RSS Feed

Sweet Filthy Morning After (Wild Seasons #1.5), by Christina Lauren and Read by Jason Carpenter

Sweet Filthy Morning After_______________________________________________

This audio exclusive short tells of events from Sweet Filthy Boy from a new perspective.

_______________________________________________

“Mia and I didn’t meet so much as collide. At least that’s how it feels when I remember it.”

I really liked having Ansel’s POV of the morning after meeting Mia. To see Mia through his eyes was great and I liked knowing his first impression of her the night they met as well when he first woke up next to her.

“I’m twenty eight, and just woke in a hotel in Las Vegas married. The fact that I’m not completely freaking out, or searching for the easiest most accessible exit makes absolutely no sense. Instead, I’m just.. calm.”

It’s not really long, about a 30 minute listen really, but I really don’t regret paying for it. I’d even go as far as saying that it was worth it to be able to listen to Ansel tell us about his version of his first encounter with Mia and some details about their wild night as newly weds 😉

“…But I found her again, got her talking, and in a way I can’t explain, feel like I made her mine.
As it all comes back to me — in stuttering, jarring flashes of words and lips and skin and laughter, the sounds of her moans and little choked-off begs, the feel of her hands all over me and her eyes holding onto mine as I moved over her — I know more fully that I’m hers.”

I gave the audio book 5 stars but it was really only 4,5 stars because – and I know I’m going to get rotten tomatoes thrown at me – the French accent, even though endearing, just didn’t do it for me, especially when Ansel spoke French to Finn and Oliver. It might have to do with the fact that I am French though, so you, lovely English listener, should normally have little “audiorgasms” while listening to Jason whisper in your eager little ears!

“I’d seen a hundred girls look at me like that from across the room, but it had never felt like that. Like the air had ignited in the space between us, and the breath had been knocked from my lungs.”

Even though this little bit of Ansel and Mia’s story isn’t essential to the main story, I’m still glad I …heard it? I loved hearing Ansel’s take on the story, which is something we didn’t get in Sweet Filthy Boy since the book was written from Mia POV.

Leave a Reply

