RSS Feed

Captured, by Jasinda and Jack Wilder

 

Captured __________________________________________________________

You go into combat, you fear death. It’s what keeps you careful, keeps you alive. I’ve faced death more times than I can count. I’ve taken bullets. I’ve taken lives.

But nothing can prepare me for the soul-crushing terror of being captured.

***

I married a Marine. I knew the risks. Every time my husband shipped out, I knew there was a chance he wouldn’t come back. But Thomas always did. Always. Then one day two officers in full dress uniform knocked on my door and shattered my world.

How do you keep going when you lose what made life worth living?__________________________________________________________

ARC kindly provided by author in exchange of an honest review

God I loved this book! I thought Wounded was great but Captured surpassed it. That’s how amazing I think this book is. And my love for soldiers is now even bigger!
This book was a roller-coaster ride! I think I went through all emotions possible while reading it: fear, pain, sadness, worry, grief, anger, hope, joy, relief, love and a good dose of lust too.

“Wounds to the body heal faster than those within.”

Captured is a testimony of how amazingly talented Jack and Jasinda are with words.
Like I said, Wounded was a great book, that I really enjoyed reading. It was a very emotional read. Captured is just as emotional (if not more) and it captivated me from chapter one to the very last page. The story is compelling and sucks you in right away and you cannot stop reading. It is fast-paced, full of suspense and so very emotional and intense.

“How can they make you? After what you went through, how can they make you?”
“I’m a United States Marine. They own me.”
Truth is a bitter fucking pill, sometimes.”

Personally, this book made me think of a mix between the movies Lone Survivor and Brothers. But don’t think if you watch those movies you’ll have the gist of what Captured is about. Captured has its own story, but it did remind me, in some aspects, of those movies.

“I wasn’t a man, you know? I was a prisoner. A victim. Name, rank, and serial number. I was reduced to the drive to survive. Then I felt guilty that I did survive. That’s still there, in fucking spades, but whatever. Now I’m still figuring out what I am, what I feel like. Who I am. And feeling like a man again? Like a real man? That someone wants around, that someone needs or feels desire for? That’s some powerful shit.”

I fell in love with the characters right away. I loved how beautifully broken and insecure they both were and how they became each other’s second chance, each other’s hope, how they found solace in each other after everything they’ve been through.
I loved the tension between them at the beginning of the story and how they dealt with it. Those moments where very intense and I loved reading them.
And the secondary characters were just as sweet and touching. I really loved the universe and atmosphere of this book. And being able to see a little bit of what Hunter and Rania have become after Wounded was a great bonus.

“This isn’t bliss or pleasure or ecstasy. No. This is reunion. Finding each other once again. It’s me finding myself within her. A realignment of our souls.”

It was also very very hot. If you’ve read any of the Wilder’s books before, you know what they are capable of in the steam department. Well, Captured is no exception my friends, and it made me blush, it was so scorching hot. Where Wounded was more focused on the emotional part, Captured is both emotional and incredibly steamy! My toes are curling just thinking about it 😉

“I’ve not been looked at as a sexual creature in so long that it’s unfamiliar and scary.”

It was very moving to read about this woman who feels so alone and not really as a woman anymore and this man who lost a bit of himself at war, and how he has to figure out who he is now. Their feelings were very well described and even though I haven’t been through any of the things they’ve been through, I was still able to connect and relate to them. And I loved how they were able to connect, understand and accept each other for what and who they are.

“I don’t even know how to live my life without you in it.”

I especially loved the epilogue of this book. It made me smile so big and laugh and it was so sweet. I might be seeing things here but for me, it was very cute because at times, it was like hearing Jack talk about Jasinda through the characters of the book. I think the epilogue was my favorite part of the book because of how sweet it was.

“My girl writes books. Who knew? She writes these kinky, steamy novels about military men and the women who love them.”

I think Captured made it to my top five Wilder read. It is the kind of story you keep close to your heart long after you’ve turned the last page. It moved me deeply. The Wilder’s talent and what they achieved with Captured amaze me.

“She’s worth the whole goddam world, even if all I can offer her is my fucked-up self.”

I’m not in the habit of giving stars to the books I review on my blog, mainly because I still haven’t figured out how to do it (yeah, that’s how good I am with technology. Don’t judge.), but this book, without a doubt, earned its five stars, if not more.

You should all go grab yourself a copy of this book because it is an amazing love story.

“You’re breathing. You’re going home. Got a girl. A piece of dirt to call home. Makes you lucky in my book.”

One response »

  1. Pingback: Capured Release! | Under The Cover

Leave a Reply

