RSS Feed

Rules of Protection (Tangled In Texas #1), by Alison Bliss

Rules of Protection_______________________________________________

It’s rule breaker Emily Foster’s birthday, and like everyone at The Jungle Room, she just wants to get some action. Unfortunately, she stumbles on the wrong kind, witnessing a mob hit. To protect her, she’s entered into the Witness Protection Program with by-the-book Special Agent Jake Ward as her chaperone.

When the location of their safe house is compromised, Jake stashes Emily deep in the Texas backwoods. The city-girl might be safe from the Mafia, but she has to contend with a psychotic rooster, a narcoleptic dog, crazy cowboys, and the danger of losing her heart to the one man she can’t have.

Jake’s as hot as he is infuriating, and she can’t help but push all his buttons to loosen him up. Their mutual, sizzling sexual attraction poses a dilemma: Jake’s determined to keep her safe and out of the wrong hands; she’s determined to get into the right ones—his.

_______________________________________________

“Jake smiled, as if he enjoyed my temper tantrum. “Patience is a virtue.”
“Yeah, well, so is virginity, but I don’t have that anymore, either.”

This quote is the reason I bought this book. I mean, just from this quote and the glimpse it gave of the characters dynamic and the sass of the heroine and I knew I was in for a good time. And I was right. I loved this book! I had such a blast reading it! I was hooked from chapter one and couldn’t stop reading until I reached the end! I really wasn’t expecting to like this book so much and it turned out to be exactly what I needed to read.

“You know what your problem is? Your mouth operates faster than your brain does.”

Emily’s character made this book so good for me. I loved how crazy she was and just whole. To me she is the perfect definition of “Go big or go home”. She made me laugh with her over the top reactions and the fact that she has no filter whatsoever when it comes to say what she thinks. Her reactions sometimes make more problems than anything else but I still enjoyed her a lot. And I just loved the dynamic and banter between her and Jake!

“Damn it, Emily. I’m responsible for your safety.” “Then wear a condom!” “Jesus,” he said, breathing out hard. “I was right before. You definitely have multiple personalities.” My eyes narrowed. “Yeah, well maybe I do, and none of them like you!”

Jake was really hot with the hole take charge, alpha male persona and I loved how he and Emily always pushed each other.

“I don’t usually have anything on me in bed…unless it’s a woman.”

I loved how those two seemed to not stand each other but always came back for more and couldn’t get enough of each other at the same time.
I loved every second of their time together and even when they were both being stubborn and/or stupid, they still managed to have me smiling at their antics.

“Jesus Christ, woman! We don’t have to have sex. There’s enough damn friction between us to last a lifetime.”

Those two have some serious chemistry going on and I loved seeing them try to keep it under control and fail royally. I really enjoyed seeing those two falling for each other and being stubborn about it.

“Choking a chicken is an old slang term. You just told us you performed sexual favors on Jake this morning.”

I also loved the universe of this book and all its characters. Jake’s family and friends were great secondary characters and I very much enjoyed that they were really present in the story and not just on the side lines. I really felt that I was in the deep of Texas and I loved it. Their way of living and the way they were with each other, always welcoming each other with open arms and all was really great to read. It really made me want to be part of the gang.

“If you’re the undercover agent, how come I always end up being the one on the ground?”
“I like being on top,” he said smugly.”

The mystery/action part of the book is nothing extraordinary, so if that’s really what you are looking for, I’d say look elsewhere, but I was still satisfied with it. I enjoyed the suspense and the bit of action it provided and the little twist hidden in the mix.

I don’t know when or if there is going to be a Tangled In Texas #2 but I sure hope there is because I want to see more of Jake and Emily, as well as Cowboy, Bobbie Jo, Ox and all the others!
This book was the perfect combination of sweet, fun and swoony.

Leave a Reply

