RSS Feed

Voyeur Extraordinaire, by Cora Reilly

Voyeur Extraordinaire______________________________________________________

Living in a dank one room apartment and working as a waitress in a shabby bar, Nora didn’t think her life could get any worse. But that’s before sexy-as-hell Adrian Black moves into the apartment across from her bedroom window and she’s caught spying on him having sex. Now he has set his eyes on her.

Not falling prey to his panty-dropping smiles proves to be a challenge Nora isn’t sure she’s ready for – especially since the most action she ever had are the butt slaps from leery customers at work.

An encounter with Adrian involving a healthy dose of pent-up tension and too much alcohol leads to an awkward night that none of them will likely forget. But it’s only the beginning…

“Every night I take out my binoculars, point them at the window of my neighbor Adrian Black and watch him banging a new girl, and every night I wish the girl was me. Where the hell is a shooting star when you need one?

______________________________________________________

**ARC courtesy of author in exchange for an honest review**

I was in a good mood when I started this book. I had read another one in the same theme by one of my favorite authors, and so I was looking forward to read something along the same lines.

And, to be honest, the beginning was what I expected. A curious heroine who stumble upon her neighbor having sex, ends up sort of obsessed about watching him and develops a crush on said neighbor. And I liked it like that right to the moment our heroine gets caught, because let’s face it, that’s precisely what we want to happen.

But then we do meet the neighbor, Adrian Black, and from there, things started to go in a direction that I didn’t really like, and those are the two things that bothered me in the book:

See, Nora, our heroine, is a virgin and sort of has a bad record with guys. So when she first starts observing Adrian, she experiences some sort of sexual awakening and really, this is all well and good, but Nora turned out to be a little bit naïve and instead of coming to terms with what her sexy neighbor is: a man slut who takes to bed a different woman every night, she started wishing he would turn out to be someone else, someone who would offer her more than a simple one night stand.

So from the moment they meet I sort of had a bad feeling about where this was going. And I was right to be worried because, even though she knew Adrian acted with her just like he did with all the other women he’s slept with, Nora pretended and wished that maybe, this time would be different…..and then got slapped in the face when it wasn’t. I won’t say what happens, but at this point, both characters irritated me for different reasons. Nora, because I wanted her to open her freaking eyes and not act like a naïve little girl because it was bound to make her suffer in the end, and Adrian because, well he could have been a little bit more considerate with Nora.

The other thing that bothered me was the whole sub plot to the book. Not that it was a bad idea, far from that, but I think it could have been better woven through the book, instead of piecing all the pieces in one chapter only. Those are the remarks I have about the book.

What I really liked, was the whole voyeurism thing going on on Nora’s end. I loved the moment she got caught too. I had a big ole smile on my face and I loved how Adrian reacted. And let me tell you, the last chapter was HOT! Holy steam I wanted to be in Nora’s shoes and be “convinced” by Adrian too.

I also like Nora’s best friend Amy and her boyfriend, Jared. Just like Nora does, I kind of envied their situation and their love for each other. And you get why a girl like Nora would want the same thing for herself.

So all in all, I liked this book. It’s a quick and easy read, and you want to know what happens next, even though the plot and how it enfolds feels a little bit awkward. It’s nothing major because it doesn’t keep you from reading though. The ending sort of surprised me because I wasn’t expecting the book to end like this and so soon, but it made me curious about how things are going to turn out for Nora and Adrian.

Sorry for the lack of quotes, the format I had for this book wasn’t the one I usually have so I didn’t underline anything while reading.

If you want to pre-order Voyeur Extraordinaire then click HERE

Leave a Reply

