RSS Feed

My Favorite Mistake (My Favorite Mistake #1), by Chelsea M. Cameron

My Favorite Mistake

_________________________________________________________________

Two secrets. One bet. Who will break first?

Taylor Caldwell can’t decide if she wants to kiss her new college roommate or punch him.

On the one hand, Hunter Zaccadelli is a handsome blue-eyed bundle of charm. On the other, he’s a tattooed, guitar-playing bad boy. Maybe that’s why Taylor’s afraid of falling in love with him, or anyone else. She doesn’t want to get burned, so she needs him gone before it’s too late.

Hunter himself has been burned before, but Taylor’s sexy laugh and refusal to let him get away with anything make her irresistible. Determined not to be kicked out of her life without a fight, Hunter proposes a bet: if she can convince him she either truly loves or hates him, he’ll leave the apartment;and leave her alone.

But when the man behind Taylor’s fear of giving up her heart resurfaces, she has to decide: trust Hunter with her greatest secret, or do everything in her power to win that bet and drive him away forever.

_________________________________________________________________

“Loving you was the best mistake I ever made”

If you liked Beautiful Disaster, I think you’ll love My Favorite Mistake! At least I did. Don’t get me wrong, the two stories are quite different even though they have a lot in common!

“Love is simple. You fall and that’s it. You’ll work the other stuff out. You just gotta let yourself fall and have faith that someone will be there to catch you.”

Just like in Beautiful Disaster, the book a NA. In both books the characters follow a course on Human Sexuality. The main character tries to stay away from the “bad boy” as best she can even though all she wants is the complete opposite. They both have very dark and complicated past that they try to keep hidden from everyone, ect…but basically, that’s where the resemblance stops.

“I nearly had a cakegasm at the table. My eyes rolled back in my head, and I moaned. 
“Sweet Christ.” I opened my eyes to find Hunter watching me with the strangest expression on his face.
“What? It’s really good; you should try some,” I said, pushing the plate at him. It was a testament of how embarrassed I was about the cakegasm that I was even sharing at all.
“I swear, if there weren’t a table between us, I would be kissing you right now. And none too gently.”

This book succeeded in being light, sweet, funny and deep all at once.
I had a smile stuck on my face from the start because of the heroine’s voice, the situations and the banter between Taylor and Hunter.

“Are you saying I’m not a badass? Then all these tattoos were for nothing. What shall I do?”

I felt happy when Taylor was, confused when she kept “hating” and loving Hunter all at once, stressed and nervous when she had to face her fears and I fell in love with Hunter probably right from the start. He’s very hard not to love.

“I’d rather be your loser than some other girl’s winner.” 

It’s also one of those books where you want to be part of the crew. You cannot help but like the secondary characters. All of them. And you really wish you could live with them and be part of their world.

“That’s what they all say. Everyone says they want to know you, but they don’t. They want to know the nice things, the pretty things. No one wants to know the ugly parts, the parts that keep you up at night. They say they’re okay with it, but then they drift away and you never see them again. I’ve seen it happen way too many times.”

AND the “soundtrack” was great! I strongly recommend you to listen to the songs that are mentioned in the book when they are mentioned ’cause they’re quite “swell”! 😉 I’m always a sucker for a soundtrack to a book, and the soundtrack in My Favorite Mistake really worked for me while I was reading and it made me discover some new artists that I’m quite fond of now.

On this note, I wish you a very good time reading this book!

Leave a Reply

