RSS Feed

Trashed (Stripped #2), by Jasinda Wilder

Trashed_______________________________________________

I’m nobody. I’m an orphan. A janitor. A college student. A virgin.
And him? He’s a god. One of the hottest action stars to ever grace the silver screen, huge and muscular and gorgeous and famous. He could have anyone in the world.
Yet, despite the chasm separating my world from his, I find myself in his hotel room, and he’s acting like I’m the most beautiful girl in the world. I’m not. He’s everything every woman could ever want, and I’m just…me.

***

She doesn’t know how sexy she is, and that’s it’s own kind of beauty. But for real, she’s gorgeous. I’ve met some of the hottest women in Hollywood, and none of them can hold a candle to this girl. I want her. And the fact that she’s closed off and impossible to figure out only makes the pursuit that much more intriguing.
The last thing I expect is for one night of pleasure to turn into something I’m unable to forget, even after she’s gone her way and I’ve gone mine. I can’t forget her, no matter how I try. And the next time we run into each other, I know there’s no way I can let her go again. No matter what it takes.

***This is a full length, stand-alone contemporary romance, set in the world of STRIPPED***
_______________________________________________

Oh how I loved this book! And this epilogue! Loved it loved it loved it! It’s what earned this book its fifth star.

Books about celebrities such as Love Unscripted, Love Unrehearsed and Stripped aren’t usually my favorites. I enjoy them and have a really good time reading them, but when I look back on them after a while, I can honestly say that they aren’t the stories I keep closest to my heart. But in the case of Trashed well, my feelings are a little different.

“I’m not a movie star. I’m just Adam.”

I think the fact that the book isn’t too focused on Adam’s celebrity and his fame made it better for me. He wasn’t Adam the movie star, but simply Adam. He felt really down to earth to me and I loved that. I loved how real he felt to me. I’m not saying that Dawson in Stripped didn’t feel real either, but I think I didn’t read this book in the right conditions at the time to really appreciate it (my advice to you: don’t start a book when you’re tired and right before moving countries). Anyway, what I’m saying here is that Des and Adam felt very real and …accessible? I’m not sure this word means anything here but what I’m trying to say is that I felt like I could have know those characters in real life. They felt true and real to me. And I loved it. And I thought Adam was so cute when he first met Des. It was so sweet how awkward he got. I’ll say it again, I loved it!

“There’s something here, Des. Between us. There is, and I know you know there is. You’re just scared. Of what, I’m not sure.”
“Of what? Of everything.”
“Why?” I let out a breath.
“Because that’s what life has taught me.”

And I really loved Des. Her character kept surprising me and the more I got to know her, the more I liked her. At some point, the choice she made seemed really odd and not like her to me, but it turned out, it was a choice she had to make. I heard somewhere that the mistakes we make and the hard times in our lives are what make us who we are. And in the case of Des, I think it’s very true. Des really moved me and I loved seeing her evolve and grow into herself as I read.

“The ache for home lives in all of us, the safe place where we can go as we are and not be questioned.” –Maya Angelou

I loved the connection between Des and Adam. I wish one day I can feel so close and free to be myself with someone as Des did with Adam. Their relationship (especially toward the end of the book) had my heart go all warm and soft and kept a smile on my face until I turned the last page of the book. It was so moving to see Des let herself be loved and attached to Adam, and how Adam understood what a gift it was that she picked him for it.

“I don’t want to let my past dictate my present or future anymore.”

And boy, were they hot together! I mean seriously! Every time they went at it I was squirming like crazy. I got some seriously weird looks in the train. I’m usually glad I have a Kindle because people can’t know what I’m reading when I’m in public but I think even with my Kindle in hand I was seriously busted on this one. Anyway, word of advice, read this at home with either a cold shower or a willing man nearby.

One thing I really enjoyed was the absence of (useless) drama in this book. I’m always a little ….wary let’s say when I get to the 65/70% mark in books because that’s usually when something goes wrong between the characters. I know in some books, sometimes it’s useful and helps the story, even makes it better sometimes, but it’s truly THE part in a book I dread. I hate this part even more when the issue is because of miscommunication or a character jumping to conclusions. I’ll admit, I got a little worried toward chapter 17 for reasons I won’t share in order to not spoil the suspense for anyone, but there was no need for that.
So yeah, I was really relieved and very happy to see that this story, is for the most part, drama free. I enjoyed this book even more because of it.

I think the cherry on top was the sneak peek at Falling Away (I am so grateful for that book!) at the end of Trashed. I can’t wait for January to be here so I can get my hands on it!

Leave a Reply

