RSS Feed

Origin (Lux #4), by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Origin

________________________________________________________

Daemon will do anything to get Katy back.

After the successful but disastrous raid on Mount Weather, he’s facing the impossible. Katy is gone. Taken. Everything becomes about finding her. Taking out anyone who stands in his way? Done. Burning down the whole world to save her? Gladly. Exposing his alien race to the world? With pleasure.

All Katy can do is survive.

Surrounded by enemies, the only way she can come out of this is to adapt. After all, there are sides of Daedalus that don’t seem entirely crazy, but the group’s goals are frightening and the truths they speak even more disturbing. Who are the real bad guys? Daedalus? Mankind? Or the Luxen?

Together, they can face anything.

But the most dangerous foe has been there all along, and when the truths are exposed and the lies come crumbling down, which side will Daemon and Katy be standing on?

And will they even be together?

________________________________________________________

“Well then, it’s time to introduce the world to a little bit of extraterrestrial awesomeness.”

Like I said when I reviewed Opal, it get harder and harder to do in-depth reviews of the book of the serie as I read them because the plot is so thick that doing so would spoil the whole book for you. So I’ll keep it short because it’s no fun for you to know to much at this point. It’s frustrating really because this book like the last one (and I have a feeling Opposition will be no exception) is full of action and there is so much stuff happening!

“Things went from bad to craptastic in a matter of seconds.”

Good Lord this book was intense. I swear this serie will ruin me for the other out there. I mean, Jennifer really put everything that is good in this serie and made it awesome. Opal hinted at it, but Origin really represents a turning point in the serie. Well leave behind West Virginia and get sucked into something that neither Katy nor Daemon expected I think. This book was amazing. After the ending of Opal, Origin starts in the thick of it and and the story keeps its fast-paced rhythm. This book is especially action-packed compared to the previous books, so if you’ve read them, then it gives you an idea of how things go.

“I want a year’s worth of seconds and minutes with you. I want a decade’s worth of hours, so many that I can’t add them up.”

As with the other book titles, I loved discovering the meaning behind Origin. And I loved meeting the new characters like Archer and getting to know more about Luc that we met in Opal. But I really liked that throughout all this action and suspense and nerve wrecking tension, there were sweet, tender moments between Daemon and Kat. My heart was in my throat during the first part of the book because of their situation and when things “got better”, I could breathe more easily just knowing they had each other to lean on again. It was great to have the dual POV for this book because even if I love Katy’s voice, being into Daemon’s head is a great place to be. And seeing just how much he loves Kat and how deep his love for her runs was amazing. That, was a total bonus with this book.

“Staring down at Kat, I fell for her all over again. Lost my heart when she smiled.”

Again, this book was a roller-coaster of emotions. Between the action moments, the down right disgusting and revolting ones, the really beautiful and sweet moments between Daemon and Kat, the good surprises they get and the really really bad and heart wrenching ones, my emotions were all over the place when I reached the end and then I was smacked in the face with yet again a freaking cliffhanger that leaves you screaming at your Kindle in frustration and agony.

Oh shit. ET so phoned home, kids.

I loved every line of this book down to the last comma! I keep saying this but this serie gets better and better as it goes and I really think I’ll need rehab when I reach the end of it so I can function normally again. Jennifer proved to be a literary genius with this serie!

“Yeah, it was going to be ….epic.”

Leave a Reply

