RSS Feed

Ugly Love, by Colleen Hoover

Ugly Love_______________________________________________

When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.
_______________________________________________

“Don’t ask about my past. And never expect a future.”

Wow. This book, like the last one I read by Colleen Hoover, did a number on me. I wasn’t sure I wanted to start reading it because I’ve read quite a few reviews that showed that readers had issues with what Miles does to Tate in the book as well as how she reacts to what he does to her. So even though I was curious when I started this book, I was also a little worried and on the lookout for something to bother me. 

“I suppose if a man lived through the ugliest side of love, he might never want to experience it again.”

Turns out, what happens in the book didn’t bother me very much. Don’t get me wrong, there were a few moments (I’m sure those who have read the book know which ones I’m thinking about) when I was really upset with what Miles did or said to Tate. And there were also moments when I wished Tate wouldn’t allow Miles to hurt her so much. However, I understood why they did and said those things. Doesn’t mean it excuses anything, far from that, but I understood why Tate kept allowing Miles to hurt her so much, and then, I understood why Miles hurt her repeatedly even though he wished he didn’t.

“Make me leave… You don’t need this… I just don’t know how to stop wanting you. Tell me to go, and I’ll go.”

I know what I’m writing is really vague if you haven’t read the book yet, but just like in Maybe Someday, I can’t reveal too much of the story because it would ruin it for future readers. What I’ll say though, is that once again, Colleen Hoover made me feel so many things. She sucked me into the lives of Miles and Tate and I just couldn’t get enough. I had to force myself to stop reading (you know how hard that can be) because it was 5am and I had to be up at 7am. I didn’t see the night go by. Every time I read a chapter I had to start the next, and well, you know how those things usually end up: an all-nighter. Which I don’t regret, AT ALL.

“Love isn’t always pretty… Sometimes you spend all your time hoping it’ll eventually be something different. Something better. Then, before you know it, you’re back to square one, and you lost your heart somewhere along the way.”

What Miles and Tate have isn’t easy, and like the title says, it could even get ugly, but I loved their story. I loved that Tate didn’t give up on Miles, that she couldn’t because she just knew he felt more than what he showed. I loved Miles even though we only really get to know him towards the end of the book. I felt for him so much. And even though at times I wished his chapters were told like Tate’s and not six years prior his story with Tate, they helped understand him when the moment comes. I didn’t really care for the “poetry” (I have a hard time calling it that in the case of this book but anyway) but I loved reading between the lines of Miles’s story from six years ago, and his story with Tate.

“It’s love in general I don’t want, Tate. Ever. It’s you specifically that I just…want.”

And I liked Tate. I really liked her. I know a lot of readers didn’t and would have wanted her to woman up and not allow Miles to repeatedly hurt her, but those moments when she wasn’t acting like herself because of her love for Miles, those moments when readers found her pathetic for letting Miles do that to her and for getting her hopes up, they made her very human to me.

“I’m terrified to lose him for good, so I sell myself short and take what I can from him, even though I know I deserve better.”

We all hope that in a situation like Tate’s, we would be strong women, who stand up for themselves and don’t take shit from men. And some women do. But still, a lot of us don’t. Even though we know better, we find excuses, we hope that maybe we can make a man change because of us, for us, with time and patience. That’s what Tate does and she gets hurt in the process. Personally, I cringed when I she lied to Miles and wished that with time, he would change his mind and break his rules. I think we all did. But at the end of the day, I could understand why she did that. It doesn’t make it okay, and I often while reading I wished she would just put a stop to it, but I also wished she wouldn’t. Because just like her, I had hope for hers and Miles’s story.

“If I were capable of loving someone . . . it would be you.”

I almost don’t want to mention it because this book is soo much more than that, but since I enjoyed those parts a whole lot, I’ll still say a word about it: THE SEX! Man! I would have switched places with Tate on quite a few occasions during the book. I’m not saying I enjoyed all of it. I especially didn’t like the times Miles put his walls up right after such intense moments, but the man is hot! And skilled from what I read. I also loved those moments because they were some of the rare ones where Miles let Tate see into him, or at least a little bit more of him. It wasn’t much, but those moments as well as those when he was with Tate and started forgetting about the past, the pain and the guilt, those moments were great for me, because those were the moments when you knew that Miles isn’t a heartless asshole. In those moments I guess I was like Tate. They made me hope for more than what Miles was offering her.

You saw something in me that gave you hope in us, and you didn’t give up on that. And Tate? That means more to me than anything anyone’s ever done.

This story was beautiful even when it was ugly. I definitely don’t regret reading this book. I’ll read it again. Colleen Hoover made me love her flawed characters and that’s what I love in books. I love that authors can make me fall in love with imperfect characters with their qualities and their flaws, and sometimes, because of those flaws.

God gives us the ugliness so we don’t take the beautiful things in life for granted.

This book was realistic in the sense the love isn’t always pretty, sometimes it’s ugly. But the ugly makes you appreciate the beautiful even more. So like I said before, this love story was sometimes painful and ugly but it was terribly human. It pictured two people that love changed, not always in a good way, but who in the end, still found their way to each other and to a beautiful love.

“My heart isn’t hurting from pain this time, though. It hurts because its never felt this full.”

Leave a Reply

