RSS Feed

Sweet Filthy Boy (Wild Seasons #1), by Christina Lauren

Sweet Filthy Boy

__________________________________________________________

One-night stands are supposed to be with someone convenient, or wickedly persuasive, or regrettable. They aren’t supposed to be with someone like him.

But after a crazy Vegas weekend celebrating her college graduation—and terrified of the future path she knows is a cop-out—Mia Holland makes the wildest decision of her life: follow Ansel Guillaume—her sweet, filthy fling—to France for the summer and just…play.

When feelings begin to develop behind the provocative roles they take on, and their temporary masquerade adventures begin to feel real, Mia will have to decide if she belongs in the life she left because it was all wrong, or in the strange new one that seems worlds away.

__________________________________________________________

Christina Lauren are quickly becoming some of my go-to authors. I’ve read their debut serie and seriously enjoyed it and I’m a little ashamed to say that I didn’t know about their new Wild Seasons serie. But one this is sure, everything they write turns to gold!

I seriously loved this book. It probably has a little to do with me feeling a little patriotic 😉 Nevertheless, I really enjoyed myself reading this book.

“My mind searches to place his accent before I trip into understanding: he’s French. The asshole is French!”

Normally, I’m not much of a Vegas stories kinda girl. I’ve read some, and had a good time but they usually are a different version of the same story to me and I tend to forget about them quickly enough. But I don’t think that’s what’s going to happen with this book. It was witty, sexy, sweet, fun and turned out to have a great twist to a classic romance.

I’m not sure it’s true but to me, this book felt less smutty than the books in the Beautiful serie. It’s not a bad thing, and, rest assured, there are plenty of very steamy moments in this book and our two lovers try a lot more than a simple missionary, but I felt like it was well mixed with the emotional stuff.

“Lola was right when she teased about how it would be with Ansel and me: it is missionary, and there’s eye contact, but it isn’t precious or soft-focus the way she meant. I can’t imagine not looking at him. It would be like trying to have sex without touching.”

Ansel and Mia were great characters and I loved reading about them and their bunch of friends. I also loved how Paris was described and even thought I already know the city, I loved rediscovering it through Mia’s eyes. I know I’m probably going to play tourist in town this summer.

I loved the craziness of this story and its sweetness too. Ansel is a very impulsive character and I loved his own brand of craziness and how he just clicked with Mia.

“He’s the guy who’ll do a ridiculous robot dance to make you laugh, who’ll lick your nose, make a fool of himself for a smile. I’m sure if I tried to wrestle him to the ground, he’s let me win. And enjoy every minute.”

What I thought was nice too, was the fact that Ansel and Mia had to learn how to be together after the Vegas debacle. Most of the time in books like this one, it’s like the characters know what buttons to press to turn on their partner and get them off from the get go. I really liked the fact that Ansel and Mia had to try a few times before they got comfortable again (sexually and otherwise) with each other. It made their relationship more real to me. ‘Cause, let’s face it, people rarely get things right when they’re virtual strangers.

“What we know is dimly lit bars, playful banter, the clean, crisp sheet of hotel rooms. What we know is the unrequited possibility, the temptation of the idea. The make-believe. The adventure.But when you choose the adventure, it becomes real life.”

I also thought that the deeper issues of the book were very interesting since I think most people go through the same phases Mia is going through in this book, at some point in their life. And Christina Lauren weave it very subtly through the book, so we don’t feel overwhelmed by it and can still enjoy the sweet and funny moments and romance.

“I’m struck with the painful thought that no matter how much it’s starting to feel that way, this place isn’t really my home. For the first time since I arrived nearly a month ago, I know with absolute certainty that I don’t want to leave.”

This book is a page-turner, and it was a pleasure to find again Christina Lauren’s style and lightness. This book is written from Mia’s point of view only, but I felt like I knew Ansel pretty well through her eyes, and I didn’t miss his take on the things happening in the book. The dual POV was something that I liked a lot in the Bastard serie but I didn’t miss it here since Mia’s voice was very nice.

I loved reading snippets of the secondary character’s adventures through Mia and Ansel and the sneak peek at the end of the book made it so that now I can’t wait for the next book in the serie (Dirty Rowdy Thing). After a year in Canada, my love for Canadians boys has not subsided at all and I can’t wait to read about Finn, our Canadian hunk and Harlow.

Leave a Reply

