RSS Feed

Onyx (Lux #2), by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Onyx

__________________________________________________________

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…

__________________________________________________________

“Resistance is futile, Kitten.” 
“So is your charm.” 
“We’ll see.”

I think I’m officially in love with this serie. I think I said it before, but I’ll say it again, Jennifer L. Armentrout is a very talented writer and she did an amazing job with the Lux serie. I had a blast reading Obsidian and have been “binge reading” on this serie since I started it.

In Onyx, we are once again sucked into the lives of Katy and her hot albeit slightly infuriating alien neighbors, Daemon, and things get tricky for them as the story goes. Onyx is a little darker than Obsidian was but just as good. We find again all the things that made Obsidian so good and top it of with a lot of suspense and revelations that suck you even deeper into the universe of Lux.

“Kat tipped her head back, meeting my stare. Her throat worked on her next words. “I think I might love you.”
Air punched out of my lungs. I held her tight, and I knew right then I would burn down the whole universe for her if I had to. I would do anything to keep her safe. Kill. Heal. Die. Anything. Because she was my everything.”

With this book, as we go deeper into Daemon and Katy’s relationship, we also go deeper into the mysteries surrounding the Luxen and their enemies. In Obsidian, we got to know about the Arum, which subsequently led to Daemon healing Katy and unknowingly linking them together. Well in this book we get more acquainted with the DOD (Department of Defense) and in a way, they are worse than the Arum when it comes to Daemon, his family and Katy’s future. And if the DOD wasn’t enough of a problem, add to that the knew guy at school who might not be as innocent as he seems to be. This book was sort of a wake up call for Katy. She goes through a lot of changes and little by little realizes that the life she knew, and the Katy she is, will have to change in order for her to survive.

“That’s the funny thing about trying to escape. You never really can. Maybe temporarily, but not completely.”

I though Katy was very brave in this book considering everything that has and is happening to her. But as she tries to keep up with everything that changes, she makes mistakes and things get a little nasty. I thought, once again, that everything that happens in this book was very believable. As things happen and revelations are made, I felt like the ground was vanishing under my feet and I was way in over my head. You really feel like you can’t really trust anyone anymore (except Daemon and the character’s already present in book #1) and as Katy makes mistakes and learns the truth about some people, your heart breaks for her, and you have this feeling that you have to second guess everything and everyone that comes near you.

I also loved that we get to know a little bit more about Daemon’s brother and what happened to him and his girlfriend. In Onyx, thanks to what Daemon did to Katy and other things, we get to know more about what really happened to Dawson and Beth and as a consequence, we get even deeper into the story.

“I always liked you. From the moment you first flipped me off.”

“Oh, I still want to strangle you. But I’m insane. You’re crazy. Maybe that’s why. We just make crazy together.”

But even though Onyx is darker than Obsidian was, the book still has this “light” and funny/sweet quality to it because of Katy and Daemon’s relationship. Oh and how I loved how things go between them! The sexual tension that was present in Obsidian is just as present in Onyx. And so is the witty banter between Daemon and Katy. I loved that this aspect of their relationship stayed in this book too because God know I love it! And I love Katy’s voice in the book. She is still this book obsessed girl and I loved all the things she said about book lover that only book lovers can relate to, such as “Dogeared pages were Antichrist of book lovers everywhere.” or “Your mail could’ve waited.” Daemon followed me into the kitchen. “What is it? Just books?” Grabbing the OJ from the fridge, I sighed. People who didn’t heart books didn’t understand.“. And I mean, how can you not love her when her vocab includes words such as “craptastic” and “dickdom” and the likes. Even if I bit my nails through half the book, I was laughing and swooning throughout the other half because of Katy and Daemon!

Daemon appeared in front of me, eyes narrowed. He thumped his hand off his chest, directly above his heart. “Because I know what I feel in here. And I’m not the type of person to run from anything, no matter how hard it is. I’d rather face-plant against a brick wall than live for the rest of my life wondering what could’ve been. And you know what? I don’t think you were the type to run either. Maybe I was wrong”

In Obsidian, Daemon was a very prickly characters even though we know that under all those thorns he’s a softie at heart. Well, in Onyx, we get to see more of his soft side and I, for one, wished to be in Katy’s shoes to have the pleasure to have him “put the move” on me. I loved seeing the two of them banter and argue during this book. Daemon is still arrogant and sure of himself, he’s also a big flirt but he’s also very sweet with Katy even though they still get on each other’s nerves. Daemon was relentless in his pursuit of Katy and  I loved him for it. Between the treats he gets her (the cookie scene still makes me giggle like crazy), the encounters in the school library and all the times he was just being himself with her and let her see who he really is, I think I swooned for half the book. I’m not sure Daemon could do any wrong in my book at this point.

“Cookie?” he offered, holding a cookie full of chocolate chips.
Upset tummy or not, there was no way I could refuse that. “Sure.”
His lips tipped up one side and he leaned toward me, his mouth inches from mine. “Come and get it.”
Come and get…? Daemon placed half the cookie between those full, totally kissable lips.
Oh, holy alien babies everywhere…”

Katy I loved just as much as in Obsidian, even though I wanted her to cave and admit to herself and Daemon that she has feelings for him. Now, I get why she made it difficult for him. One second he seems to not be able to stand her and the next, the two of them are “physically” linked to each other and he’s all “let’s be together now”. So I get that even though she obviously wants it, she’s not really thrilled to have him offer her to be in a relationship the moment they are connected to each other. So the fact that Daemon is a relentless bugger was a good thing here and I loved that he made good on his promise to not give up on her, even when Katy had her head up her bum.

“If there is anything, there is us. You and me. No one else.”

When you read this book, you know that what Daemon and Katy have is something strong and sincere and you know that things are going to be intense between them but also that their relationship will be their compass in the mess that in coming their way.

“Say it.”
“Say what?”
“Tell me what you told me earlier.”
“I love you.”
“That’s all I ever need to hear.”
“Those three words?”
“Always those three words.”

I really enjoyed Onyx. It was a great sequel to Obsidian, full of mysteries, lies, revelations, suspense, grief too, but also full of funny, sweet and heart warming moments. I can’t wait to start Opal now and et even deeper into Daemon and Katy’s world.

“What are we going to do kitten?”
My toes curled at the deep octave of his voice. “I don’t know.”
“I have a few ideas.”
I cracked a grin. “I’m sure you do.”
“Wanna hear about them? Although, I’m much better at the show part rather than the tell.”
“Somehow, I believe you.”
“If you didn’t, I could always give you a teaser.” He paused, and I could hear the smile in his voice. “You bookish people love teasers, don’t you?”

Leave a Reply

