RSS Feed

Deep Desires, by Charlotte Stein

Deep Desires

__________________________________________________________

The Further She Goes, the More She Needs …

Abbie Gough has done her best to escape a violent past. But in the process, she’s avoided life, desire and love. So when she sees her equally closed off neighbour, Ivan, performing for her one night through his window, she can’t stop looking.

Voyeuristic pleasures become Abbie’s lifeline. But as she comes alive and craves more, Ivan backs away. He has his own secrets , the kind that draw her into kinky games and her own shameful desires, while also preventing real intimacy between them. But now she’s found someone so special, she’s not about to give up easily. And she’s willing to do whatever it takes to melt Ivan’s cool exterior. Even if captivating him means pushing through her limits to whatever lies beyond

__________________________________________________________

I’ve read one book by Charlotte Stein before and loved it. But after that, I didn’t really look for more of her books for some reason. Which is a shame because in the last three days, I’ve read four other books by her and realized what a dummy I am.

“Apart from the obvious psychological problems, he’s the perfect man.”

Deep Desires is the forth book that I’ve read by Mrs. Stein and boy, did I like it. I really love how her stories always have characters who have insecurities to work through and even though her stories are scorching hot every time, she never forgets to give them a healthy dose of real emotions. Basically what I’m saying is that it’s really rare for me not to love something she writes.

“We’re so fucked up we could convince Freud to analyse us from the grave.”

I really liked Deep Desires. I loved the characters equally. Abbie and Ivan are great and I loved how they got to know each other and how they figured each other little by little. I loved the sexual tension and all this window watching and mutual voyeurism they did with each other. The phone sex was very good and I think that the dirty-talker-lovers out there will be pleased with this book 😉

“I thought you were wet because that kiss was so intense I wanted to fall right into it and never come back up. Or maybe because I took those sweet little nipples in my mouth, and sucked on them.”

And even though the ending was a little abrupt, I still liked it. If there was one thing I had to make a comment about with Charlotte Stein’s writing, it would be that her endings sometime sneak up on me and that I would like them different. But that’s basically it.

“Men don’t kiss their way down your body because they’re aiming for your feet. Or so I’ve heard.”

Charlotte Stein writes some seriously hot stuff in her books and Deep Desires was no different. I had to fan myself more than once while reading this book and people looked at me funny when I started sighing in a very contented way in public. Just a friendly advice: have a change of underwear close by while you read this book. Or any book by Charlotte Stein for that matter. It does the trick every freaking time!

“‘God,’ he says. ‘God.’ And I agree. Prayers need to be said, for pleasure this thick and fast.”

This book is definitely… interesting. At times, it is even a little disturbing. It is also a little dark too but the book is filled with funny comments from Abbie. It is also full of tenderness. I love that her characters always have to find their self-worth and how they do it with the help of the right person. She manages to give a seriously good story in very few pages (the book is only 101 pages long — I often wish her books were longer…)

“Go to sleep Abbie. I’ll go to sleep with you, and dream my blackbird is gone, too. You looked up at me, and it went away. For a little while, I swear, it went away.”

I’ll put this book in the Not Everybody’s Cup of Tea section because of the slightly disturbing aspect of the book I was mentioning earlier. Mrs. Stein’s characters have been wounded deeply and they still wear the scars. They both have been abused in their own way and they are still working toward recovery. I think it’s something readers should know going in but don’t be afraid of reading this book because of what I’ve said because Charlotte Stein does a great job of telling us about the abuse her characters have been the victims of but in a way that doesn’t make it too hard for a reader to read.

“You don’t look anyone in the eyes, because that would be inviting someone in, wouldn’t it? See, I know that last one because it’s the way I am too.”

I highly recommend this book and if you think this one’s not for you, you should really take a look at Charlotte’s work and find something that appeals to you. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

