RSS Feed

James Games, by L. A. Rose

James Games_______________________________________________

Every year, the girls of Phi Delta Chi, Fiona Arlett’s dream sorority, hold a competition.

The prize?

James Reid, king size bar of eye candy and famous actor turned haughty undergrad.

The rules?

No girl but the winner can touch him.

The problem?

Fiona miiight have unknowingly banged his brains out last week.

Losing the competition may mean wearing a chicken suit to the sexiest Halloween costume contest, but she’d rather have feathers up her butt than let the truth out.

Unfortunately, she and James have lots in common and more chemistry than the science wing. Soon they’re sneaking around behind the backs of UCSD’s hottest and most vengeful girls.

If they find out?

Fiona’s screwed.

_______________________________________________

I really enjoyed this book. James Games was the kind of book that has a big bundle of crazy in it, moments that are almost too much to be believable and yet, I was able to see beyond the craziness and over the top moments and I loved it. I laughed so hard while reading and this book kept a smile on my face almost the entire time I was reading it.

“Life is all about choices. At this particular moment, my choice is between A: Jumping naked into a bush from a second-story window and B: getting torn to shreds by a gorgeous girl in Prada. The devil really does wear it.”

Fiona’s character had a lot to do with that. She was the bundle of craziness in the book. Her personality is over the top and she is a very free spirit but she was hilarious to me. She has almost no filter when it comes to her mouth and her inner voice made me burst out laughing more than once.

“If you don’t dance like you’re a weapon at concerts, all flailing arms and jabbing elbows and swishing hips, you’ll end up feeling like you’re a kitten at an elephant convention. Cute, but dead.”

You get the kind of person she is from chapter one and it’s what got me hooked. I have to say that at the beginning, I wasn’t sure I would like her. She is very promiscuous and well, she sure is not virtuous at all. And well, even though she was fun to read, her attitude didn’t really work for me. But then I understood why she was that way in the beginning and it started making sense to me why she did what she did and thought the way she did too.

“Now I’m living the life I was always meant to have – a life of fun and sex and crazy wild antics – and nothing is going to stop me. Not my family, not some skewed sense of morality, and not my heart. Yuck.”

I loved that her character was so optimistic and fun and non conformist. I like that she never backed done from a challenge and didn’t let other people intimidate her. I loved how loyal she was to her friends and how she’d always put them first. And I loved how she stood up to Sigrid the Crazy Bitch.
But most of all, I liked how she was with James.

“Somehow I ended up caring about you, James. And that’s not something you can just get yourself out of. Once I like you, I’m a for-life type of girl. Like hepatitis. And nothing you say is going to say that.”

Her connection with James was really something I enjoyed reading about in the book. At the beginning, their relationship is a bit rocky and mostly lust driven. I’m thinking about two scenes here. One involves a wall and the other a classroom. Those scenes were seriously hot if you ask me. But even though the sex between them was really good, what I liked even more was when they began being frenemies and slowly evolved to being friends.

“I joined Phi Delta Chi to get in on all the good parties, not have a battle of the vaginas over some guy.”

I loved that she was able to see past the famous hottie and be his friend. The way the other girls acted around him was honestly a little pathetic if you ask me and Sigrid’s attitude toward him was the most pathetic and shitty of all, especially when you know what the James Games are and how they came to be. But Fiona, because of who she is, was able to really see him and love him for the man he is and not the famous actor that everyone wants a piece of. She always wanted to know the real him and not the guy the magazine made him to be.

“You won my heart by being you.” He brushes a strand of hair off my forehead. “Wild, brave, intense you. There was no competition.”

James was great too. At first he is a bit of an ass with…well with her but with everybody too. But quickly, you find out that he’s a great guy, but he is a little scared to let people in. Also, he has a secret that he’s succeeded to keep hidden for a long time and letting someone get close to him makes it hard to keep this secret. I liked that Fiona gave him time to open up to her.

“That’s what trust is all about. Letting the other person see you with your guard down.”

The secondary characters are really cool too and I enjoyed Fiona’s circle of friends. Sigrid was the perfect bitch and I really enjoyed hating her. She was seriously a crazy lunatic but you don’t realize just how crazy she really is until the end. Honestly, sometimes I was really frustrated that no one manned up and stood up to her because for the majority of the book, Sigrid just acts like a bitch unpunished and that really pissed me off. Injustice tends to do that to me. But all is well that ends well. Sigrid get’s what she deserves.

“I realize that life really is all about choices. At this particular moment, my choice is between A: getting hazed to death and B: getting it on with James Reid. Again. Then again, sometimes your body makes choices for you.”

If you’re looking for a book with a never written before plot, this is probably not the book for you. The plot is nothing you’ve never seen before. But I still had a great time reading it and I would recommend it if you are looking for a fun read with a spitfire of a heroine, a really hot and sexy hero and a whole lot of craziness.

Leave a Reply

