RSS Feed

Simple Perfection (Perfection #2, Rosemary Beach #6), by Abbi Glines

Simple Perfection

_________________________________________________________

Woods had his perfect life mapped out for him. Rise up the ranks of the family business. Marry the rich girl of his parents’ dreams. Pretend that wealth and privilege was all he’d ever wanted. Then a girl named Della breezed into town, a beautifully imperfect stranger who captured his heart and opened his eyes to a new kind of future. Woods is ready and willing to sacrifice everything for her when the sudden death of his father leaves him with his mother to care for and a business to manage.

Della is determined to be strong for Woods, even as she’s quietly falling to pieces. No matter how far from home she’s run, the ghosts of her past have never stopped haunting her. Struggling to hide her true feelings from Woods, Della fears she can’t be his rock without dragging him down into the darkness with her. But is she strong enough to let go of the last thing holding her together?_________________________________________________________

Well this one did a number on me for sure!

It took me a little time to finish book #1 in the Perfection serie, but I devoured book #2. It’s hard to write a review just for book #2 because everything in those books happens in a way that you can’t really talk about them separately.

Twisted Perfection left us with some big news of change for Woods and even though Della’s character had a big part in the book, it was more Woods’ book. Just know that by the end of Twisted Perfection, Woods and Della are good. There is no big break-up for them, quite the contrary.

“Sometimes what we want isn’t what is best for us.”

In Simple Perfection, it’s Della’s turn to really deal with her demons. We know what Della’s childhood was like and that it messed her up in the head, but even though she wants to live a real life after being locked up in a house since she was born, the past is holding her back and her opinion of herself is so bad that she prevents herself from enjoying what she has (and could have) with Woods.

 “I’ll be whatever she needs me to be. I can’t walk away from her; I tried. I’m hooked. And now I’m about to lose my mind because I don’t know how to help her. I just need to go find her and hold her the rest of the damn day. I need to know she’s okay.”

What she does at some point in the book will probably infuriate most readers. It’s the part where the character just makes herself  (and others) miserable because she wants to protect the person she loves but just ends up causing them both heartache. The time it takes her to come to her senses is a little long, but necessary. In this book, she learnt that the past doesn’t have to define who she is and will grow up to be and that she is much stronger than she thinks she is.

“In all her twisted perfection she had made me fall helplessly in love with her. A life without her in it seemed pointless.”

But fear not. Even though this book is definitely more about Della’s issues, Woods is still very much present and he is still as sweet as he was in the previous books. I seriously love him. Della is so lucky to be loved by a man like Woods. We knew he was a good guy thanks to the Too Far serie but it is impossible not to fall in love with him in the Perfection serie. He is sexy, sweet and so loving. And this dirty mouth of his……seriously hot! My heart ached for him in this book. He goes through so much in such a short amount of time.

“You are mine. Do you hear me? You are mine, Della Sloane. I will take care of you. Nothing is taking you away from me. Nothing.”

There is a lot of heartache in this book. More than I expected to be honest. Something awful happens to a character that we have come to know and love and at some point in the book, I just couldn’t believe what I read was true. I was completely blindsided by this turn of event and to be honest, I’m not sure I can just shrug it off. I know Abbi has something great in store for us and for the characters of Rosemary Beach, but it is still a very bitter pill to swallow.

“I think that everyone’s life is controlled by a series of events. They choose what they want and if it is in their control they can reach it. Sometimes luck shines on them and sometimes it doesn’t. I also think accidents happen and we are placed in situations where we have to do things for those we love that we don’t want to do.”

Simple Perfection was a great ending to Woods and Della’s story. There is a lot to this book. Questions are answered, characters are introduced and new connections are started, and we get to see more of some older characters and how things are going for them.

“Rush walked into the room with Nate in his arms and a baby bag over his shoulder. That was funny shit. Rush Finlay, badass rock star’s son, had a baby bag and a baby in his arms.”

Abbi’s writing is addictive! I can’t wait to read more about those great characters and fall in love with the other men of Rosemary Beach! Seriously, if this place exists, I need to go live there to get myself one of them! Next on our list is Grant and Harlow’s story, with our very own psycho, Nan!

“I was pretty damn sure there was a Twitter hashtag that said #NanHater.”

Leave a Reply

