RSS Feed

The Invitation: Release (The Invitation #3), by Roxy Sloane

The Invitation- Release______________________________________________

The invitation unlocked a world of pleasure — but the game is only just beginning…

He promised me an adventure. I had no idea what lay in store. Now, I know his name, and everything has changed.

I want to trust him, but his secrets could ruin us both. I need to know what he’s hiding – before it’s too late.

I’ve already risked everything for his love. Now, I’m playing to win.

Are you ready?

*The explosive conclusion to the seductive new series*

______________________________________________

“This invitation is not just for the night. It’s forever.”

I haven’t been in the mood for dark romance lately. But the last installment of The Invitation has been on my kindle for some time now and I really wanted to finally tackle it.
So even though I wasn’t as into the story as I was with the first two books, I still enjoyed reading JJ and Ash’s story.

“You’re still mine and don’t you ever deny it.”

Things are still incredibly hot between those two, maybe even hotter now that we know for sure that it’s Ash who was behind all those sexy anonymous invitations.
So like I said, the brand of sex we get in Roxy Sloane’s book wasn’t really what I was in the mood for when I read this book, but I can’t deny that it was still really good. Ash’s commanding and dominating presence is still as hot as it was in the book #1, and this man has one of the filthiest mouth I know! I swear, the man is gifted.

“I want you. This. Us.”

One thing I would’ve like a little bit more of was love instead of lust. We know JJ has feelings for Ash and we suspect that he does to – otherwise why would he go through so much trouble to get JJ back? – but those two were so consumed by their lust for each other that the sexy bits are almost overshadowing the tender ones showing and acknowledging what they feel for each other. The feelings are there, but I wish they would have been more mentioned. And every time something feeling related was mentioned, they always brought it back to sex.

“I need you. Fuck, Ash, I need you right now.”
“I’m yours. All of me, darling. Every fucking inch.”

And I’m sorry to say this but even though the sex was still really hot the first few times, it was a little bit of the same every time. And it really fells like Ash has a mind control device in his pants because every time he’s close to JJ, she apparently can’t think about anything but what he’s got between his legs and how huge and magical it is. That’s what bothered me I guess. That JJ (and Ash as well for that matter, since when he talks, it seems like this woman has a golden vagina under her skirt), an intelligent and independent woman becomes a sex-craze teenager. I don’t mind characters that are really attracted to each other, but here it went a little overboard, even for my tastes.

“God, I can’t get enough of this man.”

One thing that I feel like I should mention is that there isn’t anything really new happening in this book. I had a feeling of déjà vu somehow toward the end. Doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy it, but if you’re looking for something new and original, you’re probably not looking in the right place with this book.

“No hiding, no games, just us. But she doesn’t know the truth.”

I was a little mad with Ash for the secret he keeps from JJ when he knows it’s a risk for him to lose JJ again, but I guess he had to be a man at some point and mess things up. And his reaction when the truth comes out and he gets scared and frustrated didn’t make sense to me. But then, when things unfold, he really made up for his foolish moments.

“You belong to me, JJ. You always have. And I belong to you.”

I liked that this series was more focused on its characters and not so much on a big scary mystery like it was in The Seduction series. I liked that the more “serious” mystery of the story came so late in the book and didn’t take too long to be resolved. I wouldn’t have minded knowing what happened to a certain character after things settled down again but I was still happy with how the story ended.

“Tell me.What changed?”
“What changed is that I can’t live another fucking day without you.”

I really enjoyed this series, even though the last book wasn’t my favorite. And I’m glad Ash and JJ got their happy ending. After all, I’m always a sucker for friends falling for each other and JJ and Ash, even though it wasn’t simple, found their way to each other anyway.

“I knew you were the one back then. I can’t believe I wasted so much time, not being ready for you. I swear, I won’t do it again. I’m yours, JJ. Body and soul.”

Leave a Reply

