RSS Feed

Comfort Object (Comfort #1), by Annabel Joseph

comfort object

__________________________________________________________

Nell, an out-of-work professional submissive, is desperate to find a job when she meets handsome film star Jeremy Gray at the restaurant where she works. He says he needs a personal assistant, but the work contract he shows her details not organizational duties, but sexual ones. Jobless and homeless, Nell agrees to work for him anyway, on the promise that he will pay for her to finish her college degree when her stint as his “assistant” is complete.

The start of their formal Dom/sub relationship is rocky, but they soon fall into a mutually satisfying, highly sexual routine. They play vanilla boyfriend and girlfriend in public, while Jeremy uses Nell as his kinky comfort object behind the scenes. Then a stalker threatens their secret lifestyle, and their contract may not be strong enough to hold them together.

This novel contains explicit sexual content and situations some readers may find objectionable: Anal play/intercourse, strong BDSM themes and content including spanking, bondage, exhibitionism, ménage (m/f/m), group sex.

__________________________________________________________

I freaking loved this book. I thought it was brilliant as far as BDSM fiction goes.
It made me think of No One But Maddison, that I also loved.

It is less of a thriller than No One But Maddison was, in fact, there is only a very little bit of that in the book, but it was very much alike in the description of the “life style”.

The story is about how Jeremy found Nell and asked her to “work” for him as his PA. Only when he shows her the contract she has to sign with what is required of her, the contract only mentions sexual requirements.

I absolutely loved the characters (Even Kyle the jerk). Nell is opinionated, a little stubborn, funny, sweet and has a bit of a wild-streak. Her narrative voice made me laugh more than once.

“Sexual subservience and use may include but is not limited to sexual intercourse, the use of erotic toys and aids, the use of multiple partners and multiple penetration, the withholding and control of orgasms, sexual objectification, and diverse sexual practices, which the applicant may or may not find repugnant…

In other words, the man you are considering working for is a pervert of the most extreme kind.”

Jeremy was great as well. At first we think of him as the ultimate jerk for different reasons I’ll give you the pleasure to find out on your own, but even though he is her “boss” and never misses a chance to remind her – and himself – of that fact, you just know that he is a nice, completely lost and completely infatuated guy.

I’m not saying this book is for everybody. This is no Fifty Shades. Jeremy IS a sadist, and so he likes to inflict pain, and he really likes to inflict pain on Nell, but not just because he finds that fun, but because he wants her to take the pain for him, because she wants to please him. Nell is far from being a “pain-whore”. On the contrary, she kind of fears it, but gets a thrill out of accepting something for her Dom’s pleasure.

“I am…I don’t…I would prefer not to be caned. I find it nearly intolerable. The pain of it…I know my job as a submissive is to accept pain, and I do, but it’s not as easy for me as, perhaps, some submissives who really enjoy pain. Pain is different for me.” I stopped, embarrassed, but Jeremy was watching me in fascination.
“Why is pain different for you?”
“Because I…just…I mean, I want to accept it to please my dominant, but it’s not easy for me. And severe pain–it panics me a little…”

The connection between Jeremy and Nell is immediate and kind of intense. I mean Jeremy is already very, and I mean VERY intense.

It was funny to see him avoiding the fact that he saw Nell as more than his employee and toy, to the point where he was lying to himself about his “irrational” actions toward her.

And I think the epilogue was my favorite part of the whole book. It was sweet, funny and kinky! Very kinky! I can’t quote it or I might just put the whole epilogue here, but I was smiling the whole time I was reading it, laughing and yes giggling. Let’s just say that I really liked Jeremy’s performance as a teacher.

But I honestly loved every minute of this book. If you are into this kind of books (No One But Maddison, Comfort Food, Seduced In The Dark and the likes), I would really highly recommend you read this book. Like yesterday.

Now off you go! Mr. Gray and Miss Ashton are waiting for you!

Leave a Reply

