RSS Feed

Bad For You (Sea Breeze #7), by Abbi Glines

Bad For You________________________________________________________

Innocence was never meant for the addictive… 

Addiction was something Krit Corbin accepted as part of his nature a long time ago. He decided to embrace it and flip his finger at the rules. Women had always been the number one thing on his list of addictions. He couldn’t get enough. Being the lead singer in a rock band had only made access to his favorite addiction that much easier.

Being alone was the only thing Blythe Denton understood. The small town minister’s family that raised her hadn’t accepted her as their own. The minister’s wife had always made sure Blythe understood just how unworthy she was of love. When Blythe is sent away to college and given a chance to finally be free of living as an unwanted burden, she looks forward to having peace in her life. Being alone isn’t something that bothers her. She escapes reality in the stories she writes.

However, the ridiculously sexy tattooed guy who keeps throwing parties in the apartment above hers is driving her crazy. For starters, he doesn’t treat her like she would expect a guy with a different woman always hanging on his arm to treat someone as uninteresting as her. She looks nothing like the gorgeous women she sees parading in and out of his apartment, but for some strange reason he keeps showing up at her door.

During a party at his apartment, Krit’s new neighbor comes to the door with her long brown hair pulled up in a messy knot and a pair of glasses perched on her cute little nose. She wants him to turn down the music, but he convinces her to stay.

Krit Corbin may have just found his biggest addiction yet. And Blythe Denton realizes too late that she’s finally been claimed.

________________________________________________________

I’m in a Abbi Glines mood lately. When I first started reading her books, it was the Vincent Boys that got me hooked.

Her stories are both light and very emotional and usually deal with some dark and heavy stuff. But they just have a little something that seriously make you come back for me. Now, if I’m totally honest, those books are always slightly overpriced. To me, those books are summer read and even if it’s always a little bit the same thing, I still really enjoy them.

It’s been a while since I read a book from the Sea Breeze serie and I’m glad I pick this one to get ease back into it. That’s another thing I really like about Mrs. Glines’s writing. Most of the time you can pick any book in the serie and not have huge spoilers from the stories of other characters. So I was able to read Krit and Blythe’s story without too much difficulty. Now, if it really bothers you to read about some of the previous characters without knowing their whole story, then you might want to read those books in the right reading order.

“You don’t just fit into my world, Blythe. You are my world.”

In Bad For You, we have two characters that are complete opposites. Krit, the tatted, man-whore, bad-boy who lives next door and Blythe, the innocent, fragile and slightly traumatized by her past new girl in town. From there starts a game of “I want you but I can’t have you because I’m not good for you, but I just can’t stay away from you…” you know the drill.

“She was so innocent and …hell, she was precious. I closed my eyes and let out a string of curses. I was so losing badass points for that thought.”

Blythe character was sweet if not a little too skittish. With a childhood like the one she had, you get why she is how she is nom, but the girl had zero self-confidence and kept apologizing for everything, even things that weren’t her fault. She is also super innocent and let’s just say that having a guy like Krit leaving next door to her after having been sheltered her whole life does things to her. Especially when said guy seems to always be around.

“Okay, maybe death was worth getting to feel Krit’s abs.”

Now Krit. The moment he sees Blythe, he’s immediately attracted to her (as she is too him), but of course, he won’t come close to her because she is obviously too innocent for him. Now, that’s what would have happened if Krit didn’t have an addictive personality and became addicted to Blythe.

“Craving touch wasn’t a fucking sin. I had gone without it growing up and I liked affection.”

Now, if you have read the Too Far serie, and liked it you probably won’t thing anything of it but if not, then the way he was with Blythe, especially towards the end might creep you out a little. He becomes kind of obsessed with her.

But something I really liked about Krit was his dirty mouth. Gosh Ladies, if you have a soft spot for dirty talkers, then Krit is an expert! He might not be my favorite in the serie but I still liked him a lot.

“I had always wanted to belong to someone.”

Now, I enjoyed this book. It was the first one I read in the Sea Breeze serie since Because Of Low and I liked what I got. This book is your typical NA book, so if you’re up for an entertaining and steamy love story with a bad boy rocker and his very innocent and gorgeous neighbor you’ll want to give this book a shot. Don’t expect something super original because it’s not. But it’s still entertaining and had me very interested.

Leave a Reply

