RSS Feed

Reaper’s Legacy (Reapers MC #2), by Joanna Wylde

Reaper's Legacy_______________________________________________________

Reaper’s Legacy is a raw and intensely erotic tale in Joanna Wylde’s Reapers Motorcycle Club series.

Eight years ago, Sophie gave her heart-and her virginity-to Zach Barrett on a night that couldn’t have been less romantic or more embarrassing. Zach’s step-brother, a steely-muscled, tattooed biker named Ruger, caught them in the act, getting a peep show of Sophie he’s never forgotten.

She may have lost her dignity that fateful night, but Sophie also gained something precious-her son Noah. Unfortunately, Zach’s a deadbeat dad, leaving Ruger to be Noah’s only male role model. When he discovers Sophie and his nephew living in near poverty, Ruger takes matters into his own hands-with the help of the Reapers Motorcycle Club-to give them a better life.

Living with outlaw bikers wasn’t Sophie’s plan for her son, but Ruger isn’t giving her a choice. He’ll be there for Noah, whether she wants him or not. But Sophie does want him, has always wanted him. Now she’ll learn that taking a biker to bed can get a girl dirty in every way.
_______________________________________________________

 If my memory is correct, Joanna Wylde’s story Reaper’s Property was my very first biker story. And let’s just say that she made an addict out of me. Reaper’s Legacy is the second book in this series and I loved it just as much as the first book even though the mood was quite different.

I was really excited to read another book by Joanna Wylde in the world of bikers. In her last book, she’d made me laugh to tears with Horse’s antics and the dynamic between him and Marie. In this book though, our new couple is quite different.

Sophie is a young, single mother to Noah, who is five. The father of her child, Zach, is an abusive, controlling a**hole, an she found a way to get herself and her son as far away from him as she could. But even though she is quite decided about making it on her own, she can’t get rid of Ruger, her ex’s brother. Now, Ruger is quite different from Zach. He is huge, tattooed and scary but hell bent on being a good male model to Noah, and so, even though Ruger and Sophie don’t see eye to eye, they tolerate each other. Barely. But soon, because of a little situation that occurred a night while Sophie was at work, Ruger decides it’s time to get Noah and Sophie in a place where he can make sure they are safe.But of course, that’s when things get interesting!

“Ruger was over six feet tall, roped with muscle and annoyingly handsome in an I’m-probably-a-murderer-but-I’ve-got-dimples-and-a-tight-ass-so-you’ll-still-lust-after-me kind of way.”

I don’t know if you’ve read many MC books, but there is definitely something addictive about them. Be it the universe most of us will never truly live in, the forbidden and secret side they have that intrigues and fascinates us, or quite simply those sinful the bad boy that make out mouths water, but personally, I can’t get enough. And Reaper’s Legacy was no exception.

“I think you’re a raging asshole.”
Ruger laughed.
“Yeah, well I think you’re a bitch, but my cock likes you, so we’ll figure something out.”

Sophie was a great character. She was really brave and never took shit from Ruger even though it was hard. She really hasn’t had an easy life and she tries really hard to make a life for herself and her son but because of circumstances out of her control, she’s not quite managing to do so on her own. I liked that she stood up to Ruger when she could and on subjects that mattered. Her character really had to choose her battles with Ruger and be the wiser person in their relationship since he is quite pigheaded. I liked that she told Ruger no on some things and told him what her rules where and did not relent until he manned up. And like I said it wasn’t easy. Ruger is a controlling, intimidating yet lovable a**hole. With quite a dirty mouth on himself.

“Jesus, you piss me off,” he murmured. “Good thing your cunt’s so fucking hot.”
“Don’t call it that.”
His lip twitched.
“Good thing your vagina’s so gosh-darned hot,” he whispered. “Because I really, really want to stick my penis in it and have repeated sexual intercourse, bringing us to a mutually satisfactory culmination of our desires. How’s that sound?”
“Almost dirtier.”

Now Ruger. Gosh I loved him even though he was such an amazing pain in the bum at times! But the fact that he has a big heart and an even bigger hum……yeah let’s not get there. But seriously, the man is sex on legs! He is super arrogant, sexy, controlling, loyal, possessive and self-assured. He is also a man-whole, quite the alpha-male, dirty-mouthed but but just in the right way and he is a what-you-see-is-what-you-get kind of guy. Quite simply, even though he’s a stubborn a**hole, he’s also quite lovable. Oh, and add to this that on top of all those tattoos he has, he’s also pierced in some quite interesting places….just sayin’ 😉

“The man was like heroin – seductive, addictive, and a damned good way to wake up dead.”

