RSS Feed

Lead (Stage Dive #3), by Kylie Scott

Lead______________________________________________

Stay up all night with the sexy rockers in Stage Dive, the epic New Adult series from New York Times bestselling author Kylie Scott, author of Lick and Play.

As the lead singer of Stage Dive, Jimmy is used to getting whatever he wants, whenever he wants it, whether it’s booze, drugs, or women. However, when a PR disaster serves as a wake-up call about his life and lands him in rehab, he finds himself with Lena, a new assistant to keep him out of trouble.  

Lena’s not willing to take any crap from the sexy rocker and is determined to keep their relationship completely professional, despite their sizzling chemistry. But when Jimmy pushes her too far and Lena leaves, he realizes that he may just have lost the best thing that ever happened to him.
______________________________________________

I seriously loved this book!

“I’d fallen for the unsuitable, unstable, and outright criminal assholes in the past, but I was done with that. Especially the asshole and the unstable portion. There’s no way I had feelings for him. I’d really grown as a person and shit, right?”

Jimmy’s story was one that had me curious to be honest. From what we see of him in the last two books, you know his character’s going to be interesting but I was worried I would have a problem with him. Turns out, I love Jimmy so much more now that I’ve read his story and gotten to know him better!

“He was usually such a maddening man, so thoughtless and rude. Anger, however, made my job easier. When he behaved like an ass I could remain indifferent for the most part. These dangerous new feelings running through me, however, were soft and sappy, warm and weepy. No way could I afford to care this much.”

I’m not sure everybody would feel that way about him though. Let’s face it, Jimmy can be an asshole when he wants to be. He is grumpy, emotionally limited and quite simply, he has issues. Lots of them. But what redeemed him in my eyes is that on top of all his flaws, the guy has a heart of gold and really cares for the people he loves. And what he went through in life explained why he acts like he does. I’m not saying that it excused everything he did, but I understood him and his actions.

“He turned being a caveman into an art form.” 

So yeah, I really liked Jimmy, bad mood and caveman/asshole-ish tendencies included.

“Now suddenly, his pain felt like my own, tearing up my insides, leaving me raw.”

This book is ….I wouldn’t say darker than the other books but it deals with more seriously matters than the others (death, grief, addiction, recovery, etc…). But Kylie Scott managed to keep the story quite light and humorous even with such themes.
I loved the prologue and first chapter of the book. The prologue really set the tone of the relationship Lena and Jimmy have. And I simply loved the connection they had together, how they just clicked even though they argue all the time, you just feel it, together, they work. And then there’s the first chapter that was so intense and also where is was very moving to see Jimmy like that so early on in the book, but in a way, it made him really likable to me and set a mood that I really liked for the rest of the book.

“You’re a bit of a smart ass. I like that.”

I loved Lena! I mean really loved her. I won’t try to say exactly why I loved her so much because it’s going to end up in a complete fan girl rant if I do. All you need to know is that she made me laugh a lot throughout the book, that I loved how good she was for Jimmy and I loved that she gave as good as she got when Jimmy was being an idiot. And she has such a big heart! I really loved her character and the connection she has with Jimmy, how she gets him and cares for him. And I freaking loved the banter! I was in banter heaven with this book and God knows I love good banter.

“He was my Romeo in black jeans and this story had just as much a chance of dying as tragic a death as the original.”

And boy, was it hot when they finally caved in and had sex! I mean holy hotness! I want a Jimmy too if he’s that good!

“My head spun, my senses reeling from overload. My sex had never been so spoiled.”

Of course, seeing the characters from the previous books was great! It was great to see their weird little family interacting. And with each book I read, I love Mal a little bit more.

“Interesting. I’m going to tell you what I told Killer at puppy training today when he tried to mount a teacup poodle he’d only just met. If she means something to you, you gotta do the woo, son. You can’t just be trying to stick it in.”

The plot is nothing exceptional but I seriously enjoyed myself reading Lead. I was sucked in by the story and the characters. I love this kind of stories and dynamic between the characters.

“Sometimes things that make the least sense are the most true. Such is the mystery of life.”

And now I can’t wait for Ben’s story in Deep! I just can’t believe we’ll have to wait until September 2015 to read it! That’s a bummer right there!

“The truth is, I’m all about you, Lena. You’re my best friend. You’re my girl.”

Leave a Reply

