RSS Feed

Hansel, Part I (Hansel #1), by Ella James

Hansel_______________________________________________

FROM USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR ELLA JAMES…

One boy. Mother calls him Hansel.
One girl. Mother named her Gretel.
Locked in little rooms, in the mountainside mansion of a crazy woman.
Until he saws a hole into the wall dividing them.
Then at least, they have each other’s hands.

It doesn’t end well at Mother’s house.
Everything gets…broken.

Ten years later, they meet again in an exclusive Vegas sex club.
Whips.
Chains.
And most of all, a mask.
What happens to love when it gets twisted?

Fairy tales are cautionary tales, remember?_______________________________________________

I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I started this book. All I knew was that there would be elements from fairy tales and I usually like that in my contemporary books once in a while. It was a first though for me that the story was an erotica. So I was curious about the story.

And well I liked this book as far as introductionary books go. It gave just enough info on the character’s back story to make me want to know more and just enough new elements to make me want to know how Hansel and Leah reconnect in the coming books.

“It’s fucked up, I know, but I still lust for Leah.”

The story is definitely twisted and there were enough clues in this first book to let us know that some twists will be huge and a little unsettling, like for example, why does Mother kept them locked in rooms? Or why did she pick Leah in particular? How was life for Hansel and Leah during all those years apart? And why does Hansel recreated their “cells” in his sex club when they are such traumatic places from both their pasts?
So yeah, I see many many mysteries to come in this serie.

“Pretty little blondes girls. That’s what I needed. A pretty little blonde to be my Gretel.”

Because of the format (which is a format I like less and less when it comes to series) we don’t get to know Leah and Hansel a whole lot in this book, both when they were captives and when they find each other again ten years later.

“I start to cry – quiet, tired weeping – because I want to see him and I’m scared to.”

But I liked the connection between Hansel and Leah. I liked how even without knowing it is her, Hansel recognizes Leah on an instinctive level. I’m really looking forward to more of their interactions and knowing more of their past together.

This first book made me curious and willing to read more of the story.

Ps: Also, this first book for free while the other three are not. So if you’re still unsure this is for you, you can still get the first one and decide later.

Leave a Reply

