RSS Feed

Five Miles (Gypsy Brothers #3), by Lili St. Germain

20814203

__________________________________________________________

My father taught me the importance of an eye for an eye—a cardinal rule, ingrained in every club member.

A life for a life.

Seven lives in payment for an unimaginable list of sins.

People might wonder why I’m doing this. If this vengeance is borne from some noble cause. If I’m trying to prevent others from suffering at the hands of Dornan Ross and his sons.

But I’m no selfless vigilante.

I’m doing this for me. I’m doing it because I want to.

I’m doing this because I just want to be able to sleep at night without seeing their faces.

This is the fate they have earned. The penance for their crimes.
Time to send some of these brothers off with a bang.

__________________________________________________________

This serie is getting better and better as I read it! I read book #2 and #3 in a row and boy, it was good!

“My entire body jerks as I feel a set of lips on my mouth, a fiery kiss that could light up the night sky above us. I can’t help but respond, my body betraying six years of longing and despair in one single moment.”

This book was intense and I was on the edge of my seat pretty much all the time for this one. Things are getting more and more dangerous around the clubhouse and for Sammi. The more Dornan’s sons die, the tougher things get for her. And on top of that, Jase is onto Sammi like white on rice and he is getting closer and closer to her secret. That mixed with their attraction for each other doesn’t make things easy for them and for Sammi to keep on doing what she came back to the club for.

And as things get hard for Sammi, she makes mistakes. So, needless to say I was stressed while reading. I felt like looking over my shoulder all the time, I was so scared she was going to get busted by the wrong Gypsy Brother.

It is clear in this book that the whole situation is seriously getting to Sammi. It’s taking a toll on her, physically as well as emotionally and so we worry that something is going to give. Which obviously, can’t be good. She is still following her plan but we can feel that it’s hard on her and that she doubts herself at every turn. And her guilt regarding Jase doesn’t help.

“I’ve become so accustomed to fucking the man who raped me and destroyed everything, in my quest to destroy him, that I’ve forgotten what normal feels like.”

I think I had a harder time reading this book because Jase was mad at her in this one. He knows she’s hiding something and even though in the other he knew that too, in this one, he is fed up with her lying and hiding and has his eye on her all the time, without her noticing at first. And of course, it adds up to the pressure Sammi already has.

“It’s at that moment that I realize how much I fucking hate myself. It’s no wonder both Elliot and Jase can’t stand me, or the things I’ve done. The way I’ve been living. The way I’ve never let myself think past the next dead body, but I do think about it now, and it looks just as bleak, cold and unforgiving as Dornan’s eyes when he looks at me.” 

But this book has some twists and surprises up its sleeve that I’m sure you’ll like. It is full of suspense and intensity and the ending was phenomenal!!!! I was seriously frustrated when I finished the book since I couldn’t start the next one right away.

“I think you’re Dornan’s sons,” I say sadly. “And you just kissed the girl who’s going to kill him.”

I seriously can’t wait for Four Score to be out so I can get my hands on it!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

