RSS Feed

The Write Stuff (A Write Stuff Novel), by Tiffany King

The Write Stuff_______________________________________________

From USA Today Bestselling Author, Tiffany King.

Twenty-two-year-old historical romance writer Nicole Blake, or N.S. Blake to her readers, hasn’t taken an official poll, mind you, but she is convinced she may be the only romance author on the planet who is still a card-carrying member of the virgin club.Not that she hasn’t tried to end her membership. Life just keeps finding pesky ways to interfere. With no prospects on the horizon, Nicole begins to feel like the closest she will ever get to experiencing a man is within her own stories.

Opportunity presents itself in the form of hot-as-sin-on-a-lollipop-stick bartender/premed student Alec Petropoulos, who agrees to be the cover model for her upcoming book. Sparks fly instantly between them, and Nicole begins to entertain the possibility that she’s finally found the right guy to hand over her tattered V-card. Alec has all the makings for a perfect one-night-stand candidate except, much to Nicole’s surprise, he seems to be the only man in existence not interested in bagging a virgin.

Stuck between a rock and a stubborn male, what’s a virgin to do? Seduce him, of course. How hard could it be? If it works for the characters in her stories, why wouldn’t it work for her? After all, what happens under the cover…stays under the cover.

_______________________________________________

This story went from good to not so good actually.

When I started reading it, I was really into the story. No not just because of the six-pack on the cover (though I have to admit, it might have caught my eyes for a minute there), but because the plot seemed quite even though a little predictable. I really liked Nicole’s character and voice (I really liked her self-deprecating, sarcastic comments), the writing style, the pace of the story, everything. I was really enjoying myself and looking forward to Alec and Nicole gradually falling for each other. And I got all of that until I reached the 60% mark of the book.

“My virgin status would be gone in a few minutes. I could see the light at the end of the ecstasy-filled tunnel.”

Before that, I didn’t have anything to say against the story. I laughed a lot at Nicole’s little quips about herself and I liked that she was so sure and happy about what she was doing.

“What was it about a woman’s nipples that made them want to stand at attention at the worst possible moment?”

But then, I don’t know why, but I started losing interest in the story, I wasn’t as involved with it as I had been before, and I started seriously rolling my eyes at what happened in the book.

I couldn’t connect with Nicole and Alec anymore and couldn’t bring myself to believe in her and Alex’s story either. It’s hard to explain and I don’t want to give spoilers about the story either, but I felt like what the characters felt and did wasn’t really coming from the characters but it was there because it was the right time in the story for them to feel or act that way. And well, like Nicole says in the book…

“It was almost too perfect. How could one guy be freaking drop-dead gorgeous, easy to talk to and a damn magician in bed? And he liked to read. It was like he was created from my own perfect male bucket list.”

Plus, I started getting bored with the story after the first real sex scene, which was too vanilla and…soft for my taste, and to be completely honest, way to perfect for it to be believable. This was my reaction to their first time:

“What just happened seems a little unrealistic even for me. I would have understood if it had been good. But that she rocked his world and had hers rocked too the very first time is a little far fetched I think”

That’s pretty much when I started reading only the dialogues. And we all know that’s never a good sign.

I’m actually a little sad that I didn’t like this book as much toward the end because it really started out well. The whole first part of the book made me laugh and smile and I really liked the tension between Nicole and Alec. So I’m a little disappointed that things didn’t stay that way throughout the story.

Leave a Reply

