RSS Feed

Four Score (Gypsy Brothers #4), by Lili St. Germain

21805738

__________________________________________________________

Love and hate aren’t all that different.

Two sides of the same coin, the yin and the yang.

Once upon a time, Jason Ross loved me. And now that he knows what I’ve done, I see the love and the hate warring within him.

I see the way he looks at me.

The way he wonders how I could do the things I’ve done.

I hear it in the way he begs me to stop, to leave this life and run away with him.

But there’s only one way I’m leaving LA.

And that’ll be when Dornan and the rest of his sons are dead and buried.

Jase might forgive me for what I’ve done.

But will he forgive me for the crimes I’m yet to commit?__________________________________________________________

Jeez this serie is driving me nuts and doing a serious number on my nerves. I’m completely out of sorts because of the ending of Four Score! And I am so mad that Three Years will only be released late July! That is just plain cruel! I’m going out of my mind here!!!!!!!!

“Limbo. A place un-christened souls inhabit. Trapped. (…)A quiet calm. An anxious wait. A refuge from a storm that threatens to wreak havoc and destroy everything in it’s wake. Our limbo is temporary, and we indulge in it.”

So, enough ranting for now. Here’s the review. Four Score, not unlike the previous books is super intense. But oddly enough it is also the book with the less action so far in the serie.

Dornan is in a coma and everybody is waiting to see if he’ll die or come out of it. And that’s why everything kind of pauses in this book. As we wait to know what is going to happen to Dornan, everything is up in the air. Do people suspect Sammi? Who died? But the big question if you’ve read Five Miles is, how will Jase react to finding out Juliette is still alive after six years of thinking she had died?

“I never stopped loving you.”

In this book, Sammi takes a step back and we deal with Juliette. Jase knows her secret and it changes everything for her as well as for their relationship. And God knows Jase needs time to catch up with everything. Juliette being alive, her vendetta, his hate for his father as well as the anger he feels for Juliette, which is mixed with grief, guilt and joy. In short, those characters are in serious need of some therapy.

“Finally. I’m here with him. Not as Sammi. But just as me. Just as us. Whatever fuckep-up “us” that may be.”

So this book was very satisfying when it came to Jase and Juliette’s relationship, but at the same time, it was also very frustrating, because with everything that has and is happening, they can’t just jump in each other’s arms and make sweet, sweet love and forget about the huge mess that is still hanging in the air around them.

“I can’t believe I’ve been so blind to the pain he’s carrying inside like a grenade, ready to explode at any second. I never stopped long enough to imagine his loss. His fear.”

I also really liked that Jase had his own unresolved feelings and issues about what happened to Juliette. Because we do forget that he was the one who had to keep on living with some sick psychos after Juliette’s death. And so, in this book, we are given some hints that life has been exactly easy for him in the six years that have passed since Juliette was raped.

“Nobody saved me,” he says bitterly. Nobody whisked me away in the night and faked my death.”

I would have really liked for them to be able to talk to each other more. To be able to open up about what they went through, what the felt, and are feeling because of the situation they are in and tell each other everything they feel for each other. But of course it doesn’t happen like that. It’d be too easy and really not realistic. Which left me satisfied with how Lili Saint Germain wrote her story, but oh so frustrated at the same time because I really really really want Jase and Julz to be together and happy……dare I say ever after? Yeah, I know, I’m a hopeless romantic. Sue me.

“For a few glorious days, life is beautiful. But that’s the thing about life. Remember when I said, nothing good ever lasts? Well it’s true.(…) Because Dornan is awake.”

Shit officially hits the fan two or three chapters before the end, and the story starts again when we learn that Dornan woke up from his coma (how he survived is quite the mystery and we start to wonder if he can actually be killed somehow).

The last chapter knocked me on my ass, and slapped me on the face with how bad things turn for Juliette in such a short amount of time. I shouted a huge “F*****************CK!” for her at that point, and now I am dying to know what happens next because at this point, I’m not sure at all  where the story is going.

“I fucking love you Juliette.” I smile despite the tension. “I fucking love you, too.”

I can’t believe we have to wait until July 21th to get Three Years. That, Mrs. Saint Germain, is plain mean!!!!! Pretty, pretty, please, move the release date to June! I’m begging you!!!!

“I refuse to give up my vendetta against the Ross brothers and their demon father. The score’s only at four. And until it’s at seven? Love will have to wait.”

Leave a Reply

