RSS Feed

Obsession (An Arum Novel), by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsession

________________________________________________________

This is a stand alone novel that is an adult spin-off of the Lux Series You do not need to read a Lux book to read Obsession and vice versa.

He’s arrogant, domineering, and… To. Die. For.

Hunter is a ruthless killer. And the Department of Defense has him firmly in their grasp, which usually doesn’t chafe too badly because he gets to kill bad guys. Most of the time he enjoys his job. That is, until he’s saddled with something he’s never had to do before: protect a human from his mortal enemy.

Serena Cross didn’t believe her best friend when she claimed to have seen the son of a powerful senator turn into something… unnatural. Who would? But then she witnesses her friend’s murder at the hands of what can only be an alien, thrusting her into a world that will kill to protect their secret.

Hunter stirs Serena’s temper and her lust despite their differences. Soon he’s doing the unthinkable—breaking the rules he’s lived by, going against the government to keep Serena safe. But are the aliens and the government the biggest threats to Serena’s life… or is it Hunter?________________________________________________________

“Well, the good guys really weren’t typical. They really weren’t the good guys at all, but if I discovered anything, there was no such thing as white and black. There was a lot of gray in the middle.”

I think it’s obvious by now that I loved the Lux Series. So when I found out about Obsession, an Arum novel, I was super exited to start reading it because I was curious too see things from the “enemy’s” perspective. And also because I was curious to see this story unfold with a little bit more spice than was the Lux series 😀

So, if you didn’t know yet, the Arum are the natural enemy of the Luxen. They are the only creature capable of fighting with the Luxen and win the fight. And they do so by eating the Luxen’s life for or what they call the Source.

“That’s an alien. I’m an alien. We’re aliens. Aliens everywhere, actually, which is why we have to leave. I´m sure someone called the police by now.”

If like me you’ve read the Lux Serie before Obsession, you probably had a little hard time changing the way you though about them. Even though we meet Hunter and Serena briefly in Opal and Opposition, we still see the Arum as the bad guys. And, well Hunter doesn’t really behaves like an angel either. But the magic of words and story telling strikes again with this book because as you read, you can’t help but fall for the brute that is Hunter and his dark but caring heart.

“Never in my life had I been more frustrated. Go figure it wouldn’t be with a human but a freaking alien. At least I now knew that the male species were asses no matter what planet they hailed from.”

I really enjoyed reading about Hunter and Serena. I liked Serena’s character really fast. She’s nothing like Katy, except when she gets into Hunter’s face when he’s being a jackass. And well, like I said, Hunter does his best to show her his bad side. But he does it in a way that made me smile a lot because I love reading about stubborn characters that get on each other’s nerves and eventually give in to the sexual tension that is a result of all the bickering.

“Shit. Next I’ll hold her hand and start talking about butterflies and rainbows. Fuck me.”

“Somehow, in the relatively short time I’d known Serena, she had wiggled her way into my cold body. She was my light, my warmth, and I wasn’t ready to let her go.”

And I loved that Serena loved Hunter for everything that he was. Okay, the scared her a little once or twice and was actually capable of killing her without really wanting to, but she never pushed him away when he was in his true form, or when he was being stubborn about his feelings for her or down right scary when he lost control of himself.

“Serena hadn’t backed away or hesitated. She accepted me, all of me. She always had.”

She was always loving and accepting with him and also very courageous. And I loved seeing Hunter all out of sorts when he finds out that he does actually have a heart that is able to feel real feelings for a human.

“Are you done acting like a psychotic, cracked-out Muppet baby?” he asked, and I could tell by the way his fingers spasmed around my wrists, he really wanted to shake me. “Or do you need a couple more moments to return to sanity? I have all day. And you actually feel kind of good under me, so take your time.”

And, of course, I liked that this book had more steamy descriptions and scenes than the Lux Series. The Lux books have plenty of sexual tension, don’t get me wrong and I loved every bit of the intimate moments between Daemon and Katy. But this book is intended for mature readers and well, it shows. And it show very very well 😉 Before starting the book I read a review that said the book had a little too much sex scenes in it and that that Hunter and Serena basically go at it all the time. Turns out not so much. Yes, there are sex scenes, but I though it was well balanced with the rest of the book and you actually have a story besides all the sex scenes. So, personally, I was satisfied with the amount of steam in the book. Might have asked for more actually 😉

“I stared at him in disbelief and sputtered, “You can’t – Get off!”
One single brown arched up. “I can’t get off? Oh, I most definitely can get off.”

It was interesting to see this side of the Luxen and the Arum too. We knew some of the Luxen were arrogant thanks to Daemon, but here, were realize that Daemon and his friends and family were normal Luxen, minding their own business and wanting to life a quiet life. Nothing like the Luxen we deal with in this book that are obsessed with world domination over the humans and any living species. It was really interesting to see this side of things thanks to Serena and Hunter. And just the fact that an Arum, that we thought only cared about killing Luxen and being bad in general, was able to care and love a human, even though it’s not normally in their nature, really opened my eyes to the whole Lux serie too. The story the Hunter tells Serena about his sister was especially moving, and you realize that what he went through and his anger against Luxen is somewhat similar to Daemon’s when he first found out about Dawson being “dead”.

Luxen: “Your arrogance is rooted in stupidity.”
Hunter: “And your lifespan is getting shorter by the second.”

I got also really mad on Hunter’s behalf (yes, I kid you not) when I realized that the Arum were treated like an inferior species by both the human working for the bloody DOD and the Luxen. It was a strange thing to feel, because in a way, because of Daemon and his crew, I had this notion that Luxen weren’t that bad, well, except when the crazy ones decide to invade Earth and dominate mankind, that is. So, this book really served as an eye opener here because you realize that as a reader, you also considered the Arum as an unredeemable enemy when in truth, some of them are actual good guys.

“It wasn’t about the age-old battle of Arum versus Luxen. I wasn’t fighting to feed or to work off aggression. I wasn’t fighting because I was told or was obligated.
I was fighting for Serena.
She meant everything to me.”

Leave a Reply

