RSS Feed

Obsidian (Lux #1), by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian

__________________________________________________________

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is

__________________________________________________________

Thanks to a new friend on Goodreads, this week I found out about a new to me YA serie and I am loving it so far.

I had seen the cover of Obsidian around on the website but had never really paid attention before. I was very briefly into vampire stories due to Twilight and then dove into fallen angel stories that I much preferred, to finally leave behind the paranormal YA for contemporary romance. This year, I “relapsed” with Red Hill by Jamie McGuire and the Experiment In Terror serie by Karina Halle that I loved.

So when I was first told about the Lux serie, I wasn’t really in a hurry to start it because my paranormal phase was gone for a while now. And then, on a night when I was asking myself this existential question that all book lovers ask themselves at one point or another: “What can I read next?”

Long story short, I started Obsidian…..and a night later I finished it. Yeah, it was that good. I’ve read NA books by Jennifer L. Armentrout and loved them too and I was glad to find in Obsidian this little something that I loved so much in her writing while reading the Wait For You serie.

“Will you show me what you really look like? You don’t sparkle, do you?”

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t sure this book was going to be my thing. Like I said, I’m a little picky when it comes to my paranormal reading and besides weird creatures, fallen angels and zombies, there isn’t many other creatures I enjoy reading about. And I thought aliens weren’t going to be my thing. Boy I was wrong! I LOVE ALIENS!!! Well, I loved Daemon really. I honestly wasn’t expecting a YA book to have so much sexual tension in it, but I was soo glad to find it here between Daemon **swoon** and Katy.

“My palms itched to have a close encounter of the bitch-slap kind with his face.”

Speaking of, I loved her. She was a great character. She’s funny and she has some serious backbone, which is needed when you have a neighbor like Daemon. I liked that she never took shit from him and I loved the banter between them. Also, I could relate to Katy so easily! Not about the whole my-neighbors-are-aliens thing obviously, but the girl is a complete bookaholic and she writes reviews for her blog. I kid you not. I think it’s the first time I have such a crush on a heroine.

“Beautiful face. Beautiful body. Horrible attitude. It was the holy trinity of hot boys.”

Katy and Daemon’s first conversation/encounter had me hooked and I was so eager to keep reading about them because I love this kind of dynamic between characters. So basically, I fell in love with the book and its characters from chapter one. The story in fast-paced, the dialogues are catchy and funny and the dynamic between the characters was just great. I laughed a lot and was giddy for no reason just reading the exchanges between Katy and Daemon but also because of the other characters.

“Oh, yeah.” Carissa nodded. “They were googley-eyed in class on Friday. It was pretty steamy, the whole ‘I’m screwing you with my eyes’ thing they had going on.” I choked on my drink.“That was not what we were doing. We were talking!”

There is nothing huge that happens in this book in terms of action, even though there is plenty of it for my taste, but the humor, the banter, the characters, the engaging storyline and just the fact that our supernatural creatures are aliens made this book stand out and totally sucked me in and made me want for more the moment I finished the book. Oh and let’s not forget the unresolved sexual tension! This part was sooo gooooooood! **fan-self**. Also, I liked that the book kept this light quality to it even though it hinted at more mystery to come.

“Aliens—if they exist—are little green men with big eyes and spindly arms or…or giant insects or something like a lumpy little creature.” Daemon let out a loud laugh. “ET?”
“Yes! Like ET, asshole. I’m so glad you find this funny.”

I also liked that the story felt like it was really anchored into reality. There was never a moment when I rolled my eyes at the paranormal stuff happening. Nothing over the top or anything, which is usually what I fear when I read this genre. And I loved that the end had a twist that most paranormal storyline like this one don’t have. It was refreshing, kept things original and made me want to jump on the next book in the serie to know what was coming next.

“Holy Hawt Chemistry, Batman!”

Now, Daemon. Man I love that bad boy! I know he’s arrogant and infuriating and a jerk on more than one occasion but you just know that he’s really a sweet guy…well, maybe not sweet but he has his soft spots even though we only get to see little glimpses of this part of him here and there. And he was such a badass too! And how I LOVED reading his POV scenes at the end! Gosh that made me feel all fuzzy inside! You just know he’s a good guy with a big heart even though he’s infuriating very often throughout the book. 

“Daemon stilled above me. ‘I won’t hurt you, Kat.’ His tone was softer, but still laced with fury as he tried to control me without doing any real damage. ‘I could never hurt you.”

And I’ll say it again, I loved that Katy didn’t put up with his BS even with the crazy chemistry between them. And I just loved how he got under her skin and she just couldn’t help but get in his face every time. And she was a badass too in her reactions to him and what he did and she stood up to him every time too. She really never annoyed me in this book by her reactions or anything else. She was just great and I loved her just as much as Daemon.

“Why are you such an ass?” The words came out before I could think twice.
“Everyone has to excel at something, right?”
“Well, you’re doing a great job.”

And one thing I really liked about this book and how it ended was the fact that by the end, Katy and Daemon weren’t a “real” couple. They aren’t together romantically in this book even by the end and I loved that about the book. Daemon and Katy don’t have an easy relationship at all on many levels. Daemon’s kind isn’t supposed to mingle with humans and Daemon especially isn’t really a fan of the idea. Katy is a liability to him and his family…..well to his kind too. And then there is the way he is around Katy for all those reasons, which, even with the crazy chemistry they have would put a damper on any possible relationship. But things just happen in such a way that they keep having to deal with a number of things together and by the end, even though they are not together together, you still feel a connection between them. I’m actually really glad that the first book finished on that note because I’m not sure it would have felt right otherwise and I don’t think I would have liked it. I loved that the book ended this way.

I am already halfway through Onyx, the second book in the Lux serie and I think I’ll keep reading ’til I reach the end of it.

_______________________

Earlier I was telling you about some extra scenes written from Daemon’s POV. The whole book is written from Katy’s POV so we really have no clue what Daemon really thinks in certain scenes (even though we have our own suspicions), so I’m sure you’ll be as curious as I am and won’t be able to resist getting a glimpse of what’s going on inside Daemon’s head! So here’s for you my Lovelies:

Daemon’s POV – Homecoming Dance

Daemon’s POV – Laptop Scene

Leave a Reply

