RSS Feed

Faking It (Losing It #2), by Cora Carmack

Faking It

__________________________________________________________

Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.

Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

__________________________________________________________

Cora Carmack is raking higher and higher on my list with every book she writes.

“There are some things that are worth fighting for, no matter the outcome, and you are one of them.”

I loved Losing It. The story, the characters, the writing style, everything. And I absolutely adored Faking It for the same reasons and then some.

“I’ll remind you every day how amazing it feels when your body touches mine. I’ll remind you of the good times, and help you forget the bad. I’ll remind you who you are when life has beaten you down and made you doubt it. I’ll bust down your door in the middle of the night and kiss you until you remember that your fears are just that, and they can’t control you. I’ll take my chances against your fickle heart if it means it’s mine.” 

Cade’s characters had made me curious in book one and I really wanted to read more of him. And putting him with Max was a perfect match. I think, with this book we really get to know him in a different light than in Losing It. Cade, in this book goes after what he wants, he is still sweet as pie but he is also fierce when it comes to Max. He doesn’t let her push him away. I really liked to know this Cade better and I fell in love with him something fierce.

“I never dated a girl like her, and she’s probably never dated a guy like me. But sometimes you don’t know what you’re looking for until it’s already knocked you flat on your back.”

I absolutely loved Max’s character. Her voice in the book was perfect and made me laugh so hard so many times! She was funny and lovely and so…I don’t know, but her character made this book even better. She is not who we would imagine for Cade at first because she a little rough, and by that I mean that she shows her claws before letting anyone close enough to touch and Cade’s last infatuation wasn’t really like that. But magic happens and Cade and Max just fit together, which is a little scary for the both of them at first.

“But fear lets us know we’re alive. It tells me that you care about what happens between us because the mind doesn’t waste time being scared about things that don’t matter.”

You’ll never get bored reading this book and you’ll ask for more once you’ve reached the last page. It was sweet, funny and emotional and had a very healthy dose of sexual tension too, which never hurts in my opinion. God, the chapters before and at the apartment had me fanning myself and wishing I was in Max’s shoes! Boy, bossy, I-tell-it-like-I-see-it Cade is just what I needed.

“I’m angry that you keep pushing me away when I know you don’t want to.” 

This is a brief review but I don’t want to just gush over the book (which I do a lot after reading a very good book) but read it! I promise you won’t be disappointed. This book is fantastic and will put you in a good place. I highly recommend it!

“There are some things that are worth fighting for, no matter the outcome, and you are one of them.”

And here for you my Lovelies! If you haven’t read Faking It yet and want to know what you are considering getting into, those are links to Cora’s blog where there are some teasers from the book:

BRIEF SNIPPET OF FAKING IT FROM CADE’S POV

TEASER FROM CADE’S POV

TEASER FROM MAX’S POV

MORE FROM MAX’S POV

And here is an excerpt that will let you see about the chemistry I was talking about earlier:

Two thoughts crossed my mind— one involved a lot of yelling.

I chose the other, and used the hand I was holding to tug her forward into my arms. Her chest pressed into mine, and her lips were millimeters from my own. She exhaled sharply, and I could taste the sweetness of her breath on the air. I saw in her eyes the moment she knew she was wrong, but I wasn’t done proving it to her.

I crushed my mouth to hers.

She gasped, and I slipped my tongue past her lips. She stayed there for a few seconds, her hands still at her sides, then I felt the tentative touch of her hand against my hip, and that was all the permission I needed to continue. I threaded a hand through her hair and wrapped the other around her waist. I walked her backward until she hit the wall. Her other hand came to my waist, and her fingers pressed deeper into my skin. Her lips were soft and full underneath mine, and I eased up enough to taste them. I tried to kiss her softly. I did, but there was something about her that made me desperate, and I kissed her harder.

Her hands slid around to my lower back. Her fingernails dug into me, and I groaned. I used my hand in her hair to turn her head to the side, so that I could kiss her deeper. Up until now she’d allowed me to kiss her, but as I pressed her harder against the wall, she came fully alive. Her tongue tangled with mine, and her mouth pushed harder against my own. My blood rushed south so fast that I felt dizzy. The only thing keeping me steady was my hand propped on the wall behind her, but even so I fell farther into her, until every part of my body was aligned with hers.

It still wasn’t close enough. My winter clothes kept too much space between us. I wanted to conquer every piece of her. The way her hips pressed up into mine made me believe she felt the same way. The kiss was even better than I could have imagined. Her mouth tasted as exotic as she looked, and my every nerve ending seemed to be standing at attention. Her fingers dug harder into my lower back, and I was on the verge of losing my mind. Her teeth grazed my bottom lip, and I used the hand in her hair to tug her head back just enough that I could move my lips to her neck. Her skin was just as smooth as I’d dreamed. I could spend eternity tasting her.

What was that saying—I could die happy? This was so beyond that. I could never be satisfied. I would always want to kiss her again. She was addictive.
“Okay.” Her voice was thick, raspy, and it only made me want her more. “Point proven.”

I laughed into her neck and nipped the curve of her collarbone. Her back arched, and her breasts pressed deli- ciously against my chest. She was so responsive. Every time I did something she liked, her nails pressed deeper, and her breath caught in her throat. I wanted to make her do that again and again.

“We have to stop,” she said.

Stopping was about as appealing as a bat to the kneecaps, but I did it. I lifted my head from her neck and looked into her dilated eyes. They were wide with shock or fear or something. W hatever it was . . . it wasn’t what I’d hoped to see in her expression. I stepped backward to give her some space.

Then she slapped me.

The sound of it echoed through the empty street, and it took me a few seconds to feel the sting through my buzz. I’d been slapped twice in my entire life, both of them by this gorgeous, maddening girl. Unlike the last one, this one I deserved.

She was taken. When I wasn’t looking at her, that thought was easier to remember.

I blinked, and turned back to her. She had her hands folded over her mouth in shock. She took a deep breath and said, “I am so sorry. I—I shouldn’t have done that.”

I swallowed and put a few more feet between us. “Don’t be sorry. I deserved it.” Logically, I knew that. But all my body knew was that it wanted to be connected to hers again. I could barely think straight for how badly I wanted her.

“I should go.” I returned to the bar door, feeling like all the good of the day had been knocked loose by her slap.

You’re not that guy, Cade. You practically forced yourself on her.

As I pulled open the door, I heard her ask the bouncer for another cigarette. I forced myself to walk inside the bar, to leave her alone. My track record with girls and alcohol was terrible. But one thought kept plaguing my mind.

She kissed me back.

Leave a Reply

