Reply

