RSS Feed

Undeniable (Undeniable #1), by Madeline Sheehan

Undeniable_________________________________________________________

Warning: This is not a typical love story. This is an all-consuming, soul-crushing, tear-your-heart-into-pieces story. It’s intense, gritty and raw, dark and disturbing, and it doesn’t happen overnight. This is an epic love story that knows no boundaries and has no time limits. It grows and develops—with hurt, sacrifice, and heartache—over the span of a lifetime.

Eva Fox is the princess of the Silver Demons Motorcycle Club. Growing up with bikers in the club lifestyle is all that she knows. When she’s a young girl, Eva meets the reason for her existence. Deuce West is the sexy, biker bad-ass of the Hell’s Horsemen Motorcycle Club. Like Eva, he was born and raised in the club—but that’s where the similarities end. Their first meeting is innocent, but as Eva matures into a woman, their chance reunions evolve into a fit of lust and love. Fate continues to bring them together time and time again, but their twisted journey is filled with pain, betrayal, and bloodshed that could tear them apart. Eva sees in Deuce what he cannot see in himself—a man worthy of love—and Eva spends her lifetime proving to him that her undeniable love is the one thing he can’t live without.

This is Eva and Deuce’s story.

It wasn’t easy.
Nothing worth doing ever is.
And love is worth everything.
_________________________________________________________

Arf! I have a really hard time rating and reviewing this book! I think I liked it. Yeah, I know, it’s a strange thing to say, but that’s the thing, in some aspects, I’m not sure I liked it.

“Not many chances a man has in his lifetime to do right, to earn the love of a good woman, and to get a taste of true freedom. And babe, for me, you’re all f*ckin’ three. Have been for a good while now.”

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed reading this book. I had a craving for a biker story when I picked this book and it was sitting on my TBR shelf for some time now.

The story was gripping, I read it in two sittings and the characters grew on me. Well I often felt like hitting them upside the head and they have a LOT of flaws but I did liked them.

“I had just hit rock bottom, and I didn’t care. In fact, I didn’t give a shit about anything at all.”

But there were some things that were really wrong. And I don’t mean in the book itself but in what happened in it, in the characters’ actions, and I’m still debating if I’m alright with it or not.

So I guess it is the kind of book that is challenging for the reader, as it will make you like and even maybe love characters that are flawed. And by flawed I mean murderers, cheaters, whores and the likes. And some of the things that happened to the characters were really fucking crazy. Well actually, I think that it was the characters’ reactions to those crazy things happening that really bothered me. And I get that it fits the book and the world it is about but some of the things that happened in it, even though most of them felt real enough, some of them seemed or felt a little too much to me. I mean more than once I had to stop reading and shout “WHAT THE FUCK!?!?” to my kindle because things were just freaking messed up. The level of twisted in this book is really exceptional! Total mind fuck! It probably doesn’t make much sense if you haven’t read the book but I don’t want to give examples because I think it would spoil the story.

“He wasn’t Deuce, badass biker, and I wasn’t Eva, his rival badass biker’s daughter. He was a dangerously beautiful man, I was a woman he wanted, and it was so fucking beautiful. I wanted to freeze time and say in this moment with him forever-touching, fucking, and loving.”

I really loved Deuce and Eva’s relationship and how it grew, how they always were drawn to each other no matter how wrong it was for them to be together.

“Spent too much time married to a bitch I couldn’t stand and too much time beatin’ myself up for wishin’ I was balls deep in a bitch eighteen years younger than me. Add that shit together and that equals me being fuckin’ miserable for a long fuckin’ time. So yeh, I can’t do this anymore. Can’t fuckin’ live without you. Want you on my bike and in my bed. Want my kids inside you. Want you by my side, babe, for as long as I got left.”

One thing in the book that really bothered me (aside from freaking Frankie of course – what a sick sick fuck this man!) was the language. Again, I get that the theme of the book allows it and I am not usually bothered by that but I think there wasn’t a page without the word “fuck” or a variation of it in it. It was to the point where I had to re-read sentences to actually get the meaning of it, there was so many “fuck” in it! And I’m not one to be offended or bothered by swearing in books. I mean , even I can have the vocabulary of a sailor at times but here, even I noticed it.

But beside the language issue, I really enjoyed this book. It was gritty, raw, deeply emotional and for the most part it felt very real. I don’t think this book is for everyone. The most sensitive souls should probably stir clear of it. But I would definitely recommend it and tell to those who enjoy the kind of books that leave you in two minds or at least that challenge the reader to read it, because this book is the kind of book that will make you feel sympathy (and even affection) for the bad guys.

“We got through it. Together. It didn’t happen overnight, and it wasn’t easy.
Nothing worth doing ever is.
And love is worth everything.”

Leave a Reply

