RSS Feed

Three Years (Gypsy Brothers #5), by Lili St. Germain

Three Years

_____________________________________________________

**Please note this book is a dark romance and deals with serious themes.*

Every day for six years, I used to pray that I would find my way back to the boy I loved.

Until finally, one day, I did.

But that’s the funny thing about life. Nothing good ever lasts, not for me, anyway. You think you’re the one with the power, at least I did, but then I got careless. One tiny mistake, and now I am powerless to stop what comes next.

People think money equals power, but all the money in my bank account, the dirty notes laundered clean that my father left for me, are useless.

Money does not equal power. Power is held by the one with the knife in his hand, tracing shallow cuts into your skin.

Power is held by the one who owns you.

I had power once.

Now, I have nothing.

*Part five in a seven part series*

_____________________________________________________

“I’m smarter than you, better than you, more DEPRAVED that you, little girl. You ventured into my playground and now I’ve got you in my web.”

HOLY. FREAKING. MINDFUCK!!!!…………………..I think it sums up this book pretty well.

“I know you think this is going to be bad, but however bad you think this is going to be? Its going to be so. Much. Worse.”

I keep saying this every time I review a book in this serie but I’ll say it especially for this one: this book is NOT for the squeamish. It will fuck with your heart, your mind and your sleep until you are a mess, rocking in the corner of your room. At least, that’s what it did to me. And I’m no squeamish girl usually.

“I’ve got nothing left inside. I don’t want to fight anymore. I don’t want revenge. I just want to die.”

Even though I’m totally addicted to this serie and always pinning for the next book to come out, it took me some time to gather the courage to sit down and read this book because I knew I was in for some serious fuckery. And, boy, was I right. It starts right away, and it doesn’t. stop. EVER!

“I might be a monster, baby girl, but if I’m a monster, then so are you.”

Three Years is filled with a lot of pain and depravity, and it has enough twists and turns to make you lose your ever loving mind. The ending will, once more, knock you on your bum, and even though it wasn’t as horrible a cliffhanger as in Four Score, it is pretty damn horrible. We learn some shocking truth in the process. Like I said, a total mindfuck.

“I told you you’d die for taking my sons from me,’ he whispers, leaning in close and nibbling at my earlobe. “I never said you’d stay dead. That’s much too kind.”

I though before that I had seen pretty much everything when it came to Dornan’s psychotic, demented and depraved behavior, but I was sorely mistaken because with this book, we enter a new circle of hell. Lili St. Germain is an evil genius when it comes to her writing and storytelling, but man, she messed with my head with Three Years.

“Do you think we’re born like this? A knife in one hand, a gun in the other? It’s life, baby girl. Life happened to me just as surely as it happened to you.”

I will keep this short because at this point in the serie, too much details would spoil the fun for you, but if you have read the other books in the serie and are still hanging in there, then you are in for a treat with this book. It is filled with action and suspense, it is fast-paced and you never know what is coming next. You will gasp in shock, cover your mouth with horror at some of the stuff happening in the book and wonder how Juliette survived such hell for so long.

“Now I know there is something worse than death. This.”

The end was at the same time satisfying and frustrating and now I’m looking forward (and with a little more hope this time) to September 28th to read Two Roads, book #6 in the serie.

Leave a Reply