You probably know this by now, but I’m a sucker for sexual tension between the characters of the books I read. Well, Ruger and Sophie have enough of it to start a fire! The chemistry between them is freaking fantastic and a couple of the scenes between Sophie and Ruger had me fanning myself and seriously considering taking a cold shower! This book had really all the elements that I needed to make me like it:

  • serious sexual tension between the hero and heroine: Check!
  • crazy chemistry: Check!
  • a hero with a dirty mind and an even dirtier mouth: Double Check!!

Yeah, I’m sold!

“I want all kinds of things. First I want to tie you up in my bed with my belt. Then I want to cut off your clothes and fuck you in every hole you have. I also want to come on you and rub it into your skin and lick your pussy until you scream at me to stop because if you come one more time you’ll die. Then I want to do it again. I want to own you, Sophie.”

The two of them don’t hold anything back and have a way to rile each other up in no time. Sophie isn’t too scared to go toe to toe with Ruger and say what she thinks and feel. And thank God for that, because she’d have gone crazy with everything she feels when she is around him. Plus, it was quite funny to see them get on each other’s nerves.

What I love about those biker stories, is to see the big bad biker fall hard for the heroine. And I thoroughly loved seeing Ruger fall for Sophie. Or really, I thoroughly loved seeing him realize that he had fallen in love with Sophie all this time. Like I said before, Ruger has a big heart but it takes him time to own up to his feelings for Sophie, but it was even sweeter to see him man up and claim her, even though it took him some years to finally grow a pair and do so. Of course, don’t expect sweet words of love from him ’cause you’ll be disappointed. But I thought it was just as good done the biker way.

“My cock gets hard just thinkin’ about you. You’re in my dreams every night. I wake up in the morning and all I think about is you in my house, you and Noah finally mine. My family. It’s even better than ridin’ my bike. I’m crazy for you, Soph.”

But this story isn’t just asexual tension filled biker romance. There is actually a nice little bit of action in it, within the bikers’ universe as well as with Sophie’s past. The book starts with a very good example of the kind of things we easily imagine bikers do and as the story goes, we meet other bas-ass bikers and trigger-happy baddies. Honors are defended, alliances are made and revenges are being planned but that’s kind of what we like about these books. Reaper’s Legacy will keep you on your toes and make you want to start reading the next book as soon as possible!

“Nothing says “commitment” like accessory to murder.”

I loved this ending to this book. I love having a glimpse at my heroes lives years after the events of the book are over and the one to Ruger and Sophie’s story was perfect if just a little short for my greedy taste. There is no cliffhanger for this book but you’ll still want to get your hands on book #3 as soon as you finish Reaper’s Legacy. I won’t say what or which characters the next book involves, just that I’m looking forward to get to know a little better the Reaper’s sworn enemies. 

This book felt quite realistic to me. Of course, I don’t know anything about MC’s and bikers in real life except what I’ve seen in Sons Of Anarchy and what I’ve read in books, but I liked that Joanna Wylde took the time to tell us that she wrote those books with more than simply her imagination and that she based them on real information and that her books, or at least this one, was reviewed by a person who knows what she’s talking about. It made this book and what is said about MC’s and bikers even more believable and it also made it easier to believe in the characters, the reasons why they do what they do, and their relationships.

I started my career in journalism and researched outlaw motorcycle club culture extensively for my stories. This included talking to people in club life, many of whom answered questions for me throughout the writing process. The Reaper’s Legacy manuscript was reviewed and corrected by a woman attached to an outlaw MC.

We really got to be in Sophie’s shoes because of it since she doesn’t know or get at first anything about the MC life, the difference between MC’s, and what it means to be a biker and an old lady.

“When a man takes a woman as his property, it’s not about owning her,” he continues, eyes searching my face. “It’s about trusting her. This is my life I’m handing you, Sophie. Not just my life – my brothers’ lives, too. It means I’m responsible for everything you do. You fuck up, I’ll pay. You need help, we’re there. “

I loved this book and recommend it to all lovers of bikers stories. I read this book in a day and started Devil’s Game right after I finished Reaper’s Legacy. I simply can’t get enough of Joanna Wylde’s Reapers MC series!

Leave a Reply

