RSS Feed

Nocte (The Nocte Trilogy #1), by Courtney Cole

Nocte______________________________________________

Save me and I’ll save you…

My name is Calla Price. I’m eighteen years old, and I’m one half of a whole.
My other half– my twin brother, my Finn– is crazy.

I love him. More than life, more than anything. And even though I’m terrified he’ll suck me down with him, no one can save him but me.

I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day. So I reach out for a lifeline.

Dare DuBray.

He’s my savior and my anti-Christ. His arms are where I feel safe, where I’m afraid, where I belong, where I’m lost. He will heal me, break me, love me and hate me.

He has the power to destroy me.

Maybe that’s ok. Because I can’t seem to save Finn and love Dare without everyone getting hurt.

Why? Because of a secret.

A secret I’m so busy trying to figure out, that I never see it coming.

You won’t either.

______________________________________________

“I’m doing all I can to stay afloat in a sea of insanity, but I’m drowning more and more each day.”

Well that’s going to be a fun one to review!

So I just finished Nocte and to be honest, now that I’m done, I’m a little all over the place. And if the fact that the none blurb and the whole mystery around it didn’t already make this book impossible to review, I’m having a sort of dilemma on how to rate it.

So because I’m nice and don’t want to bore you to death, I will spare you my rambling on should I or should I not rate a book on its twist only and cut right to the chase.

First things first (and to get this out of the way), the things that left me a little “meh” about the book when I was still completely clueless:

Calla: I grew to love her. At first I was intrigued with the dynamic between her and Finn. I actually enjoyed their relationship even though it wasn’t the healthiest.
But what I bothered me a little about her attitude in the book, is that for most of it, I felt like she was very passively living her life. I guess it’s more of a book problem than her character specifically, but since she is the narrator in most of the book, it felt like she wasn’t really active in what she did. It’s hard to explain but I felt like she was a really passive character for a good part of the book.
But as the book goes and the story unravels, I really started to feel for her and Finn and the Calla I had a hard time connecting with disappeared and I was able to relate to her. And by the end of the book, my heart truly broke for her and what she went through.

“because sometimes that’s how life is.  A puzzle made up of a million pieces, and when one piece doesn’t exactly fit, it throws the rest of them off.”

The Story: until I got to the twist, some things just didn’t work out. When I got to the twist of course it all made perfect sense why I had felt that way while reading, but I think some readers (and I only say some because clearly, there is a majority of people who had absolutely no problem reading it) might give up reading Nocte because of it, be it because a character feels off because of it or that you can’t really relate to something of someone in the book because of it. But it was a risk to take on the author’s part and if you keep on reading and don’t give up, you might end up thinking that Courtney Cole had the lady balls to take this risk.

Now what really didn’t leave me “meh” about the book:

THE FREAKING TWIST: OMG this was pure genius! I mean, how Courtney Cole thought of it I have no clue but her muse (and Courtney herself) is totally awesome for thinking of it! I figured it out at the last minute and when I did, first I was like: “F********************CK”. Then , when I got a little over the awe of it all, something wonderful happened: everything that didn’t make sense or that felt off before that moment finally made sense and it was like I could see the book in a completely different light. So brilliant! I’m telling you, this plot twist will smack you in the face!

The Cliffie: Yep, that’s right, the little satisfaction you get after figuring out one of the secrets in the book is really short lived because about three chapters later, the book end and the mother of all cliffhangers! Really, it was up there with The Cruelest and Most Brilliant Cliffhangers in Literature History, like the one at the end of Onyx and Night Howl. And the little, let’s say…bonus after you’ve turned the last page is like the proverbial cherry on top of the cake. All those things combined made me pre-oder 1-click the heck out of Verum when really, at some point, I doubted there was enough material to writes a second book.

I’m not going to go much into the details of this book or tell you more about the plot and characters (I’m thinking Dare here that I quite enjoyed), because then I would ruin the whole point of this book and also because it’s much better with books like this one to go into somewhat blind.

“Save me and I’ll save you…”

The thing is, this book is brilliant because of its twist and how original it is and because of the whole mystery around it. You couldn’t start to figure out what is happening if you tried until you do, and that’s at the very last minute. So that was brilliant. I don’t think I’ve read a book like this one ever and the twist was complete genius. So I’ll give it a 4/4,5 stars rating because there were moments when I was bothered with little details in the story before everything fell into place and made sense.
And for those who are still a little skittish about giving this book a chance, I’d tell you that if you don’t give up on the story and see it through, you won’t be disappointed with how the story turns out.

Leave a Reply

