RSS Feed

Falling Away (Falling #4), by Jasinda Wilder

Falling Away_______________________________________________

My name is Benjamin Dorsey. You know my mom and dad’s story. You know Kylie’s parents’ story. You even know Kylie’s story.

You don’t know mine, yet.

You don’t know what a broken heart is until you’ve loved someone your whole life, only to have her slip through your fingers because you waited too long. That’s heartbreak. That’s regret. And how do you live with that? How do you go through the motions when she’s there as a reminder of what you lost, of what you could have had but were too damn chicken to go after? I couldn’t. So I left.

That’s right, I ran away. I found myself across the continent, playing minor league football. I mean, at least I still had football, right?

Nope. That got taken away from me too. A career-ending injury left me down-and-out, scraping the bottom of the barrel, hating myself and hating life. And then I met Cheyenne Leveaux, my physical therapist, who became my one and only friend, the one bright light in the darkness of my messed up life.

But of course nothing is ever simple, or easy.

Tragedy struck, and the rug was swept out from under me yet again, and this time the guilt, the doubt, the secrets, and the old heartbreak may threaten my one chance at true happiness, my one shot at my own happily ever after.

Reading Order: Falling Into You, Falling Into Us, Falling Under, Falling Away

_______________________________________________

ARC kindly provided by author in exchange of an honest review

I can’t believe this series is over!!!!!!! I’m so glad for this book (and every book in this series for that matter) but I’m sooooooo sad to have to say goodbye to them all! Since I finished it, I’ve been going over all the Falling books and characters in my head and how great and amazing their stories were. I’m seeing a really bad book hangover in my future because of this series….But enough rambling.

“I have to figure out who I am, now.”

I’ve been waiting for Ben’s story anxiously since Falling Under closed on him leaving Nashville behind with a broken heart and a clouded mind. And well, Falling Away, the last and sadly final book in the Falling series, did not disappoint. This book was the perfect closure for this amazing series. This book was as heart-warming and sometimes as heart-wrenching as the previous ones in this series. The fact that these books all tell a story of love that can heal the most broken of hearts and the deepest of wounds is probably why it’s one of my favorite series of all time. And Jasinda’s writing has a lot to do with it.

“I’m not going to let fear hold me back any longer.”

In this book, and like in the last, Ben goes through a lot of painful and traumatic events. My heart ached for him as I followed him wandering around the country with the hope that his broken heart would heal faster. The way he spoke of his heartache was really moving and I really felt for him because of it, butt also because of all the bumps he encounters in his life. We got to know a side of Ben in Falling Under that was sweet but also very…..I’m not sure dark would be that right word but at least, wounded is. Ben, then, was far from perfect because he was blinded by his hurt and regret and even then, I really liked him and really hoped for a happy ending to his story.

“I grew up while I was gone. Not all the way though.”

In Falling Away, I got to see another side of Ben and I was really moved by him. He is such a strong character and man really. He goes through a lot all on his own but through all his pain and heartache, he stayed such a loving and caring man. I fell really hard for him in this book and I’m so happy he got his happy ending with Echo.

“I feel this starvation when it comes to Echo, like I’ve been hungry my whole life, living on an empty stomach, wasting away and living off my own insides, and Echo is a plate of food set in front of me.”

Now Echo. Wow. Her character was really something. I loved her inner voice. When she meets Ben, she is at the dawn of a very dark and difficult time in her life but she still managed to make me laugh. Her life was very different from Ben’s and in a lot of ways, very hard on her but she was such a strong character. Not the easiest girl to get to know, you’ll see but when you know what she’s been through in her life and what she has to go through when she meets Ben, you kind of get why she is so hard to know.

“Somehow, with Ben, everything is just…different. He’s different, and I’m different with him.”

I really enjoyed her character and I loved how Ben’s unrelenting love and caring helped her lower the walls she surrounds herself with and accepted that he sees her for who she is and loves her for it.

“I want more than one kiss. I want more that one night, more than one tumble in the sheets.”

I loved how deeply she felt things and her ability to never hold any punches and to express herself so honestly through her music. Those moments in the book where Echo sings are so gripping because of how true and raw they are. I loved those moments even though they weren’t always easy to read.

“I’m just fucked up and don’t know how to fix it.”

That’s another thing I was looking forward with this book: the music! In Falling Into You, Nell and Colt’s music had really moved me and their connection through it was amazing to read about. That’s one of the many things that made me fall in love with their story. In Falling Into Us, Becca’s poetry moved me a lot too and again, in Falling Under, Oz and Kylie’s connection through music did something funny to me. Falling Away was no exception of that regard. Echo’s lyrics come from her gut and it’s in them that she’s the most open.

“Rip yourself open, and let me in. Let me see you bleed. I can’t promise I can make it all okay, because i can’t. But I can promise to be there when it’s not.”

And I know that the Falling series has come to an end, but I’m really looking forward to Echo The Stars and to get to know more about the very talented musicians and friends that surround Echo. Hopefully, through them, will get to see glimpses of the Falling characters, but even if not, I’m really looking forward to this new series. I hope you are too.

“We’ve all got our journeys, Echo. I can’t change who you are, I can’t change where your life has taken you, or the choices you’ve made (…) but does it make me care for you any less? No.”

This was an amazing journey Jasinda offered us through her books. These books and characters and their stories will be kept very close to my heart and so for a very long time. I cannot tell you enough times to read those books and to make your friends read them as well, because they are amazing and so filled with love! I said it before but I’ll say it again, all the books in this series share an underlying theme, that love can find you in the darkest of times and places, that love can heal a broken heart and the deepest wounds, and that love you can find love even when you are a broken mess.

“You can’t pick and choose which parts of a person you love, Echo. You love the whole person.”

You will not be disappointed by this final installment in the Falling series. It is gripping and yet tender, full of music and deep emotions and because a cherry on top never hurts, it is also really hot! Writing this review was bittersweet as it means the end of these beautiful stories and because I really don’t want to say goodbye to the Falling universe and characters, but the best thing is to know that they are a stretch of an arm away from me and that I’ll always be able to visit them again. I think it’s safe to say I’m having one of the meanest book hangover over this series.

Leave a Reply

