RSS Feed

Forever Too Far (Too Far #3, Rosemary Beach #4), by Abbi Glines

Forever too far

__________________________________________________________

Rush promised her forever… but promises can be broken.

Torn between his love for his family and his love for Blaire, Rush has to find a way to save one without losing the other. In the end one has to be more important. Letting go isn’t easy.

Blaire believed in her fairytale… but no one can live in a fantasy.

Her love for Rush and desire to have a family keep her believing that they can find a way for this to work. Until she has to make the right decision for her and the baby. Even if it breaks her heart.

Can they find the forever that they both want or has it all just gone… too far?

__________________________________________________________

I’m probably going to have people throwing rocks at me for saying this but I thought this book wasn’t really worth it. What I mean by that, is that it was the kind of book that the serie would have been better off without, at least as far as Rush and Blaire’s story is concerned. I enjoyed it, but not as much as Fallen Too Far and Never Too Far. I think if Abbi Glines had given Rush and Blaire an epilogue in Never Too Far, it would have been more effective than a whole book. So part of what really saved the book for me was that Forever Too Far introduced Grant and Harlow’s story and the issues and the people, they are going to have to deal with.

But I didn’t think this book was bad. Some things did make me roll my eyes, but I still enjoyed reading it.

One thing that annoyed me a little, and I can’t believe I’m saying this since I have a huge crush over him, was Rush, and more precisely, how overbearing he was around Blaire through half the book. I love the devoted kind when it comes to men but here, he was seriously pushing it. If there were any doubt Rush was completely crazy for Blaire and loved her more than anything, this book made sure we got the message loud and clear.

“I’m nothing like you. The woman I got pregnant happens to be my heart. I’ll marry her and spend the rest of my life doing everything I can to make her smile.”

The moment he saw Blaire do something other than smile, he was on high alert, letting everything drop to run to her rescue. So that was a little too much for me. And then, when he should have been taking her side and protecting her from his evil sister’ venom spewing, he just went and told Blaire not to say upsetting things to Nan. I kind of saw red at this point. Thank God he finally decided that Nan wasn’t his problem to deal with. It was about time. He started getting better on the hero thing by the middle of the book.

“I was admitting I’d failed my little sister. Instead of feeling guilty I felt a huge burden lift from my shoulders.”

Now Nan, my friend, we are not done with. Far from it, if this book is any indication. This girl has serious issues, and if only she weren’t a raging bitch, we might feel sorry for her. But since she is, it’s hard to feel bad for her. Especially when every time she opens her mouth, something nasty comes out of it. At the end of Never Too Far, I thought she might be getting better, but any hope I had for her just vanished in this book.

“If she had a parent who gave a fucking shit about her maybe she’d have been as normal as Harlow. But she didn’t. You left her alone with my mom. NO kid should be subjected to that. At least my father came and got me. Spent time with me. Gave me the feeling of being wanted. You never did that for Nan. She’s fucked up because of you.”

She hurts everyone around her, and with a father like hers, I get it, she has her reasons to be mad, but she even lashes out on the people that are nothing but nice to her, just because she is hurting. And then she still finds a way to play the victim. And I hated that she manipulated Rush’s love for her to force him to constantly choose between her and Blaire. I really hope something happens to her and makes her want to change. Her attitude is seriously driving away everybody around her, and if she doesn’t change and come to terms with her issues, she’s going to end up all alone with her bitter heart.

“All Rush’s life he’s thought of Nan as his child. He’s raised her. She’s an adult now and it’s time he let go. He’s figuring out how to do that and I think he’ll find it. He loves you. I know he does. Any fool can see it all over his face.”

So you get it, even though it is still Rush and Blaire’s story, a good deal of it revolves around Nan and how Rush has to keep the promises he’s made to Blaire. So the time he takes to figure out how to do that is a little bit infuriating even though we get that it’s not easy for him to make a decision like this one.

This book has three chapters that are written from different characters: Grant and Harlow. I really liked reading from their POV and wished their chapters were longer. It really made me want to read Take A Chance.

“One day, brother. One day you’ll understand. And when you do, I’m going to laugh my ass off.”

One thing that seriously made me swoon, was the addition to Blaire and Rush’s family and how Rush was around the little guy! It was seriously sweet. It was one of the things that made me like this book. From the moment Nate arrives I was in overload of sweetness and cuteness. Seeing Rush as a Daddy was just great and made me gush like a crazy fan girl. And the whole going into labor and delivery debacle was quite funny too.

“Be glad I don’t have my gun because right now I’m considering the different ways I can get you to shut up. Let me scream and back off,” I snapped at him and grabbed my stomach as another contraction hit. “Time to check you again,'”the bubbly nurse with bright red hair puller back in pig tails said as she all but bounced into the room. She needed to be glad I didn’t have my gun too. Because she’d be next on my list.”

So all in all, even though I liked the book and I’m glad I read it, I don’t think a whole book was necessary to conclude Rush and Blaire’s story. But I get why Abbi Glines went and wrote this book and how it helped introduce the story of other characters.

“I want you right here beside me… forever.”

Leave a Reply

